We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty! ”
Review of Maitea Taberna

Maitea Taberna
Ranked #224 of 9,603 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very tasty! ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had a great meal in this little restaurant. We arrived early ( for in Spain) and there wasn't many customers, which worried me. However, within 15 minutes the place was buzzing and I could totally see why!
The food is excellent as was the service. Lots of fun tapas to choose from and very reasonably priced.
Would highly recommend this place for an easy and quick meal, where taste is certainly not compromised!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    328
    90
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for amateurs”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are new to tapas dining (pintxos in this case), this might not be the place to start. However, if you are an experienced diner and are looking for authentic Basque pintxos, this is the place for you. Everything is completely fresh, none of the reheated, microwaved tapas that you get on Las Ramblas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOPHER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Yep, Good and Fun”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We love this restaurant. There are dishes and dishes of tapas under glass and you choose what you want and then tell the server how many toothpicks you have. The house wine is great too. The overall experience is worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank innerbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fresh Tapas, a local's choice”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

When we entered Maitea Taberna, it was already bustling with locals. Tapas were fresh and exceedly good and also affordable at?1.65 per piece and there were also fresh off the oven tapas being paraded around for tasting. Really marvellous savourable experience and I would definitely recommend to anyone to travel there and try the true Spaniard tapas.

Helpful?
Thank Ke Han T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local tapas & dinners”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Maitea was recommended by the owner of our apartment. It was close, we were tired and hungry after our flight, so we went -- and we were very happy we did. We were a little late for tapas, so we had dinner in the back room. The room was spare, the chairs were not the most comfortable, but the food was really good. There were 5 of us, so we had a variety of offerings: the chicken specialty, eggs, fish, a selection of what was left on the tapas bar. We asked for a local Catalan wine and ended up drinking two bottles of it. The food was quite good. We were the only tourists in the dining area. Everyone else were obviously locals who frequently ate there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SS in Balto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maitea Taberna also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Maitea Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing