We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oleum

Oleum
Reserve with
Oleum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,291 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Montjuic
Description: Located in one of the iconic postcards of Barcelona, Restaurant Oleum is in the former Throne Room at MNAC. Amazing views, a delicate gastronomic offer designed by Chef Fina Puigdevall, awarded with 2 Michelin Stars from 2010. A unique opportunity to discover how cooking becomes art in this special museum. We have a large dinning room with a mirror ceiling in contrast with the classic decoration. Through its impressive windows and better views you can enjoy a fantastic meal. We specialize in big group events.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We are usually not into tourist areas and restaurants as don't believe they provide authentic experiences. The Oleum proved us wrong by providing true Catalan food and wines. The view is stunning and even if the service was a bit abrupt it was an awesome experience that we are glad our Barcelona friend took us to. Food was amazing, very authentic and different to standard restaurants. Strongly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    100
    33
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eat to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Now, this was impressive. Big window with a view on Plaza de España, Las Arenas and the city, a classic high ceiling room with modern arrangement, very good food, a great wine selection and impeccable service. As far as I understand, you can’t ask to reserve a table by the window, so the best call may be not to go on a peak night or to reserve early. We were lucky because although it was a mid august Friday night at 9:30, we were given a table by one of the three windows. That added the view on the spectacular magic fountain in action, although you can’t hear the music. Jamon de Bellota, a classic, as starter and their surprising burger as main. Very nice. The Toro wine was not the highlight, but that’s part of the risk when you go for unknown (to the waiter as well because new in the list) bottles. Highly recommended for a special night. Ah, the entrance is a bit weird. You are kept waiting at the museum entrance until somebody comes and picks you up (that meant for us 10 minutes standing outside the door), then you’re taken along empty corridors and elevators until you reach the actual restaurant room. They should do something to make the starting experience a bit more pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great view mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you can get a table overlooking the window then you will not get a better view of Barcelona, if you eat at night then the view of the Magic Fountains is outstanding, However the service is a bit hit and miss, we had to wait in the lobby downstairs for a long time while waiting for a waitress to escort us up in the lift (I know how to operate a lift), the restaurant was not full by any stretch but the food was a little slow in arriving and we had to ask the waiter four times for a bottle of wine before it finally arrived.
The room is amazing, the view is outstanding. the food is average, the service mediocre the choice is yours

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahammckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An inspired evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We went in the evening and as luck would have it got a table overlooking the window that looks out over the light show. That added the finishing touch to a faultless evening. Despite the menfolk in our party looking like something the cat dragged in, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room itself is superb - half ballroom grandeur with a massive angled mirror to make it modern.

The menu was imaginative and well executed. My starter included "purple potato covered goats cheese ice cream" which was exactly as described and tasted better than perhaps it sounds.

It added up to an expensive meal, but well worth the money. Afterwards, walking down through the crowds at the light show was fantastic - a great spectacle and a real buzz. A highly memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhySoGlumChum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
238 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great lunch. Fantastic view of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were tired and hungry after walking around the museum and this restaurant looked inviting.

We shared a starter and had a veal and fish main course. The service was attentive. The restaurant was not crowded at all....maybe 3-4 tables were occupied.

We were energized for more touring. This was a great nice restaurant in a fantastic museum....a much better alternative to a cafeteria.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oleum also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Oleum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing