We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOCATION!!!!”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #78 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Austin,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOCATION!!!!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very clean and functional hotel that's about 100 steps away from La Rambla ; one block from La Bogueria (must see); 50m from Metro(subway) and about 150-200m from Catalunya Plaza. (Metro, Hop-on Hop-Off, Airport Express Bus, shopping mall, etc) Our room has a very cute small balcony. The two-twin-beds room is not super big, but clean and comfy. Don't be fooled by the 1-star "rating". It is by far better and cleaner feel than your average La Quinta in the U.S. (quality wise, not room size) If you plan on staying in the hotel room most of the time, this is not the hotel for you. But if you just need a nice, clean, and comfy beds to crash at night, you will be very happy with Hotel Curious. Can not say enough about the location! Free breakfast includes cold meats, hard boiled eggs, croissants, danish, toasts, cereals, oat meals, milk, coffee, juice, yogurt, and fruits. Staffs are super friendly and helpful!!! Free WiFi throughout hotel, and free use of computer at lobby. I will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awan460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely words on your review about Hotel Curious! We are so happy to read that you had a great time in our city.

Our little boutique hotel is in Barcelona city center, as you pointed out, and this makes Hotel Curious a great spot to start your day in the city. Breakfast, WIFI, lobby computer for free for all our geusts - of course!

Once again, thank you so much for trusting us! We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

All the best from all staff at Hotel Curious,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    520
    99
    11
    6
See reviews for
239
732
154
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just off the Ramblas, but very quiet, this hotel was just what we wanted in Barcelona. From the time we booked the service was excellant and this continued after we arrived. The hotel was clean, breakfast was good and the information provided very helpful. In fact I used the suggested itinerary more than my guide book. We would certainly use this hotel again and have already recommended it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morag g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We're so happy to hear you found a comfy room and pleasant stay at Hotel Curious!

As you said, Hotel Curious is right off Las Ramblas, behind Boqueria's Market (the city center), only 5 minutes walk from Catalonia and Liceu Metro Station. Our staff speak 3 or 4 languages ​​and they try to help our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagin, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights & have re-booked before we fly out. Fantastic location, nice breakfast, clean room & very friendly, helpful staff. We also used a laundry Wash & Dry on Costas (turn left out the door, walk past the hospital & go right at the butcher shop- it's along this street), my husband left 90€ in his pocket & the guy returned it & folded the washing!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris-Moroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review! We are very happy to read that you had a lovely stay in our place, that's the most important for us!

As you said, Hotel Curious is in the middle of two metro stations, green line and red line, so getting to the most famous attractions is extremely easy.

We hope to see you soon at Hotel Curious!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I spent one week at the Hotel Curious last Nov-Dec, my second visit in Barcelona and the first in this hotel Curious. The hotel is located right in the middle of the touristic and at walking distance from most interested places to visit, and close by the sea. on a small and very quiet lateral street of the famous La Rambla. From the airport, you take the AeroBus (only 6 euros) and 25 min later (last stop) you arrive at the Catalunya Placa, which is 10 min walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is relatively simple but cheap, the rooms are small but charming and clean. Anyway, in Barcelona there are so many things to visit during the day or to enjoy in the evening that you will not spend much time in your room. Most importantly, the service is excellent and the people at the lobby (who usually speak 2 or 4 languages) are very helpful for the organisaton of your daily excursions or for recommending the best places to eat. They have only one star but I would give them 3 stars because of the service, kindness of the people and cleanliness of the hotel. On my preceeding trip I left in tree stars and more expensive hotel but really I enjoy much my stay at the cheaper hotel Curious. Best to reserve the room as soon as possible before the start of your trip.

Room Tip: My room (single 205) was at the back side and at the 3d floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenrigParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your choosing us in Barcelona, and also for your lovely review.

As you pointed out, Hotel Curious is just 5 minutes walk from Aerobus stop in Plaza Catalunya. This is the easiest way to come to the hotel, located right in Barcelona city center.

We are deeply glad that you had a great experience in our boutique hotel and we really hope to see you soon again!

My best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I chose Hotel Curious based on tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed! The hotel is located on a quiet street off Las Ramblas, about a 10 min walk from where the Aerobus dropped me off at Plaza Catalunya. It is centrally located, very close to shops, restaurants and sights... there is even a grocery store across the street! I was allowed an early check in, and my room was upgraded. The room was a good size, and the bathroom spacious... both areas were very clean. Breakfast was more than adequate... a great start to a long day of sightseeing! The hotel was secure, the staff friendly and helpful. I had an early flight the day of my departure and the staff had breakfast ready for me at 3:30am! I hope to return to Barcelona and would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for such a lovely review you wrote about Hotel Curious!
As you said, cleaning is very important for us, so all our rooms and the whole Hotel itself is cleaned daily. We are so glad you liked our breakfast, free WIFI and location, it really is the perfect point to start the day.

We'd like to thank you very much for trusting us, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

My best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

While we have visited Spain several times this was the first trip to Barcelona (4 days). Hotel Curious is just 100m off Rambla in the thick of that district of shops and restaurants. I have never found a hotel staff more helpful. They understood our mobility limitations as a senior couple. Restaurant recommendations were right on the mark and obviously not just the popular tourist places. While spartan, the staff and location more than made up for this. Room was large and comfortable. We like the rooms that face Carme, particularly the upper floors. WiFi works well and is free. Security was excellent as no one can enter with out being seen by the front desk and they seem to know all the guests by name after check-in. A small frig would have been a nice addition. Best value we have seen in a long time. Don' miss the lunch counter in the market (entrance from Carme, 50M) or Rambla). It will be the one with a crowd waiting. You have to wait for a stool but the vegetables and sea food are outstanding

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor room facing Carme
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HCStroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Sirs,

Wow, first of all thank you very much for choosing Hotel Curious among so many hotels in Barcelona for your first visit to our beloved city. We are very honoured to have been the ones who introduced you so many things Barcelona can offer.

As you said, WIFI and breakfast are free. When you come to Hotel Curious there are no extra-surprises: your stay is complete and you know the price from the begining. And our staff... is always willing to help you so do not hesitate to ask us anytime you wish. We're here for this!

We hope to welcome you another time soon!

Thank you so much!

Our best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#148 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Property: Hotel Curious
Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing