We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous find”
Review of Hotel Candido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Candido
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A fabulous find”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We too found the hotel Candido was much more than we expected. The welcome we received was very pleasant and informative. All the reception staff were very helpful and gave us good advice about the bus service too.
Our room, on the ground floor was palatial, with a very well appointed en suite bathroom. It even had its own private patio area. Although this was overlooking the open air pool, which was always very busy but did not detract from our enjoyment of the room. The air-conditioning and the 'free mini bar' were also a real treat - long may they both last.
We didn't dine at the hotel so cannot make any judgements on the food but the restaurant was always very busy and the setting both inside and out were simply sensational
Following the instruction from the receptionist we went into Segovia by the bus town. The bus stops just across the road from the main entrance to Candido and for one euro each we were taken into the heart of the old town, passing by the extremely famous and equally impressive Roman Aqueduct.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria1joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    278
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
170
312
5
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

spacious room with a private terrace, great terrace in a candlelit garden for dinner or drink, spa, open air swimming pool, professional service, very nice breakfast.

It is not in the center, so the best thing is to use a bus number 5 which runs every half hour on WE and more frequently during the week to get to the center - i did not find the walk scenic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaandMicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's location. Not because it is close to the centre of Segovia (about 30 mins walk) but it was close to where we needed to be a 7am for a hot air balloon ride (highly recommended). We paid €106 including breakfast. The room and bathroom were nice, clean fairly modern.We had a ground floor room with a small terrace. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which we did miss. There is a very nice garden in which to take a drink from the bar but it was closed and the one that was open was not as nice. We did not get to use the spa because we forgot to bring our swimming gear! The breakfast room was open until 11:30am on Sunday so where as we were expecting to not be able to make breakfast we were back from our balloon ride in time for a nice big breakfast with lots of gluten free choices. I would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I used Tripadvisor in putting together two great trips to Europe. The reviews were incredibly helpful, and I feel it’s only right to share our experience, so others can use it as well in planning their trip to Spain.

Candido is a beautiful hotel away from the chaos of the hill. The hotel feels French, I felt like I was back in Paris. It is a huge property. The room was really nice and spacious, and it was a relaxing quiet stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Some of the older guys in the bar/restaurant were just ok, but overall the staff was very nice.

One thing to be aware of, the wi-fi is really spotty. We had to call the front desk at least 5 times to reset the router, so we could get signal again. Many phones are using apps for texting & voice, so wi-fi is essential for keeping in touch with the outside world, and not paying international roaming fees.

Had a few good meals here. The food was excellent, as you would expect from a hotel that started in the restaurant business. Met the GM (son of the owner). He was a nice guy, and his wife & kids were there visiting him. I enjoyed our stay at Candido, and would definitely stay here again when traveling to Segovia. Thank you for taking good care of us :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesUnderMyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you arrive by fast train from Madrid to start your visit to Segovia, you might think you have arrived in the middle of nowhere.Don't panic. A service bus will be waiting and will drop you off opposite Hotel Candido which is in the new part of the town.The hotel is modern with and old annexe which houses the second of its two excellent restaurants. The hotel is beautifully furnished with large public areas that are elegant and comfortable. The rooms are huge and ours had a view of Segovia and the surrounding plain.There is a lot of new building in the area but it is quiet (probably due to the recession)The mini-bar containing water,soft drinks and beer was free (I've never seen this before)The bathroom was marble with twin basins and enclosures behind glass doors for the shower,toilet and bidet.
The breakfast was beautiful with a huge choice of fruit,pastries,meats,cheeses etc all served in the impeccable clean dining room.We ate once in the restaurant and found the food of the highest quality.Service throughout the hotel was very professional.
The hotel is a ten minute bus ride from the old centre of Segovia. If you take a taxi back after a late meal in town it will cost less than 7euros. If you catch the slow train back to Madrid, as we did the station for this is a twenty minute down hill walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurofoodieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our planning was to be there for just 1 day, but after see the hotel, the rooms and the dinner we have, we decided to spend 1 more day in the city. This hotel is really very nice. Rooms are enormous. It is furnished at clasical enviroment, and everything is lovely around. Take a look at the different rooms they have downstairs. Everything is very new. People are very nice. Don't miss the restaurant! First night we got dinner here, and food was really fantastic. very well cooked as well as served. Very proffesional staff, and really high quality food. Desserts and wine were the perfect complement for a perfect dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniStar477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were there for the international Giant convention. Everything was decent at the hotel. It was quite interesting though. Every morning for breakfast the staff would always have the worst looks on their faces as if they just didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
1.7 mi away
Parador de Segovia
Parador de Segovia
#4 of 25 in Segovia
1,035 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
Hotel Puerta de Segovia
#13 of 25 in Segovia
360 reviews
1.7 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
1.8 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Plaza Acueducto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Candido

Property: Hotel Candido
Address: Avenida Gerardo Diego s/n, 40006 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
#6 Family Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Candido 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Candido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candido Hotel Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing