We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service, horrible smell.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments
Ranked #141 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We arrived at the apartment at the time we were given and told not to be late, in fear of incurring a late fee and upon arrival we were told that the room wasn't ready and that we would have to leave for another hour and a half. Tired and exhausted from the flight, we left. When we came back there were problems with payment- as the reception woman could not work the credit card machine. Her attitude was short and surly and made us feel unwelcome and like we were a nuisance. When we arrived in our room, albeit clean, had a very distinct, pungent smell, coming from the wall behind the rubbish bin, which made it quite unpleasant to be in the room with the door shut.
When it came time to leave, check out was at 11am, and we were told we were to be out by that time, but bond wouldn't be able to be collected until 1- meaning we had to stay in the area for 2 hours.
When we eventually got our bond back, it was given to us by a woman, who was on the phone and waved the money at us- without looking up from her phone call or even acknowledging our presence. Very rude and gave us a negative impression of the people in that company. Would not recommend this place to anyone visiting Barcelona for the first time. To top it off, incredibly overpriced for the value.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillieRuckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eleni126, Owner at Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We apologise the issue with this receptionist, that currently has been replaced. Regarding the bond, you can pick up the deposit immediately at 11.00 am on the day of departure if you pay in cash or automatically if you pay the deposit of 150 euros by credit card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Two couples, just spent 6 nights here in February, completely enjoyed our stay, and would recommend it to others as well. Also appreciated the unexpected free upgrade to a larger 3 bedroom with Las Ramblas view.
Pros: Great location, hard to beat at any price. Near everything. ATM and grocery store almost next door. Good security. Need 3 keys to get to the apartment- One for the front gate, one for the apartment building, and a third key to finally get into the apartment. Not easy to get in even with keys, let alone without them, so you can leave your stuff out without worry. No unsavory characters hanging around either. Taxi stand right out in front, Metro station about a block away. Very comfortable beds.
Cons: Finding the place, getting in, and registering is a little confusing the first time, so actually READ the provided instructions carefully to avoid problems. Whoever sweeps the floors is overpaid. The handheld showers in both bathrooms were inconvenient and difficult to use due to hoses being too short and shower arms poorly placed. The maintenance dude should try out his plumbing before completion. No coffee pot was in the apartment. There was NO washing machine available on premises as was advertised on their website. Laundromat is conveniently located a couple blocks away, an easy walk. The apartments are bracketed by Las Ramblas on one side, Plaza Reial on the other, one side full of pedestrians and traffic, the other full of clubs and restaurants. Yes, its noisy, all night long, until about sunrise. Get over it and bring some ear plugs if it bothers you, or spend a lot more money for someplace a lot further away from all the action. Hey, its LAS RAMBLAS!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The apartments are great, spacious, safe, very good beds, especially pillows, double beds ONLY in all apartments, just on the down side- we could not check out earlier than 11 am as the apartments should be checked before you get your deposit back, and we had to take out our rubbish too, all thou we paid extra 30 euro for cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dovile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

basic accommodation, but comes out very economical as it is an apartment, so no per-head charges, comes with a kitchen. finding the unit was not that easy but since we were met by someone to take us to the unit, it was alright.
it was the first time i booked online for a non-hotel accommodation, so it felt kinda weird when we arrived to meet with a stranger. but communication was done with paul and he was very helpful in answering all questions prior to our arrival, so that made it less awkward, knowing what to expect.
paul didn't mention though that rooms could be very far apart... and my sister and her friend were billeted in a room that seemed like another building. not that convenient if you want to "be together" after hours.
it's a different kind of set up... (booking and paying without a counter to transact). but if you're not looking for room service and are there to sightsee, it's worth it ;)

Room Tip: units are in different locations of the complex. communicate well prior to booking so you get what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istop4streetfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I had a very nice stay, friendly staff and very useful information upon arrival. Thank you Paul for your friendly check in. The location is just amazing, right on Las Ramblas, at the seaside, by Liceu and Plaza Reial. The only issue is that the reception is open normally from 10.00 am to 4.00 am, so we arrived at 9.00 am in the morning because of an early flight, so we had to request special hour to let us into the reception and leave our luggage into the luggage room.
There are amenities, high quality pillows (visco) and beds.. kitchen is well furnited.

Room Tip: Request for views or quiet rooms, there are both options, but no quiet with views, because it faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Conveniently located in Barcelona's central tourist sites, this apartment is easily within reach to the main attractions, shopping district, supermarket and restaurants. We stayed in a four bedder apartment during a low season week so pretty much had the apartment to ourselves. It offers the basic accommodation, accessible to a shared kitchen and private balconies to most rooms. As it was a corner unit apartment to a busy side street with bars and restaurants, it can get a little noisy during the night.

On overall, Las Ramblas apartment offers the basic necessity, it's main positive aspect is the convenience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveEatExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed a week at above apartments we were two couple sharing we had a big apartment divided in two with two separate entrance in one main door, so we had our privacy to ,kitchen was in apart 3a and tv in 3b but each apart had their own bathroom, we were on the 5th fllor with a terrace looking onto the las ramblas. The apartments were in a great location, they were average furnished but who cared we were there too sleep only and it was handy for breakfast and sometimes we had lunch there. Fabio and Marco were supberb very nice and genuine

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#220 of 519 in Barcelona
1,730 reviews
El Raval
MH Apartments Liceo
MH Apartments Liceo
#461 of 519 in Barcelona
97 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#205 of 519 in Barcelona
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#110 of 519 in Barcelona
2,673 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 519 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Bas Apartments Barcelona
Bas Apartments Barcelona
#5 of 738 in Barcelona
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments

Address: Ramblas 42, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £96 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bacardi Palace, a Colonial property built in the 1850s for the Marquess de Bacardi located at the hottest spot of Barcelona, right in Las Ramblas and behind Plaza Reial. Despite its modern facilities the property has retained its character, dating back to when Cerda and Gaudi started to build the new city of Barcelona. We look forward to welcoming you to the Bacardi Palace.The apartments have been newly refurbished, with queensize double beds, private closets and a living room with excellent views over Las Ramblas or Plaza Reial. There's a fully-equipped private kitchen for preparing your own meals, and a new private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Ramblas Bacardi Apartments Hotel Barcelona
Las Ramblas Passatge Bacardi Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing