We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break to Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #84 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Fabulous chic modern hotel close to La Ramblas and Market. But quiet and clean, with very helpful staff. Great breakfast. Highest recommendation I can give is that when we return to Barcelona, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We can only say: Thank you very much for your great and kind review! We are very grateful indeed! We hope to see you soon at Hotel Curious! We'll be here for your anytime you come to Barcelona!

Kindest regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Excellent small hotel that has everything you need for your stay. Great small room, very clean and quiet (our room was facing the back of the street).
Great location and the breakfast is included (continental).
The staff is extremely helpful and answer any question you may have.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many many thanks for your nice review on TripAdvisor! Your opinions are very important to us.

Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon again at our place, in the heart of the city!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have struggled with how to describe my stay....Location is great.....Room and bath are clean but small even by European standards. Staff is very friendly and helpful, Breakfast is adequate. We always say "we are only going to sleep there".....and here is the rub......the mattress was so hard I woke up in the middle of the night in some pain from the mattress and struggled to go back to sleep. If we had been staying for more than one night I am not sure we could have managed. A memory foam mattress topper would do wonders.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BK1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. Our guests opinions make all us improve our work and be better everyday.

Hotel Curious, as you defined very well, is a small and cozy boutique Hotel located in an ancient building at the very heart of Barcelona (next to Las Ramblas, 5 minutes walk from Plaza Cataluña and 10 minutes walk from the sea - beaches, the olimpic port...). It makes our hotel the best starting point in the morning, after a great and yummy breakfast that we include in our prices: just made pastries everyday, juices, coffee, different kinds of bread, iberic cured ham, cheese, jam... It is so complete that it will make your day!

Our lovely hotel is well known for offering our guests all information and recommendations they need: maps, culture, history, where to eat/go shopping/see flamenco shows... We try to do our best to make their stay with us in our city the best ever.

Regarding the mattress, we would like to add that they are very new and we chose the ones that we considered more comfortable, which may be a little hard for some people, but the vast majority of guests are very happy with them, as soft mattress can be very painful and dangerous for the vertebral column.

Despite this, we know you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The room for one person was tiny yet adequate and clean. It was however next to the elevator which sounded like and incessant jack hammer. The hotel Montecarlo is much better, three times the size with a spa bath in a single room and depending how far in advance you book can be cheaper.

Room Tip: Get a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooneelsehasthisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. It always help us to improve our work day after day.

We are honored to be compared with Hotel Montecarlo, but Montecarlo is a 4 star hotel and we have one star. It is another type of accomodation.

We are very sorry that the noise of the elevator disturbed your rest. It was thought and built to be very silent, but if you have a light sleep it can be annoying. However, this is the first time we have a complaint about it.

Despite this, we hope you had a great stay with us at Hotel Curious and we really hope to see you soon again!!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed for three nights - and were impressed with the great staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the central location. Just around the corner from the main food market, La Boqueria, and just off the bust La Ramble. Loads of great shopping nearby and close to transport for all the main tourist attractions, and a walk away from the beach. The lobby has vendy machines for drinks and one for smokers, should you need it - they have thought of all the little touches, including free WiFi. Ask the staff for their expert advice to help you make the most of the wonderful city of Barcelona.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was nice - could smell the locals cooking on their rooftop terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nientetutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

What a lovely review you wrote about us! We are very happy that you enjoyed so much or Hotel! It's been a pleasure to have you as our guests!

We really celebrate that you had a great stay with us: Our main priority is to help make your stay as perfect as possible. We are glad that you could make the most of your time in Barcelona.

Once again, thank you so much! We are very looking forward to seeing you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I had a wonderful 5 nights stay in the Hotel Curious it is in the perfect location for your holiday in Barcelona, I could not fault anything about it. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and this was a huge bonus especially when travelling alone. I will definately be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gar2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some minutes of your time to write a great review about Hotel Curious! We are very happy that you had such a great stay with us and we are willing to welcome you back soon!

Our best regards from Barcelona!

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Hotel Curious is in a great location, and the rooms have been recently updated, so the place has a clean, modern look with a pleasant ambience. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. There was free WiFi, and everything about the place worked smoothly. Having stayed at hotels only a block over in the Ramblas, we can also attest to the fact that Hotel Curious is in the perfect location. It is not on the Ramblas itself but only minutes away, which means that the rooms in the hotel are quiet, which they surely aren’t when you’re staying on the Ramblas. There was some construction going on in the building attached to the Hotel Curious, which led to some noise during the day. But that is temporary. In short, the Hotel Curious is a wonderful place to stay in Barcelona and a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesH064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review on TripAdvisor about our place.

We would like to remind all our future guests that the works in the linking building are very advanced and will be finished definitely on June 2012 (this month!). However, nowadays noises are very slight and almost imperceptible. We are very happy and relieved!

As you already pointed out, WiFi and breakfast are for free, and we are only 1 minute walk from Las Ramblas and 5-8 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya!

Thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Thank you so much and

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#205 of 519 in Barcelona
1,007 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 519 in Barcelona
1,772 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 519 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 519 in Barcelona
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £56 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing