We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel on Plaza Major”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Crosby, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small hotel on Plaza Major”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

La Casa Mudejar is a nice hotel within walking distance of all the main attractions. The hotel is built from at least two separate buildings so the hallways wander a bit but it just adds to the hotel's charm. The rooms are somewhat small but adequate. The rooms had TV (no English channels that we could find), Wi-Fi, a small fridge and air conditioning. The AC was much appreciated because it was warm and humid while we were there. Our room was on the 4th floor and had a tiny balcony over the street. The street can be quite noisy but with the AC running and the balcony doors closed, the noise was muted enough for sleeping. Some of the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the old city walls and rooftops and would be quieter. There is a small elevator at the hotel and there is also a lovely spa built into an original Roman room. The hotel also offered a good breakfast with plenty of choices for about 7 Euros. The hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming. Since we arrived in Segovia by train (we took a taxi from the station to the hotel), parking a car was not an issue. The location is perfect -- right next to the Cathedral and the main plaza. It is also an easy walk down to the Roman aqueduct and, in the opposite direction, the Alcázar fortress. I would go back.

Room Tip: The hotel has only one room adapted for the handicapped. All bathrooms have a deep tub with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwilson374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    227
    99
    18
    12
See reviews for
106
300
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Segovia on our journey south on the Motorbike and found this little gem on spec. They gave us a great last minute price and we got a lovely family room with ensuite for €59. Great view from the third floor balcony over the old streets. We parked the bike outside the cathedral free of charge and had a great night visiting bars and restaurants and the late night shops.
The following morning we visited the breathtaking aqueduct and had coffee and croissants in its shadow, before continuing our journey down to Murcia. Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Arrived by car, a bit put off by the no entry signs, but reading the small print access to hotels was permitted. After calling the hotel, found a space on the Plaza Major where you could park for 20mins to check in. Hotel advised about long term parking saying they had private parking at €17.50 per day, but as we had arrived around 2pm on a Saturday, the receptionist helpfully told us that pay and display parking was free until Monday morning. Had to drive around for a bit but after a few minutes found a free space so no parking cost for the weekend!
Right on the edge of the Plaza Major, the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. 1 min walk to Cathedral, 10 mins to Alcazar and about the same to the Aquaduct. Dozens of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.
The hotel is very old and is furnished accordingly and has a spa in the basement which apparently uses some of the original Roman features but unfortunately it was closed on Sunday so we were unable to see or use it. The rooms have plug-in internet connections and Wi-Fi is available in the reception area.
This is an old fashioned Spanish hotel with old fashioned style and charm and all in all, this was a perfect hotel for our time in beautiful Segovia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Very supportive staff and excellent room. Very spacious for family of 4 w/ 2 teenagers. Can't beat the location. At check in received sound advice for parking the rental car at public no charge lot that was safe and convenient. Saved us €17.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt18-20family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was delightful! The room was very spacious and comfortablemand the hotel was small and charming. Staff was very helpful and tappas bar was fun. Segovia is a wonderful city to explore by foot once you arrive and get that car parked safely away. It is a little tricky getting there, but so worth it. The Plaza Major at night is beautiful all lit up and the Cathedral is just a few steps away. I would recommend a stay in this hotel to my friends and put the charming town of Segovia high on a travel list for those visiting Spain!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyadventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Right in the middle of the city, 50yards from the Cathedral and the main Plaza Major. Tricky to find in the car because of the one way streets (Sat Nav sending me the wrong way down one-way streets) so best to phone the hotel and have them wait in the Plaza for you. No parking in the hotel but pay-as-you-go parking close by, although expensive, 17€ per day. Ask the receptionist for the free parking areas just out side the city - walking only 15 minutes and you see a bit more of this fab city. Nice hotel and helpful staff, I'll stay here again, and bring my wife next time - she would love it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Excellent service, unbeatable central location with free parking relatively close. The spa also excellent, and there were only a few other people in it which made all the difference. We had dinner in the tapas bar downstairs - top quality food. We didn't have breakfast there but there are plenty of reasonable cafes nearby. All in all a highly recommendable hotel.

The only negative was no wifi in the hotel rooms.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Natos1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
1.5 mi away
Hotel Candido
Hotel Candido
#7 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Plaza Acueducto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar

Property: Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica 8, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Spa La Casa Mudéjar is situated in the very heart of Segovia, next to the Main Square and the Cathedral. This 15th century building was turned into a Hotel & Spa in 2005 incorporating many arqueological remains to up-to-date comfort. Thanks to the great care taken during the restoration work the hotel was awarded with the AR&PA Restoration Awards. Once inside you can enjoy amazing works of art and other beauties such as 15th century moulded ceilings, the best views to Guadarrama mountains, the most important Roman remains in the city after the Aqueduct and the Celtic foundations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Mudejar Hospederia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing