We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have set foot in 14 different countries and stayed in literally hundreds if not thosuands of hotels and I can say without a doubt that this is the worst one I have ever stayed in. I cannot tell you in words how rude the man working at the front desk was(40-50, gray hear, sweater vest). He looked annoyed every time we asked him for something. Once I asked him to go and unlock the exercise room(yes you have to ASK if you want to exercise). He said he would do it in 10 minutes, and yes, you guessed it, he never came!!! Finally when I got in there I saw a treadmill and two bicycles, only the treadmill worked however. The sauna, shower, and hot tub were also out of order. The same desk clerk also gave us the wrong hours for both the exercise room and the dining room. The maid also said that it is policy to charge EXTRA if you wish to use the fold out bed under the couch(thankfully they didn't however)!!! So basically you pay a lot of money for a lousy hotel with no functioning amenities, hit and miss internet, and tiny tiny T.V's. The view and the location are the only good things this hotel has going for it.

Room Tip: get a room with a view I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willnuckolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

The location is good, but the hotel itself is run-down almost to the point of delapidation. The desk-clerk who checked us in sullen and unfriendly. The carpet looks like a river-bed -- full of ground-in muck and dirt. The rooms reek of cigarette smoke. The "exercise room" has a sauna (not working), hot tub (not working), shower (not working), and two bicycles. The restaurant, which was supposed to open at 8, had not by 8:30 because the cook had not shown up. My recommendation: stay at the Don Felipe, which I look at today and found much more acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Los Linajes is perched on a hill in the centre of Segovia, five minutes' walk from the cathedral, and a happy stroll from anything else worth seeing. The location is excellent, however some of the rooms (in the older part) are still quite old-style Spanish hotel, very clean but a little tired. Ours had a window which looked out onto a service alley (no problem, but not exactly panoramic). Staff are good, but the feel of the place is a little out-of-date. Breakfast is ok, but not so much choice.

Certainly no complaints (walking around Segovia late at night and being come back to somewhere so well-placed is a joy) but choose your room (I stayed here a while back and was better pleased- it was in the more modern part).

Bear in mind that there is parking and a swimming pool, both difficult to come by in this town, so definite pluses.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a small little hotel within the old city walls of Segovia, walkable to many fine areas. Segovia is a day trip from Madrid, but I'm very glad I stayed, as it was splendid at night. Walking the wonderful streets, getting lost, coming across splendid & unexpected views -- it was all wonderful.

The hotel is tucked away near the Plaza Mayor, has old-world ambiance, an elevator & several levels built into the hill. Breakfast is ok, not great, & served in a lovely room overlooking the valley. The staff serving breakfast were rather brusque & seemed to resent bringing hot coffee. This area of the hotel also serves as the bar & is a wonderful spot for a glass of wine in the evenings. It also has a large balcony and you can eat out there or just relax & enjoy the view.

My room was a bit of a disappointment, as my view was of a fire extinguisher on the facing wall/open corridor. It was also a bit noisy since the corridor seemed to be a good area for conversations. There are much better rooms facing the valley, some w/ balconies.

Comfort wise, the room was fine. Nicely furnished, comfortable bed, plenty large enough, nice bathroom, air conditioned. This hotel is a fine choice in Segovia -- just try to get a room with a better view.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was our favourite hotel of the whole 7 day/city tour. The location was great for this amazing town/city. The facilities of the hotel were superb as was the sympathetic architecture. The desk staff were a bit 'reserved' and didnt appear too happy to be working or receiving us as guests.

Room Tip: Ours had a view of the surrounding countryside and a small terrace - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_helen_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nice sized room and modernised bathroom. The best thing was the view over the valley and the proximity to the Plaza Major which is lovely. Not too far from the impressive aquaduct and the beautiful alcazar. Good choice hotel for this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This characterful property overlooking the Eresma valley, has been carefully modernised to provide comfortable accommodation convenient to the historic centre of the city. We were a party of 8 and had booked direct with the hotel some months ago for a 3 night stay. Each of us commented favourably on the size and quality of our rooms. There were no mini-bars, flat screen t.v's or fluffy bathrobes; but there were excellent beds, good quality linens and plenty of space, in the room itself, in the bathroom and in the wardrobes. Reception was efficient and responsive and the buffet breakfast was more than adequate and in line with or better than Spanish hotels in this price range.
At Euros55 a night (plus taxes) for bed and breakfast this represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Plaza Acueducto
1.7 mi away
Hotel Candido
Hotel Candido
#7 of 25 in Segovia
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
#11 of 25 in Segovia
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
0.2 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#6 of 25 in Segovia
697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
#15 of 25 in Segovia
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Casa de Los Linajes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Casa de Los Linajes

Address: Calle Doctor Velasco 9, 40003 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Segovia
Price Range: £33 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Casa de Los Linajes 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent position and exquisite service, a historic palace perfectly combined with modern interior design. These are the features of Exe Casa de Los Linajes, remodelled in 2015 to offer our customers the utmost comfort and the best service in Segovia city centre. The remodelling involved respecting the historic aesthetics of the building, while adding contemporary style to its interior. Hotel Exe Casa de Los Linajes is in one of the quietest and most peaceful corners of the historic quarter of Segovia, just five minutes on foot from Plaza Mayor. It offers all of the advantages of being in the centre, combined with privacy to enjoy the quiet and charm of this world heritage city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Eurostars, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Exe Casa de Los Linajes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Linajes
Los Linajes Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing