We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical HI Express in ok location - staff helpfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #281 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Typical HI Express in ok location - staff helpfull”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Standard of hotel is same as most other HI Express i.e. functional but not luxurious. Free continental breakfast (was very busy when we were there) . 5 mins walk from LLacuna metro station, The nearby Rambla del Poblenou is a pedestrianised road with restaurants that leads down to the beach but other than that there is nothing else near the hotel worth walking to. A taxi back to the hotel from the magic fountains at 23:30 cost 12€. Air conditioning @hotel was barely adequate in August. Staff at HI were very helpfull

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pato1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear pato1967,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am delighted to know that our location worked for your needs and that you found our staff highly commendable. It is always motivating on our end to receive such feedback from our valued guests like you.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    683
    382
    69
    41
See reviews for
662
359
47
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here before and after our cruise in a family room. It is clean and has everything that you need but the beds are rather uncomfortable. There is a complimentary breakfast which is a bonus and there is a local Rambler which has lovely traditional restaurants along it for an evening of tapas. The beach is 10 minutes walk away as is the nearest bus stop for the tourist bus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Shazhill,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay with us in TripAdvisor.
We know how difficult some times it becomes for families to find a hotel where they can stay at the same room. For this reason, we are proud to offer our family rooms for maximum of 2 adults & 2 children (up to 18) always at the same price of a double room (Complimentary Continental Breakfast for the whole family!).

In addition to this, we really appreciate you demonstrate your satisfaction about our location, 3 blocks away from “Llacuna” metro station and 1 block to “La Rambla del Poble Nou” street plenty of restaurants, shops and were you can enjoy a nice walk of 15 minutes to the beach and the Tourist Bus stop.

On the other hand, I would like to apologise for the inconveniences you encountered with your bed. Your feed-back enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your comments since we welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again.


Sincerely,
Myriam Sánchez.
Guest Service Manager.
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I used this hotel to spend a few extra days in Barcelona after being on a cruise ship for 12. This hotel is resonably priced, clean and has an average breakfast included. The front desk staff was very helpful recommending what to see, places to have tapa's right around the corner and how to use our time wisely. Rooms are nothing spectacular but meet all the basic needs. I would stay here again when I return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was the second time I stayed in this hotel and I have to say that is very convenient one when you are going to just pass couple of nights in Barcelona. The price is not bad. The rooms are average, nothing fancy. Internet is OK and is quite close to the metro station that can take you to downtown very fast. The breakfast is good. The downside is that there are only two elevators to serve the complete hotel and in the rush hours it can take you quite some time to catch one.

Room Tip: Be very clear in your requirements regarding the room type in order to avoid surprises
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsclink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear dsclink,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
I would like just to clarify that our house has 3 elevators to the guests floors (1st to 6th) but 2 panoramic elevators from the ground to the first floor.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We look forward to accommodating your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed at HI Express on my own for 4 nights but was not impressed:

Con
No safe in the room
Breakfast: no nuts, eggs, oatmeal or fruit. Noisy and crowded from 07.30 on
Dodgy neighbourhood on one side of the hotel
Airco not cold enough in the room which makes it hard to sleep
Non guests can walk into the hotel up to the rooms which feels unsafe
Only Spanish channels on TV, other channels are payable

Pro
One block from the lovely Rambla de Poblenou which has some really superb restaurants
Nice room
15' walk from the beach which is very nice
5' walk to Llacuna metro station, 10' walk to Poblenou metro station
10' by metro to the center (plaza catalunya)

For me the cons outweighed the pros and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank coccinellesenjuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear coccinellesenjuin,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is located near the beach and a metro station to reach City centre as well as main attractions. Nice hotel, stay was very convenient. Continental Breakfast options were good.
Distance from attractions is the main negative !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundaresan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel but nothing special about it. It's located close to the beach, we walked there and it took 15 minutes. It has breakfast for free but the breakfast room was super crowded. You has to wait a 10minute line to get your breakfast.
Overall would recommend to families.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sa...
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
317 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#92 of 513 in Barcelona
816 reviews
Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
Travelodge Barcelona Poblenou
#305 of 513 in Barcelona
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing