We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 9 to 14 June. It is a very beautiful, old building next to the cathedral. Location is perfect to explore Salamanca which is a very exciting city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and clean with a beautiful terrace on the first floor facing the cathedral. Bathroom was modern and very clean with all the amenities you need. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. The restaurant was closed (only open for groups) but you have plenty of good tapas bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone whowants to visit Salamanca.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikaZonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the end of January. The location was perfect! Being next to the cathedral means that one gets to hear the lovely bell ringing at frequent intervals. It is also in the historic part of town and most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance.

The style of the hotel is modern with great reception service who would always greet you as you walk in and out of the hotel.

The room is on the small side but adequate for our use. We were given a room that faced the cathedral. To wake up in the morning and looking out the window seeing the domes in the sky never cease to give one a sense of peace and delight.

The room was clean, The bathroom was modern.

We also had breakfast there every morning. I would really recommend anyone who stays there to give it a try. The variety and the presentation were true reflection of the spanish breakfast offer. I did not even know how to eat nor where to start on day one! I used those breakfasts as benchmarks of the Spanish hotels since then!

The hotel is only a short taxi ride from the train or bus stations.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Salamanca!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MYquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Recently fulfilled a long held ambition to visit Salamanca en-rote from Santander to Southern Spain.
One could easily run out of superlatives in describing this Hotel. Start with its location. In the centre of the old town opposite the Catedral - such a breathtakingly beautiful structure and better still, the bells don't ring at night! The Plaza Mayor is a 10 minute stroll along ancient streets. Hotel Decor; modern, tasteful, spotlessly clean. The bedroom was so spacious and beautifully fitted out. Last but by no means least, the staff. Helpful and courteous and happy to go along with my pidgin Spanish for as long as I could stand to say it. Also, we made the mistake of leaving a bag behind in the underground garage as we drove away and the staff went out of their way to ensure that it was shipped on to our holiday destination. I would love to return to Salamanca and when I do the first thing that I will do is to check into this Hotel

Room Tip: The balcony rooms at the front of the Hotel overlooking the Catedral would be my first choice
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tilkobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My third visit here with my civil partner. We were booked into a twin room (all that was left when we booked) but after a personal request to (if possible) have a double room we were given a double with a lovely view of the cathedral. I also requested to not be placed on the ground floor and this was also honoured. Very friendly Reception staff with no awkward questions asked. Due to the neighbouring buildings and walls, any noise (tourist groups or rubbish collecting trucks) tends to be amplified but keeping windows shut help. Since our second visit we have opted not to have the ample 11.50 buffet breakfast and gone down Rua Mayor (main street towards Plaza Mayor) to a tiny patisserie called Croissanteria Paris to buy phenomenal Pain au Chocolate. Renamed by me as 'galaxy bars wrapped in pastry', for a couple of euros. While the breakfast is varied and delicious, we felt we could have lazy lie ins and buy patisseries at a quarter of the price. Spotlessly clean, comfortable as ever, walking distance to all key ancient monuments, places and buildings, never disappointed. Super value to boot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very handily located to explore Salamanca. Close to all the attractions and restaurants. Parking is a bit tricky but not too bad. Staff friendly and the room, like most other NH hotels very clean, modern and functional. I did ask for a room with a view of the cathedral but baulked at the €20 supplement! My view (!) is, if the room is available, let the guest have it - they will be encouraged to return.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Perfect location for exploring Salamanca. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable too. Parking is a bit difficult though as the streets are very narrow. Overall good value for money...would definitely recommend this hotel when one visits Salamanca.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eurekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our GPS did a good job of taking us to the hotel, parking is good but not cheap. The rooms are modern and good value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful. This was my second visit to Salamanca (The first walking The Via de la Plata) and it's a special place worthy of a full day looking around. The art deco museum is worth the visit just for this place alone. Breakfast we thought expensive and found a good local bar that did the job

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral

Address: Plaza Juan XXIII 5 | City Center, 37008 Salamanca, Spain (Formerly NH Puerta de la Catedral)
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: £64 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel in Salamanca, Spain, offers a prime location in the center of the city's beautiful historical center, right next to two magnificent cathedrals. An establishment in the prestigious NH Collection line, the NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel integrates first-class service and elegant contemporary accommodations with an authentic historical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing