We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Kstravelprof
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is the must-stay-at-hotel in Salamanca! Perfect location to all the major sites and yet not right in the center of all the tourism. Wonderful staff. Great accommodations. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I only wish we stayed longer. Book it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank KSTravelProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    345
    54
    6
    8
See reviews for
225
510
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel on 19th and 20th June 2014 as one of a group of 5 friends. The main advantage of the hotel was the location. It is superbly located for all ameneties. Nothing is too far away to walk to. 10-15 mins walk from Plaza Mayor, the University and Cathedrals are on the doorstep (literally in the case of the cathedrals) and the lovely roman bridge and San Esteban bridge with spectacular views of the cathedrals over the river is a mere 5 mins walk in the other direction.

The hotel itself is very nicely decorated. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and well equipped. Large screen TV (although I didn't watch it), minibar - which i didn't use only to store my own drinks but was great for that and a free safe in the wardrobe. The only disappointment was that there was no view from the room. Of the three rooms that we booked, only one had a view of the cathedral and that was if you stood on tiptoe to look over a bit of a wall.

There is a very small bar in the reception area but from my trips to Toledo and Segovia last year, I missed the addition of an outside bar area or rooftop terrace where you could sit for a drink whilst waiting for the rest to get ready. This was a minus point in my opinion. Also the breakfast was not the best. It was continental, which is fine and a cooked option was available but had to be requested and probably cost extra so we didn't bother. The toaster was incredibly slow as was the coffee maker. At 8 euros a head, I think we may have been better having breakfast elsewhere.

We had a 2 centre trip as we have for the past 3 years and I have to say our second hotel in Ávila had an equally good location, a better breakfast and was the same star rating for a much lower cost. I therefore think that whilst I have rated this hotel as a 4, if I was ever to visit Salamanca again, I would probably try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a tip to get a good room as none seemed to have much of a view of the cathedral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrav1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel in Salamanca and it is located in a nice area. However given the facilities the room prices are overvalued. Just at the arrival the receptionist (Ruth) was very helpful until another person with really bad attitude (Miguel Angel) screwed everything. Frankly I think one could find a better service in Salamanca for the price they are paying. I'm going to stay I'm this hotel for few more days and hope to update more on the pros and cons. In summary, as of now, I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RangaDabarera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. The location was great, the view from our balcony was incredible and the service was good. My only complaint was that the wifi signal was poor in our room. All things considered, I would highly recommend this hotel and I plan on staying here during my next trip to Salamanca.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoshAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zonhoven
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 9 to 14 June. It is a very beautiful, old building next to the cathedral. Location is perfect to explore Salamanca which is a very exciting city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and clean with a beautiful terrace on the first floor facing the cathedral. Bathroom was modern and very clean with all the amenities you need. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. The restaurant was closed (only open for groups) but you have plenty of good tapas bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone whowants to visit Salamanca.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaZonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the end of January. The location was perfect! Being next to the cathedral means that one gets to hear the lovely bell ringing at frequent intervals. It is also in the historic part of town and most of the tourist attractions are within walking distance.

The style of the hotel is modern with great reception service who would always greet you as you walk in and out of the hotel.

The room is on the small side but adequate for our use. We were given a room that faced the cathedral. To wake up in the morning and looking out the window seeing the domes in the sky never cease to give one a sense of peace and delight.

The room was clean, The bathroom was modern.

We also had breakfast there every morning. I would really recommend anyone who stays there to give it a try. The variety and the presentation were true reflection of the spanish breakfast offer. I did not even know how to eat nor where to start on day one! I used those breakfasts as benchmarks of the Spanish hotels since then!

The hotel is only a short taxi ride from the train or bus stations.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Salamanca!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Recently fulfilled a long held ambition to visit Salamanca en-rote from Santander to Southern Spain.
One could easily run out of superlatives in describing this Hotel. Start with its location. In the centre of the old town opposite the Catedral - such a breathtakingly beautiful structure and better still, the bells don't ring at night! The Plaza Mayor is a 10 minute stroll along ancient streets. Hotel Decor; modern, tasteful, spotlessly clean. The bedroom was so spacious and beautifully fitted out. Last but by no means least, the staff. Helpful and courteous and happy to go along with my pidgin Spanish for as long as I could stand to say it. Also, we made the mistake of leaving a bag behind in the underground garage as we drove away and the staff went out of their way to ensure that it was shipped on to our holiday destination. I would love to return to Salamanca and when I do the first thing that I will do is to check into this Hotel

Room Tip: The balcony rooms at the front of the Hotel overlooking the Catedral would be my first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilkobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.7 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#7 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral

Property: NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Address: Plaza Juan XXIII 5 | City Center, 37008 Salamanca, Spain (Formerly NH Puerta de la Catedral)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel in Salamanca, Spain, offers a prime location in the center of the city's beautiful historical center, right next to two magnificent cathedrals. An establishment in the prestigious NH Collection line, the NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel integrates first-class service and elegant contemporary accommodations with an authentic historical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing