We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Polo
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca(Salamanca)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Vega(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eurostars Las Claras(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Salamanca(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
82
197
117
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
197
117
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold churchcentury churchsmall liftriviera tourtour partyorganised tourthree course mealcold milkinteresting buildingbasic hotelsplendid locationnice view of the cathedralno tea coffee making facilitiesfew minutes walkstayed for nightslovely little hotelten minutes
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for two nights as part of a Riviera Tour. Excellent location for exploring on foot this beautiful city. Rooms a good size, clean and comfortable. Lovely outside space to enjoy a pre-dinner drink.

The restaurant was a game of two halfs, the four of us in our party ate a very pleasant meal wine included on our first night having booked a table on arrival, staff friendly but little or no English. Breakfasts were a chaotic bun fight, kept running out of things including hot water to make a drink not enough staff serving for a pre-booked party. The second night having been exploring we thought we would eat in again of the set menu. Food ok but not as good as previous night. We were sat in a downstairs restaurant despite there being plenty of room in the ground level one of the previous evening, a very different ambience altogether. On receipt of the bill the included wine became an additional cost as we had asked for the same as we had been recommended by the waiter the previous night when it was included! The waiter was rude and not willing to listen to either us or our tour leader who spoke excellent spanish trying to explain. This left an unpleasant taste in what had been a lovely two days. Would we return, possibly but we would not eat at the restaurant again until the staffing issues were addressed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestSussexFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel San Polo is fine, reasonable sized rooms, air con that works, and good soundproofing. However, the hotel restaurant is another matter. On the evening we dined there it was reasonably busy but there were only two waiters for a dozen tables. Neither waiter spoke English. It took ten minutes for a menu to appear and another ten minutes before a waiter appeared at our table. In Spanish I asked for a wine list. The response was a blank look of incomprehension. I stood up and lead the water to the bar area, picked up a bottle of Rioja and placed in his hand and said "Agua minerale con gas, por favor" and went back to the table. Several minutes elapsed before the waiter appeared and plonked both bottles on the table, probably took that long for him to figure out how to use a corkscrew. Fortunately, we know how to pour water and wine. Several more minutes elapsed before the other waiter appeared and took our order. This was made more complicated as the menu was in Spanish on one page with the English equivalent a couple of pages further on. Ten minutes or so elapsed before progress was made. The taller waiter started to slice the Iberico ham from the leg mounted on a stand at the other end of the restaurant. I was facing that way and after a couple of slice he tried to cut his thumb off. Retreat for first aid – I don't think any blood made it onto the plate. The food was OK, nothing special. Not somewhere I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent two nights at the San Polo. Room was clean but small with very uncomfortable pillows, Very little drawer space. Reception staff unpleasant and Fawlty like! Barman who also doubled as a restaurant waiter was particularly brusque, and deemed it your privilege to be served by him! Room staff were excellent and obliging. Location is very good, and the hotel could be made to look really good with investment both in up~dating and staff training!Menu del dia was very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel claims 3 stars and that is what it is. Clean, pleasant with some great character, but in overall terms it is average. That is fine, keep your expectations at average level and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our bedroom was well furnished and had a fridge, but no tea / coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable and there were good quality blankets in the wardrobe. A 3rd bed meant there was little floor space. The bathroom had a bath as well as a bidet. The blind in the bathroom fell down, but had been replaced by the time we returned to the hotel. There was a free safe, although a 20 euro deposit was required.
Breakfast was from 8 am and there was fresh fruit, as well as the usual cereals, a variety of bread and cakes. Some people put hot milk on their cornflakes in mistake for cold milk. There was a machine for coffee, but tea was in a jug. People tended to sit in the bar area near the buffet, but there was plenty of room in the dining room up a few steps from the bar.
We did not have dinner in the hotel, but people who did said the three course menu at 12 euros was good value. There are, however, a lot of reasonably priced bars and restaurants within a 10 minute uphill walk of the hotel.
Pedro seemed to be always on the reception desk and was very helpful. All the staff were very pleasant.
One of the nearest museums is the Motor Museum and is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews