We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“how did this hotel ever get 4 stars !?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palacio San Facundo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palacio San Facundo
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“how did this hotel ever get 4 stars !?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

this hotel sells itself on being in the centre of segovia. The room was appalling - dark - looked onto a wall about 2 feet away! carpet was at least 15 years old thin and worn. NO fridge . 2 single beds pushed together sold as a double room . Breakfast coffee was from a machine and we had to queue for it ! very disappointing continental breakfast - complete do it yourself .
Thank god we were there for only 1 night. I could never recommend this hotel. We had spent the previous 2 nights at an amazing Hilton in Toledo that was cheaper with fantastic restauarants, breakfast etc at a cheaper price !!??

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahpeacock553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    89
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
111
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent a few days in Galicia and then went to Segovia for one day. I wish we'd stayed longer in Segovia. This hotel was absolutely wonderful - very upscale but friendly, lovely amenities and perfectly located. A huge room and very quiet. We were leaving early in the morning, before breakfast, and they insisted that I get coffee and pastries to take with us for our ride to the Madrid airport. It is a little hard to find (at least it was the day we went, certain streets were blocked off) but worth it. About a 10 minute (max) walk to the Alcazar, very close to the cathedral and main square, and just minutes from the aqueduct. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is the third time we have visited Segovia and luckily this time we didn't stay on the Plaza Major. Our visit coincided with a fiesta which involved live music every night, starting at midnight!! The hotel is only a few minutes walk away but we couldn't hear a thing.

It is a well run hotel within the old walls of Segovia and therefore is a great location. It is perhaps not luxurious but comfortable and clean and reasonably modern. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and the choice at breakfast, excellent. In fact, although it was described as a Continental Breakfast, on Saturday and Sunday there were also cooked choices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmerelda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Yes, our view was the back of another building only a few feet away but we found the hotel quite nice. New or possibly newly remodeled and modern. Any way it was very fresh.
Yes, it was very quiet with relatively few guests but the room was light, airy and comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was ample with plenty of choices, hot and cold. With so few guests, I can imagine it would not be feasible to open for lunch or dinner; not with so many restaurant choices between the hotel and the nearby plaza mayor. Who wants to stay in the hotel to eat. They did keep coffee pot on until noon and I think the dinning room was open during that time for maybe a coffee or a croissant.



The staff is one of the most helpful I have ever encountered. When I broke my glasses, the receptionist personally walked me to the optical shop a couple of blocks away. They made phone calls for me, carried my bags upstairs and refused a tip. They addressed us by name each day. They were great.
Everything of interest in Segovia was within an easy walk and no steep hills that I recall.
The Roman aqueduct is almost next door.
The only reason I just rated it very good was because it was so darn quiet with little activity.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Just returned from a 3-night stay in the Palacio San Facundo and I highly recommend it.

The staff was gracious and helpful from the moment we arrived ( a group of 7), and had our rooms ready early. It was unexpected but very nice to be able to check in, shower, and unpack a bit.

The location was excellent, a close walk to everything, but almost in the residential area, which gave you a glimpse into how the locals live.

Breakfast was in a beautiful, airy and light room. It was a very nice buffet with endless freshly ground coffee (with heated milk, of course), cheeses, meats, cereals, yogurts, juices, and tortillas. The only down side is that most of the sweets (muffins, etc.) seemed to be store-bought. The service at breakfast was really great. We felt very taken care of, especially when I went down to the bar (same server!) to get a sandwich for my mother, who was suffering from jet lag. The server volunteered to bring the sandwich up to our room. It was a very nice gesture and much appreciated.

The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, in a modern style. Each bed had a bedside lamp, which I appreciate. The in-room frig/honor bar was perfect for cold drinks. There were three of us women sharing a room and we managed to fit two in the bathroom at once, so it, too, was a nice size.

The free wifi was nice, and very easy to connect.

We had some problems with the tour service coming to pick us up at the hotel, and the desk staff graciously called them, and the local police to help us with the correct permits. They even called our next hotel in Toledo to get information there. It's nice to stay at a hotel where the staff goes the extra mile!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travels_too_muchUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Well you can't fault the location and Segovia is a wonderful city to visit. The welcome is friendly, but when you get to your room you start to wonder if this is really four star. Views onto back walls of other buildings, twin beds shoved together instead of a double. And then you realise ( though you could have worked it out from the website but you didn't expect a four star hotel not to have it), there is no restaurant! There is a large cafe area in the centre of the hotel, but the selection of magazines is motley and ageing, and the furnishings combine into the impression of work carried out by the remedial class at the School for the Aesthetically Challenged. The fridge or whatever it is chunters away like an idling InterCity 125 at Paddington, the bar and welsh dresser for the breakfast produce look like they've been rescued from a 1970s sitcom, and the lighting is a tribute to, well, someone who thought Poundstretcher was too expensive.There ought to be a law that says if you fit strip lighting you are automatically relegated to one star. Oh, and there's only one waiter on duty, making sarnies as well as serving drinks, so you may have to spend some time gazing longingly at the largespraybottle of Windowlene left enticingly in the middle of the bar, wondering if you should drink it. Breakfast was a bit better mind, and we got the car out of the very tight fitting garage without harm, other than a whopping 18 euro extra on the bill.Tell you what, if i were you I'd hit the San Antonio, currently number one on Trip Advisor, but an awful lot better...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascain, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We booked in Palacio San Fecundo after having read reviews in TA.
The hotel is well located in the old town about 5 minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor.
We were given a room which smelled of smoke, although the hotel is a non smoker one, and were promptly upgraded to a better room which was OK but nothing really special.
The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was a buffet type affair and I would rate it as average. It was served in a beautiful covered patio. The general atmosphere was not very exiting because the hotel was almost empty during our stay.
I appreciated the underground parking but found it overpriced at € 18 for a night especially when I saw that other hotels on the plaza Mayor had special permission for their customer to park in front although the plaza is pedestrian.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpchoisne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Antonio el Real
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Segovia
Hotel Real Segovia
#3 of 25 in Segovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
Exe Casa de Los Linajes
#6 of 25 in Segovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio San Facundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio San Facundo

Property: Hotel Palacio San Facundo
Address: Plaza San Facundo 4, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Segovia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio San Facundo 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palacio San Facundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio San Facundo Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing