We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jolanda d

Great experience in contraban @ Wittmore

Review of Wittmore Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024
Me and my daughter had a lovely dinner at Wittmore’s restaurant: Contraban, we were delighted with all the amazing dishes and the great service. Definitely one of our favorites in Barcelona and highly recommend. All the food was plated wonderfully and tasted great, additionally the staff was very attentive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Mansson, Other at Wittmore Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Jolandad623,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this lovely review with us! It is lovely to hear that you and your daughter had a wonderful dinner with us at Contraban Restaurant. It is great to know that you were delighted with our gastronomy and our service.
It is a great compliment to hear that we are one of your favortites in Barcelona and that you would further recommend us to others.

On behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you to Contraban restaurant for another unforgettable dinner!

Wittmore Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£185
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £179
  • Agoda.com
    £169
  • Hotels.com
    £179
0.5 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£163
  • Expedia.com
    £191
  • Agoda.com
    £149
  • Hotels.com
    £191
0.3 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
£148
  • ibis Styles
    £148
  • StayForLong
    £142
  • Hotels.com
    £148
1.2 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£145
  • Expedia.com
    £153
  • Agoda.com
    £125
  • Hotels.com
    £153
1.6 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£112
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £112
  • Agoda.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
    £112
1.7 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Salón
£206
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £129
  • Expedia.com
    £137
1.5 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Lights of Gracia Bar & Restaurant at Generator Barcelona
£114
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £96
  • Expedia.com
    £113
1.5 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£140
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £141
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £140
1.0 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Bar/Lounge
£322
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £322
  • Skyscanner.com
    £253
  • Hotels.com
    £322
0.8 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Pool
Room service
  • Official website
    £349
  • Skyscanner.com
    £349
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Wittmore Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Barcelona
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
441
45
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
45
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gothic quarter garden wall bluetooth speaker central courtyard amazing boutique hotel dinner reservations side street small hotel comfortable bed mini bar rooftop terrace small pool perfect stay the location is perfect around the corner las ramblas fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024

First ,we would like to thank all the team in the hotel that made us happy during our short stay but very pleasent one..The team makes you feel you are at home.In all respects the hotel is one of the best that we have ever stayed , if it is not the very best one can be the second best..It is located in old town , close to almost all places to visit in Barcelona..You can reach everywhere by walking, close to many nice restaurants , and the hotel has a good restaurant too..Breakfast is perfect ..Rooms are decorated very well & functional.We will definetely choose this hotel for our future trips to Barcelona.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Mansson, Other at Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello 13sadia,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review with us!

We are thrilled to hear that our team made your short stay at the Wittmore Hotel such a pleasant and memorable experience.
It’s wonderful to know that our staff made you feel at home, which is exactly the atmosphere we strive to create for all our guests.
We are delighted to hear that Wittmore was one of the best hotels that you have stayed at and that you enjoyed the hotels central location and breakfast at our Contraban Restaurant.

Thank you once again for your glowing review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Barcelona, and we’ll be here to ensure you have another exceptional stay!

Wittmore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

The Wittmore Hotel was a wonderful experience that really brought attention to what the Gothic Quarter in the city of Barcelona has to offer. Although we stayed for a few days, we were impressed by the bar and dinner service provided and had a chance to have a nice relaxed afternoon in the rooftop and sulk in the view of Barcelona.

Definitely will have to recommend this place to many friends and family, and come back as soon as possible.

Thank you!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Mansson, Other at Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Hello RodrigocV5693QU,

Thank you so much for sharing this glowing review with us!
It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us and that you enjoyed our bar and dinner service.
It is lovely to know that you were able to experience a relaxed afternoon on our rooftop as it is a true show stopper and the perfect place to admire the views of Barcelona and enjoy the sun and plunge pool.

It is wonderful to know that you would further recommend our boutique gem to others visiting the city and we greatly appreciate this.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience, and here's to more unforgettable stays at Wittmore Hotel in the future!

Wittmore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

The hotel was beautiful, the location was very easy to walk to/from and the service was outstanding. Breakfast was delicious! We would stay here again without a second thought- it was a great experience. Extra points for an amazing rain shower for my very tall husband with the best water pressure!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Mansson, Other at Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2024

Hello KatherinesO4542PU,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us! It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us.

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It's fantastic to know that you found the location convenient, the service outstanding, and the breakfast delicious. We're especially pleased to know that you appreciated the rain shower with great water pressure.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next travels to Barcelona!

Wittmore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

In general the whole service was very good. The facilities are beautiful, reception was kind, food was amazing. Need to try the Cigala, its just an unique dish.
The ONLY thing is that it was slightly too hot, eventhough we were in winter. So I'd say to turn down the heating of the room a bit.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Mansson, Other at Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2024

Hello RodrigopE7048QO,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us!
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our attentive service, facilities, and gastronomy of Contraban Restaurant.
We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the room temperature and will make sure to adjust the heating accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable experience! Safe travels and see you again soon!

Wittmore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2024

If you are looking for a boutique hotel with fine furnishings and thoughtful staff, this is your hotel hide away. It is tucked behind an alley that leads to other shops and restaurants. The hotel is just a few walkable blocks from the seaside as well. There is a rooftop wading pool too that allows you to relax and unwind. The only down side we found was the rooms were not well lit. Perhaps a more powerful lamp(s) could be purchased for the rooms.
Excellent hotel service and accommodations!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Koala-n-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Mansson, Guest Services / Front Office at Wittmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Hello Koala-n-Seal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us, we greatly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us at Wittmore.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the fine furnishings, thoughtful staff, and the hidden gem ambiance. Our hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona allowing you to explore most of the must see city attractions by foot whilst being only a few blocks from Port Vell and the seaside.
Our rooftop terrace and wading pool is the perfect place to unwind and to enjoy the Barcelona sun.
We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the room lighting. Your suggestion about more powerful lamps is very valuable to us, and we will certainly review this internally to explore ways to enhance the lighting in our rooms for a more comfortable stay.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next trip to the city.

Wittmore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews