We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know if I stayed at the same place...”
Review of Parador de Segovia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Segovia
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Well I have just stayed at this beautiful parador with my partner and I found all staff very helpful especially the bar staff and restaurant staff. Reception staff were quick and efficient and very helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate (but not as good as the Chinchón parador). Views from room and public areas spectacular - the whole parador exudes an atmosphere of quiet relaxation. The only fly in the ointment for me was the rather loud party of Americans during breakfast!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank PM1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Segovia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it very much. The staff were extremely helpful, our rooms was very clean and quiet with beautiful views like every room. Food in the restaurant was very good and again staff were very helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: All bedrooms overlook the city and the aqua duct.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The most recent reviewers have it spot on, particularly jonsmith51.

Just to add the majority of staff were miserable and the establishment made no effort to promote the splendid grounds: and why turn the wifi off at 11.00 pm, as seemed to be the case?

This is all a shame as this was my first Parador experience and I had been minded to stay at one since seeing Paradors featured with Cliff Mitchelmore many years ago on the TV. Is it symptomatic of a state owned operation under pressure?

Not going to rush to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 283Coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This parador is all about its modern architectural features and fabulous views of the old city of Segovia. It is lovely sitting in the lounge or bar, looking out to the distant view of the cathedral and other historic city attractions. Our room was for disabled and was more than adequate and comfortable, close to the lobby, with no access problems. We particularly enjoyed the terrace off our room. Also, parking was available, and close We had lunch a couple of times in the bar and enjoyed good friendly service and good food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights the first of the five paradors we have made reservations for on this trip Ciudad Rodrigo, Jarandilla de la Vera, Oropesa, Chinchón.
As others have said, this parador is about 2 miles from the town centre, making it a tranquil location situated on the top of a hill and overlooking the town with wonderful views of the Cathedral, Aquaduct and Alcazar. The hotel is modern and we had a large comfortable room on the 3rd floor overlooking the town. A small balcony, with table and chairs. (see my picture of room and balcony)

Room Tip Third and fourth floor rooms have great balcony views over the city. Our room had good free Wifi conection.

Check in and check out staff were quick and efficient no complaints here.

Breakfast A poor selection which now seems to be the standard of the 5 paradors we stayed at on this trip and I’m sad to say not as good as they were early in May 2013 and before and in our opinion not worth €18.

Dinner We found the food was excellent and the staff were efficient.

Bar staff In general were disinterested in their work and treated us as if we were a nuisance. Smoking is prohibited on the bar’s outside terrace. This seemed absolutely ridiculous as it’s an open air terrace.

To sum up: Segovia is a beautiful walled city and well worth a visit.

Plaza Mayor bars are reasonably priced with very smartly dressed waiters.

There is plenty of parking in the car park by the Aquaduct.

The parador is clean and modern with ample free parking. Garage parking is also available. (Amigos are now being charged for garage parking throughout the parador chain).

Having stayed at 25 different paradors to date it seems that they may be making some cutbacks in staff etc. I sincerely hope not because we love the overall parador experience.

In these times of cutbacks please do not let the Parador standards drop.


GPS coordinates for Segovia parador reception are
N 40.960573 : W 4.109871
GPS coordinates for FREE parking near the Segovia Aquaduct
5 min walk.
N 40.946983 : W 4.124069

Next stop Ciudad Rodrigo.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor rooms have great balcony views over the city. Our room had good free Wifi con...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonsmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Parador overlooks the city from a bluff on the edge of the city. The view is stunning. This is a large parador but with only one receptionist on duty wehen we arrived we had to wait a long time to check-in. Although the building is impressive it is rather shabby in places.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is not too far from the lifts - ours was at the end of a very long corridor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Amazing View of the town, the Aquaduct and Alcazar,,,but again the malaise of Parador management and staff renders this hotel mediocre in the hospitality stakes.
It is a cab ride from the hotel into the centre of the town.The building has imposing interiors in the common areas, due to the views from the elevated site and impressive structural architecture. The rooms however are pretty standard though ours was also augmented by the view and that it had a rather small enclosed balcony.
We were travelling throughout August and we made a point of choosing hotels with swimming pools, and the pool here was large and situated on a lovely grass lawn graced with 'The View'...but again was let down by lax disinterested staff, the fact that one couldn't order refreshments and it was surrounded by an aesthetically ugly mesh pool fence that looked in need of repair. The nearest entrance to the hotel in fact was closed off internally meaning we had to double back and walk quite a distance to order food & beverages, and the toilet amenities were even further away..
A large bar area inside which would have been a nice place to sit and enjoy the view was closed off with no explanation as to why.
I continually got the impression the staff were disinterested in their role and that guests were a nuisance.. not a good look for a tourist driven hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Candido
Hotel Candido
#7 of 25 in Segovia
662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
1.1 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#5 of 25 in Segovia
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
#13 of 25 in Segovia
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Segovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Segovia

Address: Carretera Valladolid s/n, 40003 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#8 Family Hotel in Segovia
Price Range: £70 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Segovia 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, comfortable and extraordinary, the Parador de Segovia is located in one of Spain's most historic cities, which has been declared a World Heritage Site. The panoramic views from the hotel's guest rooms, dining room and outdoor swimming pool are a wonderful treat. At the Parador you will be able to take advantage of the gym, heated swimming pool and seasonal swimming pool, tennis court and sauna. In addition, there is a convention center with several function rooms equipped for meetings and conferences. The Parador is also an ideal location for those who want to discover the many natural areas found in this Castile-Leon province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Segovia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Segovia Hotel Segovia
Parador De Hotel Segovia
Segovia Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing