We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming saline hotel. great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hosteria Ayala Berganza
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A charming saline hotel. great value”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

A charming saline hotel. Good location, a quite street and tucked lower part of Segovia which is Short walk to every thing. The Hotel is newly restored; it is quite, clean, very nicely done with typical Spanish design and deco. Also has a nice pretty patio. Building is solid, Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. Staffs were very nice helpful. It was excellent value for the Money at 60 Euro during mid week.

No parking available. You need to park your car of the public parking lot which hotel guest get discount. Please ask the parking info when you book room because it was hard to find if you do not know your ways around. You can walk to the hotel from the parking lot, if you do not want to deal with driving into the old city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skimny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    60
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
40
104
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We got a great last minute deal for this hotel for a double room for €50.

It says it is a restored 15th century palace which you can vagule see in it's current design. The room was pleasantly decorated and very clean. The bed was a bit hard for my taste but my companion liked it. The hotel has an elevator though you will still have to climb some steps with your luggage. Wifi only worked in the lobby area. Located within walking distance to all the major sights of Segovia.

Overall, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SariPoage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I had a great experience. Asked for a quiet room and was very pleased. Peaked ceilings, beams, views of the church steeple next door, clean bathroom with pretty blue tiles, great shutters that blocked out the light. If you take the AVE to Segovia and take the public bus to the town center, it´s a 10 min. walk. It´s listed on the Lonely Planet guidebook map, so I didn´t have many problems finding it. Public computer had very quick connection. €60/nt.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaGirl27517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Stayed here for two nights after coming upon it while parked nearby on the street. As noted by other reviewers, due to the street patterns, it would be difficult to find if it's your first visit (and no GPS!) so consider parking at the big underground lot on Avenida Ladreda. That's where you'll likely park anyway as your hotel receipt will provide a substantial discount off the daily rate and street parking is difficult to find. Anyway, the hotel is about a block and a half walk from the parking lot so it's real convenient to the lower town (aqueduct area) and about 50 yards from steps leading up to the old city. It's a good location for drivers.

We looked at four rooms and they were all big, clean and well furnished. Excellent bathroom. Caution re. the streetside rooms if you're going to be there Tuesday through Saturday nights - sporadic street noises until the wee hours from the younger set returning home from the clubs. If you want quiet get one of the off-street rooms. Also, we did have to keep our bathroom door closed because the sound carried through from the next room (why do people have to talk so loud on the phone?) but that was the only annoyance we experienced. The desk staff was very helpful and gave, I thought, good advice on the area. For a double we paid 60 euros a night. The breakfast is on a sliding scale with 4.50 getting you coffee and a croissant, 6 a little more and 11 getting a typical buffet.

One of the nicer places for lunch we encountered on our trip was the Restaurante California which is just over one block away from the hotel. Great menu del dia for a couple euros less than you'll pay in the tourist areas.

  • Liked — Location, Size of Rooms
  • Disliked — Street Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger_Samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We stayed here for one night on the first night of our two week vacation. The hotel is clean and very close to the town center so once you're there you can walk everywhere. The problem is finding it...we drove around in circles for a while before deciding to stop at the tourism office (which we passed on our way into town). The rooms in the old section are quite a bit nicer than the newer rooms so try to book them (2 couples got them, one did not). Overall, a pleasant stay in a very nice town.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wine-Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2005

A beautiful little hotel outside the city walls. It's almost impossible to find, even if you have a map. There are no signs and lots of narrow one way streets. We stayed in one of the suites, and it was one of the prettiest hotel rooms I've ever had, and quite comfortable as well. The staff is pleasant, though English is limited. Breakfast is spare, but good enough. The walk to the center of town is short (and uphill). There's a small supermarket around the corner

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2003

This hotel was pretty hard to find since there were no street signs to direct you to the hotel (most hotels in Segovia had signs). The neighborhood seemed a little bit sketchy. The walls were incredibly thin- I could hear every word our neighbors said, even though they were speaking at a relatively low level. Thus, I didn't get much sleep at this hotel. You do get a free breakfast though. I regret not staying at the Parador instead.

Helpful?
6 Thank mab367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
#11 of 25 in Segovia
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Antonio el Real
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Ayala Berganza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Ayala Berganza

Property: Hosteria Ayala Berganza
Address: Calle Carretas no 5, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Ayala Berganza 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria Ayala Berganza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Ayala Berganza Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing