We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service of a 5 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #78 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service of a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best hotel during a month long trip....Perfect location....close to the market and Las Rumblas....yes rooms are small but this is a one star hotel...but they have great shelves for luggage....rooms are very quiet....stayed here on three occasions during this trip....Best of all was the service of all staff especially Mateo. I kept telling Mateo he gave 5 star service....This is a gem of a hotel....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We can't be happier when we read that our guests had a great time with us!

Reviews like this encourage us to continue working to satisfy our guests every day.

We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service.

Moreover, our staff makes always an effort to make your stay in Barcelona as pleasant as possible and they are always taking care of you.

We really hope to see you again at Hotel Curious. You know where your home is in Barcelona!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    520
    99
    11
    6
See reviews for
239
732
153
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As other reviewers point out, this is a basic hotel. We found our room for 3 on the 4th floor to be a little tight, especially the bathroom, but we didn't spend much time there. When booking my stay (based on Trip Advisor reviews), the credit card number didn't go through on their secure booking form. They emailed me right away and it was indeed flagged as fraud because it was billing in Spain. I alerted my bank that the charge was going through and they suggested an easy way to resend the information securely rather than having me call. The staff let me know right away that everything went through this time.

Their website & blog is good information to review before you plan your itinerary in Barcelona & again the staff was very helpful answering my email question about timing our Sagrada Familia ticket time based on breakfast and transportation. A few days before we arrived, I received a welcome email with logistics about how to get to the hotel from the airport which was most appreciated.

Overall, we would stay here again if we find ourselves back in Barcelona. And I hope we will return to this beautiful city for a longer stay next time. PS - the bakery a few doors down was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSCMSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our little hotel with other travel lovers on TripAdvisor

We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service...

As you pointed out, we love social networks, so we are 24h online, as well as offline (in our front desk!) so we try to take good care of our guests, even before they arrive in Barcelona!

Thank you for choosing and trusting us, among so many other hotels in Barcelona. We are so glad you had such a great time that you would like to come back!

Our best regards from all staff at Hotel Curious!

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness Ziona, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

one star hotel. we stayed 4 nights in the hotel. the location is fantastic, the rooms are clean and simple (but smalls ). the breakfast is nice. the staff was very helpful and kind. great for couples or business trip. families will need 2 rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gal1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we are very thankful that you chose Hotel Curious for your stay in Barcelona, and want to thank you for this wonderful review you left us here on TripAdvisor. Our guests satisfaction has always been our main priority and words like yours make us feel very good and proud of our daily work.

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms have a right size, we believe. And they are completely equipped with all necessary amenities and any extra can be ordered in the front desk.

As you said, our staff is always (24h) willing to help you with anything you may need your stay: transport, restaurants, museums... anything! We provide you with a map and some basic tips to start exploring the city.

We'd like to thank you very much for trusting us, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,


Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
237 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

At first glance, the modern design makes the hotel look a little nicer than it really is. Our room was among the smallest we've ever had (even by European standards) and the shower was almost comically small (impossible to move without bumping the lever and turning off the water or changing the temp). Also, the bed didn't have a real comforter, just a sheet and something that was like a decorative curtain...That being said, the location is excellent and makes a great base for exploring Barcelona...you're not there to sit in your room right!? The price is also a relative bargain for Barcelona, and includes breakfast, so it's a good value. The breakfast was a bit below average for a European continental breakfast, but it did the trick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtravelerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much! Comments like yours really make us all improve in what we do.

We are a one star hotel offering rooms with breakfast included in a great location. A majority of our guests think that we are a good option for short city breaks, and our prices are really competitive according to our category, as you can see in many of our reviews.

However, we would like to kindly answer to them, as we don't agree in some of the points:

We would like to note that the measures of the rooms are the standard for a one star Hotel, we know that the room measures in United States are larger due to the price per square meter which is cheaper.

Our beds, medium-hard texture, are very well-known among our guests. When we chose them, we decided this kind of hard because it is better for the back's health. If it is very soft, it can be harmful. The texture of the mattress is very personal, but we have a spare mattress for guests if they find it too hard. One should inform at reception and as soon as possible, and we will change it.

As you mentioned, Hotel Curious is not a luxury hotel. It is a lovely and cute one-star rated hotel in Barcelona city center. All our rates include a complete and varied breakfast to start the day full of energy.

Sir, I really hope you give us a second chance to show you that Hotel Curious can be one of the best options for a short stay in Barcelona city center.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. It was located off La Rambla and close to the markets. The breakfast was included and I enjoyed everything on offer. One negative is that the room is quite small so if you have large luggage, it may be hard to find some decent space.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We can't be happier when we read that our guests had a great time with us!

We are very glad that you had such a great stay with us. That is exactly the most important point: we try to make our guests feel like home. Nice atmosphere, good feelings... our guests satisfaction is the most important!

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms have a right size, we believe. And they are completely equipped with all necessary amenities and any extra can be ordered in the front desk.

Thank you for choosing and trusting us, among so many other hotels in Barcelona. We are so glad you had such a great time that you would like to come back!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed there for 3 night. Very easy to find by foot from Subway as well as by car. No problem to pull over to unload your luggage. Close to Catalynia, Rambla, Gothic Quarter. Quiet at night even its located 100 m from Rambla. Breakfast was pretty basic though.
Overall I would give it 4.5

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaZ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor! Reviews like this encourage us to continue working to satisfy our guests every day.

We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service.

As you said, Hotel Curious is right off Las Ramblas, behind Boqueria's Market (the city center), only 5 minutes walk from Catalonia and Liceu Metro Station.

Once again, thank you very much indeed, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Curious.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Excellent location. The hotel is on a side street from la Rambla and very near the tasty market la Boqueria. Nice modern design in the rooms. Good breakfast and friendly staff. The best location to venture in Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We can't be happier when we read that our guests had a great time with us!

We celebrate that your experience in our place was this great! We really hope to be your home in Barcelona any time you wish!

Thank you so much for trusting us! We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#148 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#104 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#92 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Property: Hotel Curious
Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing