We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service in a pleasant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Recoletos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel is situated on a wide pedestrianised street that is bordered on the opposite side from the hotel by the Campo Grande park, the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main shopping areas and a few minutes walk from the airport bus stop or train station, an almost ideal location. We booked a superior room that had a separate sitting room and a balcony that overlooked the street and park, the room was excellent with comfortable beds, a bathroom that was supplied with a full range washing, shaving and dental care products and televisions in both the bedroom and sitting room. The breakfast buffet could cater for most tastes with cereals, fruit, hot cooked food, meats, cheese and breads etc. all good quality and well prepared. We found all the staff to be very pleasant and also both tolerant of and helpful with my schoolboy Spanish. We were particularly impressed by Paco the barman who was a real professional, the care he took and his technique making any drink, even a simple gin and tonic, was a pleasure to watch and an even greater pleasure to drink. The only slight negative occurred when I rang for a tray of tea at 7:30 on our last morning and was told that they couldn't deliver it until the restaurant opened at 08:00, I found this slightly strange as they had delivered a jug of hot water and cup for my partner to make a drink with at around midnight the previous evening within less than 5 minutes of our request, so I guess this may have been due to a language problem. Overall this was a well run hotel in a good location with pleasant helpful staff offering good value for money and certainly we would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greymanEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

This was a last-minute change of plan, as I had to get the train to Madrid the following day and the hotel is very close to the station. I stayed here about two years ago and if anything it has got better since. I'm not sure why it's described as a 'boutique' hotel: the foyer is very grand wth marble and mirrors, and there's a bar with snacks (there's also a more formal restarant but I haven't eaten there). The room was fab: huge, kingsize bed, large sofa and armchair, big workdesk with three sockets (count 'em) and free (!) high-speed wifi. Big, flat-screen TV with 20-30 channels including BBC World, spotless bathroom and automatic heating/air conditioning - a boon on a freezing-cold January night. Best of all was the room service (one of my little luxuries after a day's gruelling travelling), delivered in less than half an hour and served on a white linen table cloth with a bottle of the house red (er - and a large brandy). Just an excellent place, and at €105 a night (room only) it beats the living daylights out of much more pretentious hotels. I loved it, and I will be back.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the biggest and quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The last leg of our summer trip, we spent 3 nights here. The Ribera Del Duero wine region is half an hour drive from the city and the hotel can organise your visits to the bodegas in that region.

The hotel is located opposite the Campo Grande park and within easy walking distance of all the city centre has to offer.

We had a loft room with a velux window,the bed was huge, no roll together!! The room was well appointed with a marble bathroom. There was an internal courtyard which offered some tranquillity not too far from the hub bub of the city. It was a nice place to enjoy a drink before heading out for dinner.

The staff were exceptional and nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Hotel is situated on Calle de Recolectos opposite the park. This is always a plus for us.

Our room was spacious with a double bed. We looked out onto a small courtyard, not the main courtyard. This ensured a quiet room.

The breakfast selection and quality in the 1st floor dining room is excellent. The pavement cafe is a good place for a snack lunch and drink. It is great to relax and watch the passers-by. The main courtyard and bar are private and a good spot for afternoon and pre-dinner drinks.

The railway station is a few hundred metres away. The express train to Madrid takes 1h and 5 minutes. Watch for pickpockets at the station! One of our group was robbed.

The Plaza Mayor is a few minutes walk in the other direction. There are excellent restaurants in the vacinity.

Room Tip: I think I would avoid rooms facing Calle de Recolectos. This is not from personal experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

very elegant hotel,spacious well fitted bedrooms and bathrooms,very clean
plenty of choice for breakfast
perfect base for exploring local bodegas,on average a 30 mins drive away
easy walk into the heart of the town with plenty of restaurants and bars
a lovely park opposite to walk through and cool off from the heat of the day

Room Tip: best rooms at front of hotel facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I've been to Valladolid several times, for attending the SEMINCI international film week. By far, this is the best hotel I've stayed in Valladolid. When it opened as a Tryp hotel I found it terrific. A few years have passed and the hotel is as good as it was. Well kept, clean, big rooms, good service, nice breakfast, really comfortable beds, relaxing decor... and the location is perfect. Very convenient for the shopping streets, railway station, cinemas and Plaza Mayor area with its bars and restaurants, where you can find some of the finest tapas and Ribera del Duero wines in Spain. On the other hand it is in a pedestrianised street, in front of the main park in the city, so noise is not a problem for sleeping.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
Thank LUISF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

A pleasant hotel, situated close to the park, but on a quiet road. The room was spacious, although the TV was a bit old fashioned. No real complaints overall, although I'd say that this isn't really what I'd think of as "boutique", more of a well appointed, quite large hotel.

Quite a classy bar with a nice courtyard.

Breakfast was good, if not particularly cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Hotel Boutique Gareus
#1 of 39 in Valladolid
555 reviews
2.3 mi away
AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Ana
1.1 mi away
NH Valladolid Balago
NH Valladolid Balago
#4 of 39 in Valladolid
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Valladolid
Novotel Valladolid
#8 of 39 in Valladolid
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Coloquio
Hotel El Coloquio
#7 of 39 in Valladolid
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silken Juan de Austria
Silken Juan de Austria
#6 of 39 in Valladolid
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Recoletos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Recoletos Hotel

Address: Calle Acera Recoletos 13, 47004 Valladolid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Valladolid
#2 Green Hotel in Valladolid
#2 Luxury Hotel in Valladolid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valladolid
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Recoletos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Recoletos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing