We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value at this time of year and a lovely place overall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value at this time of year and a lovely place overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The staff are so good at the NH Puerta - nothing is too much trouble from arrival to departure. The location could not be better. Rooms are comfortable with some stunning views. Overall it was a great experience - except for the free wifi service which is a bit of a pain - you need a password for each device and thus expires after 24 hours - plus the speed is s-l-o-w. Still, you shouldn't be surfing when you have such a beautiful city to discover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    345
    54
    6
    8
See reviews for
225
511
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's a fine hotel. Room 206 is good with nice views. We got a good rate as we booked early.
BUT

2 main problems...

POOR INTERNET. The security to access Internet is way too complicated and there is a silly use age limit so if you listen to the radio you get cut off and have to go through stupid long winded and complex security Again and again and again and again. It's very frustrating

The AC in the room was set on Heat and the room was very very warm. We asked for it to be fixed and after 36 hours the room was ok. We kept window open at night to let cool air in.

We did not eat in hotel. Pop out for breakfast in local bar. Half the hotel price.

Top tip. I parked across the river and walked to hotel to save the car park fees.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GolfDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Considering it's 4 stars, location, rooms and staff, NH Puerta de la Catedral might be one of the best choices in Salamanca.
It's right in front of Ieronimus' door, few steps from the river, roman bridge and museum Casa Lis, and a very short walking distance from Plaza Mayor.
The room is great, bathroom idem, in a very quiet location at night - the cathedral's bells are part of the atmosphere.
And if you want to begin the day with a great meal, the breakfast is really worthwhile.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Brilliantly located high class hotel in Salamanca city centre. Park the car underground and walk the city. Hotel was great, room was very nice and clean and although no tea and coffee in room as with most Spanish hotels there was an espresso machine in the foyer bar and loads of local places to grab a take out. We had the breakfast offered at the Puerta which was very high quality and both fresh and plentiful, cooked items to order. Salamanca is stunning and one of the top places to visit, the cathedral, is in front of the hotel. The car museum is a 5 minute walk and the Art Deco / Nouveau Museum /cafe even closer.

Room Tip: Opposite the Cathedral with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaleighGrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Sometimes it's possible to have bad, one-off experiences in a hotel and still know that the hotel itself is a great venue.

This hotel has just about everything - fantastic location, good size rooms, comfortable furniture, reasonable prices and amazing views.

We just happened to have an unfortunate experience. Despite requesting a non-smoking room (and being assured that all nearby rooms were non-smoking) our room, and particularly bathroom, absolutely stank of fresh cigarette smoke. So much so that our clothes smelt of smoke when we left the room.

I queried it with the concierge, and was effectively told that I must have been imagining it. None too politely, at that. When I asked for someone to come and see/smell the smoke, a begrudging acceptance was made and the lady from the concierge came up to our room. Again, the presence of smoke was denied, despite the fact that we could actually see smoke coming through the floor in the bathroom.

We were eventually offered another room - and it was absolutely fine.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, this is a terrific place. I doubt you'll find a better location at a better price. And the customer service was, ultimately, more than acceptable. Just hope that your visit doesn't coincide with a chain smoker on the below floor!

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, do try to confirm that your room is actually non-smoking before your arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.
NH in Salamanca is the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank miguelmendes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Despite the unique views of the cathedrals and the square, this cosy and friendly hotel has more to deliver!
Design furnitures, excellent taste decoration and a well trained and friendly staff.
Altogether to this, a strategic location in the very center of the historical site.
Simply perfect!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gustavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.7 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#7 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral

Property: NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Address: Plaza Juan XXIII 5 | City Center, 37008 Salamanca, Spain (Formerly NH Puerta de la Catedral)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel in Salamanca, Spain, offers a prime location in the center of the city's beautiful historical center, right next to two magnificent cathedrals. An establishment in the prestigious NH Collection line, the NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel integrates first-class service and elegant contemporary accommodations with an authentic historical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing