We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #86 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We were finishing a 5 week tour of Spain Morocco and Portugal with four nights in Barcelona. Hotel Curious was recommended by a Friend and I am glad he did. Yes the rooms are small but it is an inner city hotel, what do you expect. The decor is all new and well done, a good use of new materials in an old building. The loca tigon is fantastic and the staff very service orientated to helping their clientele experience the city offerings. All the staff were pleasant, even the cleaners offering a smile and hola.
Over all ten out of ten well done to Hotel Curious.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Our guests opinions always help us to improve! We hope you had a great time in Barcelona, which according to your words we think you did, and we really look forward to wecoming you again! We are so glad your friend recommended our hotel to you!!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Curious
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our room was comfortable and very clean - the air conditioning was quiet and efficient and the shower was good and strong. Our room faced onto the street but we werent disturbed by any noise. Two minutes away from las ramblas, the metro, the food market, and some excellent local eateries. The staff were extremely helpful, and everyone was very pleasant and greeted us with a friendly smile and a warm welcome. Breakfast was tasty and plentyful. All in all, a great place to stay and we will certainly be back. Thank you to all the hotel staff.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, in room 401.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wandering_Scot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a great review about our place on TripAdvisor! We celebrate that you had a great time in Barcelona and a great experience with us and we hope to see you very soon!

Looking forward to welcoming you any time you wish!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed in a twin room on the first floor in October 2012. The room was small-ish but adequate for two people and two reasonable sized suitcases. The room was modern and clean but with minimal "comforts" as in no couch (just a folding chair) and only basic bathroom amenities. The hotel is in a fantastic location, just off the ramblas (it is quieter off the ramblas but still not completely silent) and easy walking distance to Catalunya square which is the central hub of Barcelona. I can not think of a better location for a busy tourist attempting to cover Barcelona in three days! The hotel is great value for money as it is clean, modern, offers free internet and all rooms include breakfast (usual continental breakfast). I would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Hotel Curious team, we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers planning to come soon in Barcelona.

We hope to see you soon again any other time you come to our city!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

If you are looking for a hotel close to Las Ramblas and tourist destinations in Barcelona. Check this one out. Good value for money. Excellent location. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Free wi-fi is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellingtonian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Curious before getting on the Ruby Princess for a cruise at the end of Sept 2012. We found the location to be the best part of the hotel, well within walking distance to Las Ramblas and everything we wanted to see. We were even able to walk to the shuttle bus to take us to the ship without too much trouble. The staff were good, very friendly and quite helpful on things to do and see in the area. We were quite lucky as we were on the top floor in room 401 which after seeing the floor plans of the other rooms was quite large in comparison. In fact if we weren't in that room then our review probably wouldn't be as good. Our room wasn't huge but was compared to the others around us. Ask for this room or similar on lower floors if you can. There was a bit of street noise while sleeping which wasn't good and a bit surprising considering the hotel is off a small street but that might have been the price to pay for having a larger room! Don't get excited about the breakfast especially if you're use to Australian or American types of buffets as it's not up to much. You get something to eat but that's about all. For the price is was good and overall we were satisfied but not i we didn't get the same room again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Our guests opinions let us all know to improve in our daily work, how to do it better.

Regarding the rooms, we would like to point our that all our twin rooms face Carme Street and they are very beautiful and slightly bigger that the double rooms with balcony, which face the backyard and can be a bit more silent. However note that all our rooms have double glass windows, and normally all our guests tell us that the quality of sleep is very good. Noise coming from the street is almost always imperceptible.

Once again, thank you so much for your comments and we really look forward to welcomig you any other time at Hotel Curious!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Curious for several days at the end of September and beginning of October, both pre- and post cruise. We loved the location, found the hotel very clean and well run. The front desk staff was very helpful with a number of questions. Breakfast was pretty good. Our only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that the rooms and baths are pretty tiny with few places to put away clothes and toiletries. This probably would have made little difference if we were just staying for a long weekend, but our entire trip was two weeks and we had quite a bit of stuff. A couple new pillow-top mattresses would also have been nice. But all in all, it is a good place and we would recommend it, but also point out how spartan it is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor. We celebrate that you had such a great stay at Hotel Curious.

Regarding the size of our rooms, we believe they are not very bug but they are the right size and very comfy and equipped with all the necessary for a wonderful stay in the city center. However, we take good note of what you suggested abou the space for putting away clothes and towels on the bathroom. We will try to improve what you suggest. We are very grateful for your idea.

Once again, thank you so much for your nice review and we look forward to welcoming you very soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Can't see how this place got such a high rating on Trip Advisor. Yes, it's clean and close to Las Ramblas but the rooms are really tiny and I wasn't over impressed by the front desk staff. Having stayed at several other nearby hotels I don't see Hotel Curious as any better, except the price is less but then it is a 2 star after all. The included breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. Hard boiled eggs, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt - not what I'd call a hearty breakfast. The room was very clean but no view - the balcony was in an enclosed courtyard with the opposite building about 15 ft away meaning there was no privacy. Don't think I'd stay here again. I stayed at the Royal Ramblas the previous year and it was worth the little extra I paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakerchief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experiece on TripAdvisor about our Hotel in the heart of Barcelona.

We are deeply sorry to hear that Hotel Curious did not meet your expectations. We feel responsible for this as our main priority is doing our best daily to make our guests stays their best ever in Barcelona, and this is reiterated by our customers, most of whom are very happy with the deal and service received by all our staff and the quality found in our establishment.

Breakfast is very complete: eggs, different kinds of bread, jam, butter, chocolate, cured ham, cheese, fresh chopped fruit, milk, two different types of coffee, tea, cold and hot water, cereals, juices, iogourts of all flavours, and even just made bakery (croissants, doughnuts...).

Regarding the views, we want to point out that half of our double rooms face the street and the other half do face the backyard (it depends on if they are twin or double), and all of them have wonderful balconies.

Our front desk, open 24h, is always willing to help all our guests on anything they need. They even provide maps with current information about activities in the city, tourist atractions, restaurants...

We really look forward to welcoming you any other time to show you made the right decision when choosing Hotel Curious for your stay in our city.

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#90 of 513 in Barcelona
567 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#200 of 513 in Barcelona
984 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#242 of 513 in Barcelona
657 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £69 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing