We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay here, room was spacious, and very clean. Perfect location, and a very short walk to the main square which was very busy. Great location for Café's, restaurants,, and Cocktail bars. We have decided that we will visit Salamanca again, too much to see and do in very little time. A long weekend needed.

One of the best meals

Room Tip: The square is fun, and there are great places to eat and drink just off it. Try and find La Boca Abi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location near the main square.
Good sized room, great shower and a decent breakfast buffet.
The location was the key. Drinking and eating in the main square was a delight.
If you enjoy people watching......the main square is the place to be at night.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel is well situated right on side of the Plaza Mayor square and is easy walking distance to the old town and its beautiful sights. Being central we thought noise might have been an issue but this wasn't the case at all.

Our room was fine for size, clean and tidy with a rather nice bathroom too. The seating in the main lobby was a little cramped but the restaurant was spacious. It has to be noted that the buffet breakfast was excellent with good choices and above all the 'hot' food was indeed hot. So far this is the first Spanish hotel to manage hot eggs etc. As part of our coach tour package was an evening meal and I have to say that was very good as well. Most coach tour included dinners are terrible but not at this hotel.

Wi-fi was free but temperamental and I say it again, if it is free you can't whine about it. It is much better in the bedrooms than the lobby but don't expect to maintain a connection for long periods. The bar service was a bit slow as only one member of staff was available but the prices were competitive with the surrounding bars etc.

Overall a nice place to stay in a lovely town.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank purplesuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Really nice hotel one minute away via a passageway next to the hotel to the Plaza Mayor. It was a Saturday night, so the centre of Salamanca was really busy and like many others, I could hear the noise of people coming and going as our room was directly above the covered passageway.
The room was big and spacious, nice bathroom and toileteries, large comfortable beds and everything was spotlessley clean.
Good free WiFi.
had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were excellent, the dining room staff were really nice and the cook came out from the kitchen to see we were happy with the food which i thought was lovely.
Only stayed for one night on the tour which was a shame. the hotel is so central, that an easy walking tour of 3 hours was enough to take in everything, there were lots of weddings, hen and stag parties, bands and dancing in the square, I could have sat up all night people watching.
the cafes and restarants around the main square are more pricey than the smaller bars and cafes just around the corner from the hotel, where the first drink comes with a free tapa included.
My partner and I left our jackets in the hotel and only remembered a couple of days later, the hotel sent them onto our Madrid Hotel in time for us to pick them up at the end of the tour, so thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

the best location, just two minutes walking from the main square in Salamanca; the service really kind; the breakfast nearly excellent, and the cleanliness remarkable. I had some special requests that were answered fast by the staff.

Room Tip: the fourth floor's rooms are very good! Oh my, I have discovered that in my enthusiasm I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javier m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The location is right near the Plaza Major so pretty good, rooms were good sized and clean (apart from a long strand of black hair in the bath..not mine)
The good-----Free WiFi, a properly stocked mini bar, flat screen TVs, a PC in the lobby with printer for boarding cards etc.
The bad------ no soundproofing between the rooms and corridors or other rooms, shocking noisy!
Staff were quite friendly, overall average place

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treblecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night in August of 2010. The location can't be beat. It's a block to the Plaza Mayor and within walking distance of all the great architecture and sites in Salamanca. The staff was friendly and spoke some English. The room was small but comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 69 in Salamanca
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 69 in Salamanca
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.3 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 69 in Salamanca
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca

Address: Calle Espoz y Mina 23-25, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £54 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Salamanca Plaza Hotel, which opened its doors in April 2002, is ideally situated near Plaza Mayor, which is accessed by a covered walkway. Housed in a building that has kept its original Rationalist facade, all the rooms and facilities of the hotel are decorated in a modern style which combines an exotic Oriental touch with a more classical feel, as epitomised by the Villamayor stone. The hotel has 67 rooms, all equipped with the latest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing