We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way South from the ferry from Santander. I love Salamanca. It is one of the most beautiful places in Spain and this hotel could not have been better. We were given a room with its own spacious terrace beneath the eves of the Cathedral. Incredible. If only it had of been the Summer when we could have sat out and enjoyed it more. Luckily our room also had a fantastic heating system so we were warm and cosy while we watched the snow fall gently around the lighted balustrades of the cloisters opposite. Very romantic. Pity I was with my husband!

The room was clean, modern and spacious and the staff friendly. The parking is a little awkward to find and a tight squezze to enter from the narrow street but worth the 15 euros to have a safe place to leave a fully laden car. All in all a bargain considering the facilities on offer and the splendid location.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    372
    54
    6
    8
See reviews for
234
535
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The staff were youngish in this university town. Laid back but eager to help. Modern rooms in a very old building brought up to true 4 star quality. Had a very good buffet breakfast. They offered to cook whatever we wanted. Our room had an incredible view of the Catedral next door. I wish we had booked longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplehaze_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

15 meters away from the Cathedral. A/C had problems but were solved by staff. Great breakfast and calm location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran07Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Imagine stepping out of your hotel right into the historic center of this beautiful city: the cathedral and Plaza Mayor only a few minutes away. When your feet get tired, there's an airconditioned room with comfortable beds and a shower awaiting you. No frills, all very modern and rather soulless, but a bargain nevertheless.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We spent two nights here for a weekend, and booked it based on the location. It is in the perfect spot. Easy to access and park in your car, in the center of town, but not slap next to anything noisy.

It's one of those hotels where you could be anywhere. The decor and rooms are smart and neutral, but bland. Everything works, you just wouldn't want to spend any time in the hotel. We didn't, so that was fine. A very good breakfast, including a hot selection, although the subterranean restaurant is pretty soulless.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenks58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed for one night on the way to Portugal and liked it so much we booked in for the return journey. A great location - right in the heart of a beautiful area - although we found it quite difficult to find through the maze of one-way streets. The room had everything - very chic, clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that, after getting a cracking first floor room, first time round - with two windows in the bedroom and another in the bathroom - on the way back we were given a smaller room with one window (none in the bathroom) which looked directly into the bedroom of the neighbouring block. A lack of daylight and not the same feel as the previous stay. The luck of the draw! Still... a nice room in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boras83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I stayed here for four nights in May 2010 to attend a conference in the university. It is a fine hotel, but not without a few problems, some not of its own making. For my purposes, and as previous reviewers have noted, the hotel benefits from an ideal location in the old town. My reception was not exactly warm, and the temperature of the service at the front desk, whilst efficient, never really rose. Rooms are chicly modern if sparely furnished: both rooms I stayed in lacked an armchair. Choose the location of your room with care: I spent two nights in a 'superior' room upstairs at the front of the building being kept awake by late-night passers-by (and note that tour groups gather in this spot during the daytime). I managed to switch to a room at the back which was very quiet, additionally so because of carpeted rather than bare flooring in the corridor. Room service was excellent, and the server in the breakfast room has a good memory for her clients.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#2 of 70 in Salamanca
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 70 in Salamanca
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.5 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral

Property: NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Address: Plaza Juan XXIII 5 | City Center, 37008 Salamanca, Spain (Formerly NH Puerta de la Catedral)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel in Salamanca, Spain, offers a prime location in the center of the city's beautiful historical center, right next to two magnificent cathedrals. An establishment in the prestigious NH Collection line, the NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral hotel integrates first-class service and elegant contemporary accommodations with an authentic historical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing