We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Hotel Curious!”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #81 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at Hotel Curious!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Curious during our time in Barcelona and we can honestly stay we couldn't have picked a better hotel. First of all, the location was excellent. We were 1 block away from Las Ramblas and about a 10-20 minute walk from the beach-front at Barceloneta (go to the Salamanca restaurant for a delicious seafood dinner while you're there, but it's a bit on the pricier side, but worth it).

The hotel staff was extremely welcoming and went out of their way to help us find good restaurants and fun things to do within our budget. They also told us which tourist traps to avoid. The hotel is extremely clean and you can't beat the fact that breakfast was included with our stay. Although the rooms are small, they're very efficiently designed and have a very cool/modern feel and our room had a little balcony too (not sure if all the rooms have that).

We would definitely stay there again, without a doubt. Highly recommended to anyone on a budget who values location and being in a cool boutique hotel and saving your $$ to spend on all the cool things you can do in Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    531
    100
    11
    7
See reviews for
241
748
159
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It's a good hotel, great location (walking distance from the airport bus stop at Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas), great breakfast, very clean, and the staff (all of them) were brilliant and very helpful. Laura, I believe, gave us a recommendation for a great tapas bar which was well worth the 20 mins walk!! I would go there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelle_uk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your recent visit and also for dedicating some minutes of your time to write a lovely review about us!

We are so glad you enjoyed Laura's recomendation. All our staff live and love Barcelona, so they know very well the city and can suggest hidden gems, those that you know only if a friend tells you.

We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
des plaines illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent three nights pre-cruise at the Hotel Curious and couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. The rooms are impeccable... small, yes, but we had a little balcony which was nice to hang out some laundry. There was plenty of space to keep our things. The staff, as mentioned by many reviewers, is outstanding. Breakfast was put out very early for us two mornings as we had plans to take the train outside of the city. The location is perfect - a short walk to the metro, La Rambla and the Gothic quarter. The day we left for our cruise, we forgot an important medical item at the hotel. Mateo was at the curb with it when we pulled up in the taxi, rushing to get back to the cruiseport on time (which we did!). Do not hesitate to stay here. It is not luxury, but it fits the bill when it comes to service, affordability, location, location, location!

Room Tip: Email your request to the hotel ahead of time and they will do their best to acccomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraespanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your choosing us in Barcelona, and also for your lovely review. We are deeply glad that you had a great experience in our boutique hotel and we really hope to see you soon again!

My best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hotel Curious, in late June. It's a no frills place, with small, sparsely furnished, but clean, rooms. For us it was a place to put our heads down at night and no more, so it met our needs perfectly well and at an affordable price in this expensive city.

The key benefit of staying at the Hotel Curious is its central location. You are on a (relatively) quiet street, less than 2 minutes from Las Ramblas, so very central, making the whole central city walkable from your accommodation. In a short stay holiday, this is really important to us. We used public transport (train, then Metro) to reach our accommodation and it was about a 5-7 minute walk from the Metro station Liceu, which is the nearest stop. A word of warning about travel in Barcelona. We used the Metro and train to get back to the airport at the end of our visit and even though it was pretty efficient and cheap, even on a Sunday morning it took us about 90 minutes to reach the airport, because our flight went from the terminal not served by the train, so a free courtesy bus ride was also necessary. When we eventually reached the airport, we were faced with the most chaotic airport check in I have seen in 30 years of travel. So don't cut things too fine!

The rooms we had faced onto the street but noise was not an issue and the air conditioning worked well. Beds were firm, but comfortable. As with many Spanish hotels, for a double room, you get 2 large singles pushed together.

Breakfast was just fine, pretty typical 2* hotel fare, with English/American/continental tastes catered for.

Overall, a clean, comfortable, if somewhat unmemorable hotel, that met our needs perfectly adequately, but don't expect the Ritz!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simoncobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. All our guests opinions are the most important thing for us, as they help us imporve in our daily work.

As you mentioned, Hotel Curious is not a luxury hotel. It is a lovely and cute one-star rated hotel in Barcelona city center. All our rates include a complete and varied breakfast to star the day full of energy.

We would like to thank you so much for choosing us, and we hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel Curious has a very helpful staff. Smallish rooms, but all you need if you aren't too messy with your things. Whatever you do though, don't order a taxi through the people at the front desk. They have some sort of "system" going with local taxi drivers where it looks as if they are getting a "cut" from the driver. We saw it three times on a recent trip where there was a slight of hand exchange between the cab driver and the person working the front desk. You end up waiting way longer for your taxi and the taxi driver usually screws you over. Not a good feeling when the staff should be on your side helping you not get ripped off. We had taxi drivers taking much longer routes to the destinations and then when going to the airport charging much more than they should be. It left a very bad taste in our mouths and would try a different hotel the next time we are in Barcelona because of it. If you do go to Hotel Curious, just walk out the door and flag a taxi. They come by all the time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for visiting Hotel Curious and writing such a nice review about us on TripAdvisor. Regarding your words, we're so glad that you had a great stay in our place. We always try to do our best to make our guests feel like home.

Regarding the incident you had with the taxi driver that took you to the airport, I would like to inform you that all taxis here in Barcelona are a public service (they are not private companies, but associations of taxi drivers), so they all have the same rates and rules. If you had a problem with a concrete taxi driver you should inform us, and we will try to find him and talk to the association he belogs to, and ask for responsabilities. In ANY case, the ride to the airport is more expensive or cheaper depending on where you take the taxi. It is the same price if we order the taxi from the reception or if you take it in the street in a taxi stop. The price is completely the same. If there is an incidence, it is easier if they belong to the "company" that we work with, as we can find the driver that took you to the airport, talk to him or fine him.

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands TX (North Hou)
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Nice hotel, with central location. Smallish rooms but plenty of space for us as we were out in town most of the time. Clean. Friendly front desk staff. Great breakfast selection, ham/cheese, rolls, yogurt, fresh fruit, boiled eggs. Plenty of coffee. Very close to Las Ramblas but on a side street with mostly foot traffic. Felt safe at night in this location.

Room Tip: We were on floor 2 with small balcony to the street. Some street noice, as I would expect in this lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXsketcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on T.A. Easy to find after our journey from Cambrils.Our room 406 was clean, quiet , dark and warm, all we wanted. After a hectic day in Barcelona our bed was only a short, safe walk from the middle of the Rambla. The city is very big so we used the tourist buses to see the sights and architecture of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
549 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#145 of 512 in Barcelona
922 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#205 of 512 in Barcelona
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 512 in Barcelona
2,054 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
859 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#49 of 512 in Barcelona
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Property: Hotel Curious
Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing