We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very handy to the Ramblas!”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #90 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a 2 night stay before a cruise here
It was clean, welcoming and the price included breakfast
Our room was substantially smaller than our friends, but the price was the same
The rooms were airconditoned, but had no safe or refrigerator
Staff had to open the outside door by remote to let you in, which made it safer
Overall a good experience, but somewhat on the pricey side

Room Tip: Compare rooms as sizes differ but the price is the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank toowoomba4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much! Our guests' satisfaction is the most important for us. We're glad we helped you to have a nice holiday here in Barcelona city center.

Regarding your comments, we would like to remind all our guests that Hotel Curious is a one-rated star hotel, and we do not have some services more related to a three or more stars hotels such as refrigerator or safe inside each room but we have safe and refrigerator in the hotel for all our guests that might need it. Safe is in our frontdesk and refrigerator is in our kitchen. So you can use them whenever you want.

Many thanks for choosing us, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon!!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here with a friend a week ago. I had read all the great reviews and it didn't disappoint!

The hotel is centrally located just off the la ramblas. Easy bus ride to the beach, close to the underground and the main square where the buses to the airport leave/arrive to.

I stayed in a twin room. The room was very decent size for a us. It was simple, neat, clean and comfortable. Very glad it had air conditioning, as it was a hot weekend! The beds aren't super plush, but I've had much much worse. It even had a nice little balcony.

Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Amazing value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice words about our little boutique hotel in Barcelona!
Reviews like this encourage us to continue working to satisfy our guests every day.

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms have a right size, we believe. And they are completely equipped with all necessary amenities.

Moreover, our staff makes always an effort to make your stay in Barcelona as pleasant as possible and they are always taking care of you.

As you also pointed out, clean is very important at Hotel Curious: it is a priority every day.

Once again, thank you so much for trusting us! We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Our best regards from all staff at Hotel Curious!

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed with my partner at Hotel Curious for approximately 4 days. We found our stay to be seamless and enjoyable.

The room was clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. The location was easy to find and in a very, very convenient (and safe) street directly off La Rambla (main tourist area). The breakfast was adequate. The value for money was fantastic (we had stayed at another hotel in Barcelona for several days prior and we paid more and had a mediocre experience in comparison to Hotel Curious).

What my partner and I appreciated the most was how the staff members went out of their way to help us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They helped us with a hire car and they were willing to prepare an extra early breakfast for us as we were flying out at 5am on our last day. They even catered to a very random request that we had as a joke on our online booking form (to provide a framed photo of Eddie Murphy in our room)!

Thank you Hotel Curious for the great stay we had in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hannahelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We can't be happier when we read that our guests had a great time with us!

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms are completely equipped with all necessary amenities and any extra can be ordered in the front desk.

Hotel Curious is in Carme Street, a very calm streets that ends in Las Ramblas, so this can give you the best of being at the city center and the best of not being right in the middle.

As you said, breakfast time is from 8am until 11am (there's no need to wake up very early while being on holidays!) but we can arrange breakfast for all the guest who need it (egg, flying very early in the morning).

Moreover, our staff makes always an effort to make your stay in Barcelona as pleasant as possible and they are always taking care of you

Once again, and as we said at the beginning, thank you very much for your great and complete review about Curious. We are so glad you liked our modest little hotel after your stay with us!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location just steps away from La Rambla, and centrally located for everything that my wife and I did during our stay in Barcelona. We opted for the economy room since we don't spend much time awake in the hotel. It's about as small as a room with a queen bed can possibly be. We managed okay for two days/nights, but not sure whether we could have handled more than that without needing a little more space. The metro stop is about five minutes walk. The train to/from the airport is a bit farther. We opted for a taxi to the airport because we had a morning flight and the taxi was faster, but the cost was 40 Euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice words about our little boutique hotel in Barcelona!

Reviews like this encourage us to continue working to satisfy our guests every day.

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms have a right size, we believe. And they are completely equipped with all necessary amenities and any extra can be ordered in the front desk.

Our little boutique hotel is in Barcelona city center, as you pointed out, and this makes Hotel Curious a great spot to start your day in the city. Breakfast, WIFI, lobby computer for free for all our guests - of course!


Thank you for choosing and trusting us, among so many other hotels in Barcelona. We are so glad you had such a great time that you would like to come back!

Our best regards from all staff at Hotel Curious!

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here as a family of 5 for 3 nights at the start of July, prior to cruising out of Barcelona. I spent a long time researching hotels before deciding on this small hotel. My research paid off as this hotel was perfect for us in every way. We had a double and triple room, each having balcony onto the street. Lovely clean rooms, powerful shower. Basic storage facilities but suited us fine.
Heard a little noise from the street but that is all part of atmosphere when holidaying in one of the most exciting cities in Europe. Breakfast was great, continental but more than ample and all fresh. No safe in the room, but they have a safe in reception you can use to store passports etc. Friendly, helpful staff. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimoke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We can't be happier when we read that our guests had a great time with us!

We really celebrate that you had such a great stay with us.

Hotel Curious is a small hotel located in the city center. It is perfect for short cultural stays in this wonderful city. Our rooms have a right size, we believe. And they are completely equipped with all necessary amenities and any extra can be ordered in the front desk.

Wifi, breakfasts and VAT included in all our rates, so you do not have surprises on the bill!


Thank you for choosing and trusting us, among so many other hotels in Barcelona. We are so glad you had such a great time that you would like to come back!

Best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've never written reviews before. But this time, after staying in Curious (2 nights in July 2014), I decided to help other people in choosing the right hotel.
I booked Curious based on other people good reviews and they happened to be very true. I’m very satisfied with this hotel. The room is small but clean and has everything you need for a short stay. Location is perfect, right off Ramblas, close to a metro station, about 10 min walk to Placa Catalunya. Our room was overlooking Carme, but it was very quiet in hotel at night. For breakfast (included) it was a good variety of food. Stuff is very nice and helpful. After the check-out, we left out luggage in the hotel until we picked it up in the evening. It was safe to leave valuable items in the room (they don’t even have a security deposit box) as the hotel entrance is locked all the time and gets opened only when someone goes in or out. It was a free wifi in the hotel. The hotel price is very reasonable.
Natalya (Canada)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice words about our little boutique hotel in Barcelona!

Reviews like this encourage us to continue working to satisfy our guests every day.

As you mentioned, Hotel Curious is a boutique hotel in the city center, rated with only one star (we do not have luxuries or spa) but we try to give always the best service, the one we want to receive when we are far from our homes. All our rates include a complete and varied breakfast to start the day full of energy.

As you said, cleaning is very important for us, so all our rooms and the whole Hotel itself is cleaned daily.

Breakfast is very complete: eggs, different kinds of bread, jam, butter, chocolate, cured ham, cheese, fresh chopped fruit, milk, two different types of coffee, tea, cold and hot water, cereals, juices, yogurts, and even just made bakery (croissants, doughnuts...).


Once again, and as we said at the beginning, thank you very much for your great and complete review about Curious. We are so glad you liked our modest little hotel after your stay with us!

All the best from all staff at Hotel Curious,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The Trip Advisor reviews helped me pick this hotel and they did not let me down. My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel and I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Barcelona. Location is only a block from La Rambla, easy walking distance to many points of interest. Room was clean, the staff were very helpful and polite. Only drawback was our room did not have a safe. Despite that, I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your opinion about our little hotel with other travel lovers on TripAdvisor

We work daily to improve every single thing we do here: breakfast, the wifi signal, our 24h service at the front desk, the variety of the breakfast, cleaning, social network content and online guest service...

Our little boutique hotel is in Barcelona city center, as you pointed out, and this makes Hotel Curious a great spot to start your day in the city.

All our staff live and love Barcelona, so they know very well the city and can suggest hidden gems, those that you know only if a friend tells you.

Once again, thank you very much indeed, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Curious.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#201 of 515 in Barcelona
990 reviews
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#156 of 515 in Barcelona
955 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#169 of 515 in Barcelona
672 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#72 of 515 in Barcelona
583 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing