We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was our most expensive hotel, but also the best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Candido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Candido
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Was our most expensive hotel, but also the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We made a roundtrip through the charming cities in the wide neighbourhood of Madrid, this was our most expensive hotel (booking.com, 100 eur/night) but also the best. Value/price was ok. Very nice, quiet room. Location of hotel about 2 km from town center: either by bus stopping in front of hotel, or by own car at night as there was ample parking space for free close to the Aquaduct. Standard spanish breakfast buffet, very large swimming pool.
Wireless was not strong enough in our room

Room Tip: If wireless is important to you - ask for a room close to an antenna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    250
    57
    18
    17
See reviews for
144
293
5
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of May to escape Madrid for a weekend. We had a lovely time, made full use of the spa and all of the available facilities. The spa is reasonably priced and a great place to come for some rest and relaxation.

The hotel is a little way out of town, not a problem as we took taxis there and back for a few euros. Very historic hotel with a nice bar area. Sadly not all of the bars and restaurants in the hotel were open the weekend we visited.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraD265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I spend the last 3 days at this "family owned " hotel and I was shocked by how awful it was!
How could a hotel host a conference without having a business centre! The wifi only worked in certain parts of the lobby and only intermittently.

The breakfast was hands down the worst I have ever had!
The lunches were mainly tinned food, emptied into disgusting bowls- everything was stale and old.
The dinner was so terrible that I would need therapy to forget it!

The rooms were not very clean and in desperate need of updating!
There are paintings of faceless people all over the hotel which gives it a very creepy feel!

There were however many pictures of the owner & his family.

I would never stay here again, I can't believe how terrible the service, the food and the rooms were- this hotel does not deserve any stars, let alone 4!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Bilt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spend 8 nights in this hotel at Eastern and the week before (the holy week). It takes 30 minutes (a nice walk) to reach the center and has a nice view into the mountains. A taxi was not expensive. We liked the quietness and the spa. Also the breakfast was very good and inclusive.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs have a little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PascalDeBilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the end of March when we were touring Segovia and the area north of Madrid. It was so nice to come "home" to this hotel each evening. I would strongly recommend this hotel. We booded a double room which was spacious, quiet and had a very nice bathroom. The buffet breakfast was excellently staffed and the food was very good. It is on the outskirts of Segovia but was an easy bus ride or taxi ride into town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaCurli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel belongs to the family of Restaurant Mesón de Cándido, it is quite a good hotel with big room, free car park and free wifi but wifi connection is not stable and shower water temperature is unstable. I talked to the staff and they promised to check it up but it did not get fixed. Be careful ! Do not burn yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

You need a car to get into Old Town but this hotel was a really great surprise. Rooms are huge, no noise and from the hotel parking lot it appeared to be very full the weekend that we were there. We ate in the restaurant which was very good but a little to expensive (relación calidad/precio). The Spa services were correct, nothing WOW, very nice pool and friendly personnel and clean installations. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
Hotel Spa La Casa Mudejar
#10 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Antonio el Real
1.7 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Candido

Property: Hotel Candido
Address: Avenida Gerardo Diego s/n, 40006 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
#6 Family Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Candido 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Candido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candido Hotel Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing