We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, clean and retro with an AMAZING location and great staff!”
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Curious
Ranked #83 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Hotel Curious before our 11 night Mediterranean cruise on the Disney Magic. We chose it based on good reviews and frankly, I thought the name was cute.

The location is prime, right off La Rambla and by the big food market, there is so much within easy walking distance. The Hotel itself is kind of retro and funky, with a cool design. Free use of their computer. Breakfast was included and was typical for European breakfasts with lots of bread. Rooms were clean and cool looking, with good space usage. The view from the balcony is not good...they tried to put a hanging greenery to block the nasty view of the apartments across but more greenery is needed because you can see the people that live across do not take care of their places.

The bed was extremely hard, which some people may like. It did not do good things for my back, although my husband had no problem with it. I thought the staff was very nice, and spoke English very well. I thought this hotel was a great value and a very, very great location...next time I'm in Barcelona I will be staying there again! I will also be booking it for my clients.

Just something funny...this was my first experience with a European hotel room and it truly stumped us with the room card insertion for electricity, we were very confused at first, lol.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dicecattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Director General at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2010

Thank you for speaking well of Hotel Curious.

We are pending that some of our suppliers bring us more hanging greenery and the rooms could have more privacy. We hope that the next time you come back and this fixed.

When the HotelCurious was opened, it has been consulted professionals (physiotherapists) to tell us what was the optimum hardness for the back and that customers did not have trouble sleeping.
Sorry you have had this problem

Thank you very much again.

Best Regards
Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

Traveled alone, so I booked a single room on-line for one night. Room was clean, but very small and spartan, with no view. Very old building which has been re-habbed. One elevator, which holds only 4 people if they don't have baggage. Free continental breakfast was acceptable, but not great. Small bathroom, but everything worked OK. Staff not unfriendly, but not overly helpful either. My reservation was in order; I arrived at 10 am and they gave me my room right then--a big plus as they originally told me I had to wait until 2 pm. Great location, only 1/2 block from the Rambla and easy walking distance from Plaza Catalunya. One free computer in the lobby, but always busy whenever I passed by it--they didn't seem to have posted time restrictions for use. Paid 80 euros for a Saturday night pre-paid stay. Would probably not return due to the very small room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

Thank you for stay at Hotel Curious.

The normal Check-in time is at 14.00 pm, in the event that the room is ready before this time, our guests could have access to it without any problem.
In the case that the room will be not ready we offer to keep the luggage until check-in time free of charge.

We have available a computer in the lobby and also free wifi for the clients that bring a laptop or a mobile device.

We would like to know which products would have liked you to have in the breakfast.
Contact with us please at: artur@hotelcurious.com

Thank you so much.

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We spent 2 nights in the Curious for 88Euro/night breakfast included.
The room was very clean, spacious and well equipped, only a safe was missing (and the minibar for all those who like minibars, what we don't).
The location is very central, just 50m off the Rambla and the Barri Gotic.
Unfortunately, the building structure is so old and not re-done, that when you neighbour goes for a shower, you have the impression he stands on top of your bed, and we had a neighbour enjoying taking showers early in the morning....
Furthermore, the reception staff was not really helpful, nor smiling.
Last but not least, if you expect vitamins in form of fresh stuff like fruits on a breakfast buffet, then do not expect it at the Curious. There are only white bread bakeries, sugar-stuffed convenience junk and cold coffee.
Overall, good for small budgets, but not really pleasant in all aspects.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiput99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Artur Artigas (Director Hotel Curious) at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2010

Dear Shiput99,

First of all, thanks for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.
We would really appreciate to know about the inconveniences you found in the service, we'll pay utmost attention in order to solve it.

Please, contact us via e-mail at artur@hotelcurious.com to start a conversation.

Thanks for your attention.

Artur Artigas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed. The double room that my husband and I had was on the small side, but we were out sightseeing all the time so it didn't matter to us. The bedroom and shower room was very nice and clean, and we weren't kept awake by noise at night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us loads of maps and information. The help-yourself buffet breakfast was very nice with lots of choice.

The location of the hotel is amazing, just off Las Ramblas (one of the city's main streets) and within walking distance of several Metro stops, shopping, the beach, the Cathedral and numerous other sights.

And last, but by no means least, it was very reasonable priced...we couldn't have asked for much more really.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank LouLouLouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

What a location! Mere yards from the centre of La Ramblas.

A great deal of thought that has gone into designing this charming hotel. The four bedroom floors have been themed earth, air, water and fire and colour coded accordingly. The full wall B&W photographs behind the bed heads continue this theme, with my sister and I having the illusion of sleeping in a peaceful courtyard. From the balcony we looked a few yards up the road into La Ramblas. Admittedly the fittings were IKEA, but they were spotlessly clean and fulfilled their purpose admirably, with free hanging and fold away tables to maximise space. There was a full size bath in the well-appointed bathroom.

The breakfasts were bountiful and fresh with excellent croissants, breads, meats, cheeses, cereals etc. All served in a fresh, cheerful room off reception.

Facilities for the disabled had been provided with level access throughout the ground floor, a disabled toilet and lifts to the bedrooms.

Our host couldn't have been more charming and helpful, acting as our own personal tourist information centre.

Overall this is a gem of a hotel and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GallivantingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Fantastic location. Just off Las Ramblas, so it was quiet at night. Good continental breakfast.
Staff friendly and helpful. Room small and basic, but that was all we needed. Room cleaned everyday. Bed comfortable. Great shower!
5 minutes away from the metro.
Highly recommended and would definately use again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Responsable e-commerce at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

First of all thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We try to give the best of us, thanks for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We really did have a great stay at Hotel Curious. 4 of us stayed their for 1 night a couple of weeks ago and we were all in agreement that it ticked every single box for what we look for in a hotel.

As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted with a smile, check-in was efficient and the guy on reception was really helpful and gave us loads of information.

The whole place from the lobby, to the rooms, bathrooms and dining room is modern, well presented and spotless.

It's in a great location on a quieter street just off la Ramblas and about a 5-10 minute walk from where the Aerobus drops off. We got a taxi when we first arrived and the aerobus on the way back and I would say the Aerobus is probably the better, cheaper option.

Breakfast was great, continental but a good continetal with tasty meat, bread, jams, yoghurt and warm boiled eggs.

There's a computer in the reception that's free to use which is really if you need to use the internet for anything.

There's a decent lift that can fit 4 people without their bags.

Rooms were'nt massive but they were perfectly comfortable, same with the showerooms (there was no bath). Nice, big, comfy double beds and a welcome change from most other hotels was the heating and air con which worked efficiently and quietly and changed the temperature of the room accurately and quickly.

To sum up we really struggled to find any negatives. The only things that might put some people off is that the place is very modern so don't expect anything "homely" and it's also not a 4 or 5 star so no one will be there to help you to your room with your bags (unless, of course, you are someone who needs help in which case i'm sure they would oblige).

For the price you really would be hard pressed to fing anywhere else half as good as this place and I really wouldn't hesitate to book again next time I go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FishyFlipFlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Responsable e-commerce at Hotel Curious, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

Thanks¡
As you say, Hotel Curious is well rated and thanks to you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#204 of 519 in Barcelona
1,007 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#96 of 519 in Barcelona
1,769 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#103 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 519 in Barcelona
2,163 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 519 in Barcelona
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic, good-value hotel is just 50 m from central Barcelona's Las Ramblas and the Boqueria Market. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. The stylish rooms at Hotel Curious feature large photos of Barcelona's major attractions and monuments. The modern bathrooms are equipped with a hairdryer. The Curious has a dining room where guests can enjoy a varied buffet breakfast. Room service is available and there is also a bar. There is a tour desk and guests can hire a car or bicycles at the hotel. Massage treatments are also available. The central location makes exploring the city very easy. You can reach the beach in 10 minutes by taking the number 59 bus on Las Ramblas. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing