We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Converted hotel in quiet area of Segovia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palacio San Facundo
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Segovia
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Converted hotel in quiet area of Segovia”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel had come by recommendation, but I do agree with other Trip Advisor reviewers that it does lack something. The conversion of the building is quite stylish, but they have forgotten about some comforts one has come to expect of a 4 star hotel: character, drawers; comfortable chairs and a good lounge area. The breakfast actually is quite good, with local produce - I particularly liked the fresh figs and good olive oil. However the hotel could do themselves a favour and provide fresh coffee in a jug rather than the machine that is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    97
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
126
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

This is a modern hotel with well-appointed rooms arranged around the two story internal courtyard of the original 16th C house. The rooms are comfortable, but simple - no armchairs or minibars. Most have windows opening out onto the square or a side street, but some face the internal courtyard, now roofed over to provide a pleasant lounge bar and breakfast area. The location is quiet for a city centre, partly because there is limited traffic access. It is close to all of the sites. The lack of room furnishings is largely dictated by the structure of the building, but not having shelves or draws in the capacious built-in wardrobes is a limitation. Plumbing noises from upper rooms can also be intrusive. The breakfast is adequate, but not overwhelming, and the long-life orange juice is a disappointment. However, despite these limitations, this is a friendly, stylish, privately-owned hotel that can be highly recommended, and we look forward to staying here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is located in the old part of Segovia. It is well located and near the Plaza Major and the beautiful cathedral. Inside, the hotel has a modern contemporary feel. Our room was nicely appointed, air conditioned and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served in a glass atrium which also doubles as a bar. Staff pleasant. Would recommend as a place to stay in Segovia.

Room Tip: Room 203 facing front of hotel had a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bardy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is in a great location and is very central to all the main sights of Segovia. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. I wouldn't say it was a 4 star hotel though as the room was missing a mini bar and was quite basic and a bit tired. I'd say it was a good 3 star in a great city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel has a great location - tucked back in a quiet spot in the heart of Segovia, only a few minutes' walk from all the sites. The rooms are simple and clean, but not quite what I would expect for a '4 star' hotel or for the price. Service was fantastic and they even brought out some food for us before breakfast when we had to check out very early one morning. Our stay was good, but I would probably shop around if I was going to spend this much money on a room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed at the San Facundo for one night in May. The staff were very nice and helpful and did everything to answer my questions.

The interior is very elegant and stylish, but it has probably lost a bit of the sparkle it must have had when new. My room was a comfortable size; not really big, but in no way cramped. The bed was also very comfortable. As a pleasant surprise the room had a balcony overlooking the little green square in front of the hotel. It also had a safe with ample space for everything, as well as free wi-fi. There was no mini bar, though.

The weak point of the room was the rather poor soundproofing, so it's a good idea to bring earplugs if you want to sleep undisturbed by noise from the hallway and the other rooms.

The batroom was also big enough. However, there was no shower stall, only a bathtub with a rather narrow sheet of glass in front, so when I showered the water sprayed out over the floor. The counter and sink were made out of one thick sheet of glass with a big dip in the middle. Whereas this looks superbly elegant it's also rather impractical since the shape tends to cause water to splash over the edge, and it also looks rather dirty after you've used it.

The breakfast was rather average fare; no surprises either way.

The location is excellent. From here it's only a five minute walk to the Plaza Mayor.

All in all I quite liked the San Facundo, so I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Centrally located, with its own garage, nice room, very nice cafeteria, very friendly staff. We recommend it warmly

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank שמעון ב
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Segovia hotels
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Convento Capuchinos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Don Felipe
Hotel Don Felipe
#1 of 25 in Segovia
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infanta Isabel Hotel
Infanta Isabel Hotel
#4 of 25 in Segovia
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Segovia
Hotel Real Segovia
#2 of 25 in Segovia
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Candido
Hotel Candido
#7 of 25 in Segovia
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Plaza Acueducto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio San Facundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio San Facundo

Property: Hotel Palacio San Facundo
Address: Plaza San Facundo 4, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Segovia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Segovia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio San Facundo 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palacio San Facundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio San Facundo Segovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing