We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a fabulous breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Salamanca
Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a fabulous breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel is elegant with nicely appointed rooms and public areas, with the sort of glamour you might expect in Paris. The staff were helpful and courteous. Location wise, its great. Easy to drive to and just a short walk to the main sites (5 min stroll to Plaza Mayor). The hotel does have parking, but there is a charge and it took some manouevering to get the car parked.

The breakfast buffet was superb - by the far best I've had in Europe. Lots of delcious fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, pastries. If was going back to Salamanca I would stop here and have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    158
    79
    29
    10
See reviews for
73
177
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

OK, i know it's not usual to write a review commenting on a door, but for crying out loud, how the hell do you expect someone holding several bags to open (and keep open) a small door at the same time to enter a hotel... not a good start and what a pain! And the receptionists seem to know this is a problem as they bury their heads in their desks as soon as they spot someone struggling. Me and my wife struggled each time with the pushchair and not once did the staff come to help, only the customers helped us, infront of the staff as well!

Next problem was the Internet, OK it was free, but it didn't work all the time. It was very random and the receptionist seem unconcerned, "it works for me" was the reply. Luckily I have a USB internet stick which i could use (at cost to me) for the Internet wasn't working.

On a positive note, yes there are positives about this hotel. The staff (less the ones I mentioned) are brilliant, which is why i couldn't rate this hotel any lower, i'd feel bad :-) From the cleaner, breakfast staff, barstaff etc. made us feel so so welcome with our baby, it was fantastic. They would gladly warm his bottle whenever we requested and loved talking to him.

The breakfast was included in the price and there is a huge selection so you must find something you like there. The decor is always really nice and original. The hotel has two lifts as well even though one would have been enough so you didn't really have to wait long for a lift and incase of a fault on one the other will always be available. Ideal for wheel chair users and people with pushchairs. (although note my comments on the door).

Nice aircon in the room and blinds. Walls a bit thin but like many other hotels. The bath seemed quite modern with some kind of jacuzzi feature, but don't ask how it works. Maintenance seemed a bit sloppy, finishing not too good, but still good bathroom and big enough, complete with bday. A crib was provided for us free of charge for the baby and came complete with quilts. It was already in our room when we got there which was nice. There is also a minibar in the room. Location is also good although a bit noisy being near a busy road and bars etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJ FearRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I visited Salamanca to celebrate my brothers 21st, he is studying there for a year. My parents and I had 2 rooms at this hotel and the service was excellent from start to finish. The lobby and rooms were very clean and comfortable. Location is very good, ten minutes walk from Plaza Mayor, close to all the sights. On our final night there, we wished to organise a cake/cava etc for the family birthday party - the staff there were very accommodating and could not be more helpful. Food was excellent and service was top notch.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank DoraTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

I travelled with my husband to Salamanca to see our son ,who is studying there this year. The hotel Artheus is perfectly situated to see everything in Salamanca. It is near all sights, shops and restaurants and has an excellent restaurant itself.

The service we received was second to none. We had dinner in the hotel to celebrate our son's 21st birthday. The hotel made and decorated a cake for us at very short notice. The dining room is very comfortable and the staff made a wonderful occasion of the birthday with the service they gave.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully tiled. Everything in the hotel seems very well cared for. The decor is quite ornate and very pleasing. The lobby area is conducive to sitting in and relaxing with a book or drink from the very nice bar.

Breakfast was included in our package for 4 days and was very good. It is nice to get a cloth serviette, even for breakfast. We ate in lots of different places in Salamanca over the 4 days, but by far the best dinner was in the hotel.

The hotel provides parking, for a reasonable fee, which is very important in Salamanca. The hotel provides its patrons with the best service possible. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnaKilgarriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

What a find!!. I travelled here with my husband to see the sights of Salamanca. On arrivalwe discovered that there are not many hotels that you pull up outside in a car to unload, this one was great, we then moved the car to the hotel car park which was very secure. The hotel was clean and comfortable and very close to the major areas of Salamanca. Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet which was well worth the 10 euros each.
Our only complaint was the internet was rubbish. However this did not cause us a problem as there are numerous bars within easy walking distance that had free wi-fi access.
We didnt eat in the hotel but tried a coupleof the varoisu restaurants in the city, tapas was very good - be brave and go back a couple of streets - there are some gems there. Salamnaca is a wonderful city and we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnie2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Pleasant Hotel, we stayed in 2 rooms as we were with 2 teenagers. Some rooms are quite small. Well located for the town centre and breakfast was fine good and included in price. So good value. Did not try the restaurant for dinner as the decor was showing it's age.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnartblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne Cornwall ENgland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2007

This hotel is located on a busy road but is well soundproofed. Our room was located at the front of the hotel and was of an acceptable size but not as large as some. The bathroom was fine. The common parts of the hotel are a touch ornate for the type of hotel but nevertheless quite pleasant. We booked parking over the net and this was provided in their adjacent garage. Parking is a must in this city. The hotel is conveniently situated about 5 minutes walk from the Plaza Major and was good value for money. Breakfast was good with the usual fruit, juice, cold meats, cheese and hot food. The staff were helpful and friendly and this was one hotel where they did speak English and that for Lazy Brits like us is a definite advantage. There are a wealth of restaurants within walking distance to be enjoyed after a drink at the Plaza Major and it's only a short stroll back if you go to one of the many concerts in this wonderful university city. Chicos Restaurant between the hotel and the Plaza Major is to be recommended

  • Liked — Decent hotel conveniently placed
  • Disliked — Slightly small room size
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.6 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#13 of 71 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 71 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 71 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abba Fonseca Hotel
Abba Fonseca Hotel
#12 of 71 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 71 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alameda Palace
Hotel Alameda Palace
#15 of 71 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca

Property: Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca
Address: Paseo Carmelitas 67, 37002 Salamanca, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artheus Carmelitas Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artheus Carmelitas Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing