We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location ”
Review of Ilunion Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilunion Barcelona
Ranked #251 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, clean and modern decoration. Buffett breakfast was nice and plenty to choose from. A bonus for me was that they had soya milk which you very rarely see out and usually have to request or go without cereal
Staff were friendly and helpful with getting around the city. All in all a nice hotel with a great location

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chimene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

thank you very much for your nice comments and for rating the fact of having soya milk in the breakfast. We always try to offer a varied and quality breakfast.

We hope to see you in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,
Elena Salas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just back from a 7 night stay in the Confortel Barcelona. It is literally around the corner from the Rambla del Poblenou, a pedestrianized street with loads of restaurants and shops that leads to a fantastic beach also, a 5-10 minute walk away. The Llacuna metro stop is also a 5 minute walk away which is 4 stops on the L4 line from the old city centre and 6 stops from the Placa de Catalunya.

The hotel itself was great. It was clean and welcoming and the reception staff were lovely. The room was cleaned every day and the small fridge with complimentary water was a great addition. Some minor complaints are that the walls are very thin. You can clearly hear people moving around and talking in the next room and in the hallways. Also don't rely on the pool area for a place to unwind. Every day we were there it was very busy and its next to impossible to get one of only 10 loungers at any point of the day. We were more inclined to spend our down time at the beach. The area is very clean and well maintained though.

Overall we were very very happy with our stay, mainly due to the superb location of the hotel. Perfect for people looking for a mix between a beach break and a city break.

One thing to note: a taxi to/from the airport should be between 25-35 euro. We were charged 45 by the driver that took us from the airport to the hotel but he must have scammed us. No fault of the hotel of course, but just something to note for anyone intending on staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adohertyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Confortel Barcelona for this review.

We are very glad you liked the location of our hotel but we would like to apologize if you could not rest properly due to the noise in the other rooms.

However, It would be a pleasure if you could come back in the future.

Elena Salas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights; weekend in Barcelona trip. Very clean and organised. huge room with a view of the city centre in the distance. Complimentary water in a little fridge continuously restocked. Comes across as a business traveler's hotel more than a holidaymaker's hotel but I think that might be the reason we liked it so much. Nice pool with a very relaxed unpretentious crowd. The amazing Beach is 10 minutes in one direction and metro stop is 10 minutes in the other so you can to the city centre in about 25 minutes. Oh and very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jegger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Jegger,

We are delighted to read your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Also, ee are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our roof top pool.

We hope you can come back in the future.

Elena Salas, Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Just got here this afternoon Got taxi from airport far better than trying to find train and metro left us right to hotel door no hassle 25 euros.Hotel is excellent very modern lovely reception very helpful staff nothing a problem.The room is superbly kitted out mini fridge perfect for chilling beers and water spotlessly clean (my bride is very fuss) we are in triple room on 7th floor great size reccomend requesting 7 th floor as it is one below the pool,which we tested this tea time and it was like a sauna with crystal clear water. On our first day we must say we are highly impressed with the hotel and reccomend.
We also took a walk down to the beautiful beach that had hundreds of beautiful people on it.Weather is very warm at this time of year as we found to our cost dont try and walk to hard rock cafe at cataluna square.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank biggaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Confortel Barcelona. We were delighted to read you enjoyed our hotel and its location. It was very pleasing to read your comments, particularly, concerning our team and we hope you enjoyed a very memorable time in Barcelona.

We hope you can come back in the future.

Elena Salas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I like it from first second . Modern looking, Friendly staff, great room , clean Wery clean room, flat screen tv, everything from outside doors to my bed. Great view from room 805.Good food, quiet place close to beach... good WiFi conection fast..

Room Tip: ask for top floor room great evening view, most of Barselona
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrvytas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Client,

thanks a lot for such a great review!

Best regards,
Elena Salas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this hotel via hotelopia, checked out there website seemed very professional with all the facilities of a four star hotel. OMG turned up at hotel only to be told that the rooms weren't the reception was in chaos seemed like a morgue not much welcome here, advised them that I requested either a interconnecting room or a two rooms next to each due to the fact that our son was disabled and needed attention as and when required, first they denied any knowledge of the request then there on the booking there was a remark. The best they could do was two rooms on two seperated floors, that just put me off and realised that everything the company stated on their website was just blatant lies, I have already paid for this booking and to start my vacation with complications was something I did not want, it dampened every bodies mood, they then offered rooms next door to each other but it will take over 2 hours to get ready we're advised to come back later, so much for advertising early check in. Finally having got the rooms sorted, when we got to the rooms they were dreadful more like a hostel with views to a derelict building with air conditioning just about operating even though the maximum cold was set, the bathroom was dirty, my god if this is 4* then I wander what 3/2* would be this is just day one! personally I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! the staff gave no remorse or compassion for disability but they got my money and I have no choice but to stay in this hostel

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour don't even consider this hotel, book yourself into a hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I have been informed about your complaint. As we could not give you an interconnecting rooms, you have two rooms next to each other. About early check-in we offer it just if we have rooms available. As you know, we are in high season, August, and the hotel is fully booked.
As you are still in the hotel we are trying to provide you and your family the best service possible, to enjoy a pleasant stay.

We apologize, and be assured that your comments are taking on board. If you need anything else, you can contact with me asking in reception.

Thank you very much,
Elena Salas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed with my partner for his 30th birthday Friday-Monday and this hotel is absolutely perfect to visit the city if you are looking to be just out of town. It was a 5minute walk to the beautiful beach, 15 minute walk and you hit the main Barcelona town and within 15 minute walk there is a huge shopping centre and rows and rows of restaurants. I emailed the hotel prior to my stay to ask for a quiet room with a nice view and they very kindly allocated us one - which we hugely appreciated. The staff all spoke very good English which was great for us with very limited Spanish.
The only thing I would say is if you are staying for longer there are no outside balcony - which is useful for drying wet costumes and towels, and only 3 English channels on the TV which are all news. But otherwise I would hugely recommend this hotel for a short break! And the rooftop pool was phenomenal - we spend everyday up there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovebeach1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confortel G, Gerente at Ilunion Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Client,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooftop pool.

Also, I would like to thank you for the nice comments you do about our staff and for recommending us.

We hope you can come back again for a short brake!

Elena Salas, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#284 of 519 in Barcelona
1,069 reviews
Vincci Bit
#117 of 519 in Barcelona
1,476 reviews
Vincci Maritimo Barcelona
#160 of 519 in Barcelona
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Horta - Guinardó
ILUNION Bel Art
ILUNION Bel Art
#339 of 519 in Barcelona
94 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
ILUNION Almirante
ILUNION Almirante
#435 of 519 in Barcelona
809 reviews
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#299 of 519 in Barcelona
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilunion Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilunion Barcelona

Address: Ramon Turro 196-198, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#171 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £55 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilunion Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old industrial area of Poblenou which is now a key area for the location of the most innovative companies, we have created a hotel concept in keeping with this new technological district: our hotel ILUNION Barcelona. Its modern, welcoming and functional style will surprise you. You will fall in love with each of its corners, from the gym to the swimming pool, with its incredible views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ilunion Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Confortel Hotel
Ilunion Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing