We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre!”
Review of Hotel Dona Brigida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dona Brigida
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Greenock, Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Mediocre!”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I used to live in Salamanca and watched this hotel being built; it opened in 2002. From the outside it is splended, the hall is impressive, the rooms large and fairly well appointed. The hotel has not worn well: you can see where cheap building materials are showing signs of age; you can listen to the conversation from the room next door. The service in both the lobbby bar and the upstairs restaurant is incredibly slow. The staff are pleasant ... but never in a hurry to serve you. On day 1 I complained that there was no internet access in room; there was always someone on the one computer for guest use in the lobby .... and a few people waiting; by day 2, connection was restored!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    159
    117
    26
    19
See reviews for
96
206
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was our first stopover on the way from Santander to the Algarve. Impressive foyer and large rooms. Booked a double and a triple next door to each other. Staff were helpful and friendly. Swimming pool was cold but fabulous after a hot day. But the best thing about this place was the breakfast (included in the price). Our boys were stunned by the choice - your usual cereal/toast/rolls etc, but also hams, cheeses, fresh fruit, juice, pastries and a stunning array of tarts (chocolate, almond and apple) all topped off with a plate of chocolate doughnuts and a huge glass jar of marshmallows! We stayed at several hotels on our road trip and this was their favourite. In fact, we booked it again for our return trip home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

.The Pool and air conditioning are not available until June. It was a hot day with late sun so the room was uncomfortable. The rooms are not Sound Proofed and we were disturbed by noisy residents at 3am. The room was large and comfortable but looked as if it had been unused for a while and was dusty. The linen was spotless and the bed comfortable. An out door space for drinks would have been appreciated. The breakfast was very good. Good location for Golfers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Awful dump. Furnished in a very heavy Castilian style, comfortable only if you have a giant pot belly. But it is the service that will truly appall. Several examples: I needed the hotel cart to move my luggage. There is just one. It was being used by a deliveryman and i had to wait ten minutes. Paying guest vs deliveryman? You can see how low guest service is on the list of management priorities. When I got to the room, neither the minibar fridge nor the internet were working. Moved to another room where the fridge was working but the internet failed. I was told a technician would be by soon. More than an hour later, still nobody. When I complained, I was abused by a woman at the desk. I won't go into the particulars of the abuse but I don't think Jews are too welcome in this part of Spain (I have a very Jewish surname). Perhaps it is too demanding, too quarrelsome to expect a service that I thought I had already paid for.What else can I say? The swimming pool was closed. It was one of the supposed attractions of the hotel. Management goes off early and leaves under-trained staff to abuse the guests. There are much nicer hotels in Salamanca, much closer to the city. Why would anyone want to stay in this dump? Unless they get a kick out of being abused?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplesimon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salamanca hotels

Lichfield, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Easy to find, Close to the Motorway and good Parking

Good swimming Pool and facilities perfect stopover between Santander and Andalucia

Nice rooms and good food, excellent staff and an inexpensive and short taxi ride to the centre of Salamanca and the place to be on the evening of the World Cup What a atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larryauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb, Aust
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Excellent value for comfortable bed,amazing and luxurious foyer, with free snacks and drinks, free car park and wifi but problematic without a car for winter. Easy 5 min drive to to the amazing city of Salamanca, just park the car in the free parking along side the river after turning right at the ring road and walk up into the walled area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggylopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Fabulous establishment! Words cannot spell out the whole fascination. Paid less than EUR 60/ a night & lodged in this palace. Especially i have to mention the breakfast - I never had such a feast in the morning - the quality & unbelievable variety of meals was just stunning! Only regret we stayed just 1 night. By the way the parking is free in front of the entrance (not monitored though).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
3.7 mi away
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
3.7 mi away
Emperatriz III
Emperatriz III
#46 of 70 in Salamanca
178 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel IBB Recoletos Coco Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,067 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#2 of 70 in Salamanca
855 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Brigida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Brigida

Property: Hotel Dona Brigida
Address: Avda. del Tormes, s/n Urb. Vega de Salamanca | Villamayor, 37185 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Brigida 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dona Brigida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing