We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot see the attraction”
Review of Fishop - CLOSED

Fishop
Price range: US$34 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I cannot see the attraction”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Overpriced and lacking in character. We tried a couple of starters and the clam pasta. The anchovies are some of the most expensive I have ever eaten. Over £4 for 2 small slithers and the waiter seemed affronted when we mentioned this telling us we should have ordered more. Certainly not at those prices. The main meal was good and generous, but really we felt cheated and wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    110
    50
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fishop - Beef Shop Combo is a winner…”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Definitely try the beef sushi -- very interesting and very good. Went twice and got good service both times. Very nice wine list and wide selection of wines by the glass.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBLH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average service and poorly thought out food”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

It was a poor japanese restaurant for me. We ordered two starters two mains. Neither starter arrived before our mains were served. When the first "starter" did finally arrive it was wrong so we asked for it to be corrected which to their credit they did quickly.

The replacement (supposed to be a scallop sashimi) was a single hurredly cooked scallop that tasted very fishy. So gone was the subtle scallop flavor. Why was it cooked at all? Why was it 1 scallop when the menu specifies 3?

Their Tempura was weird, breadcrumbs on shrimp but tempura batter on veges? Are they frozen pre-breaded prawns at Fishop? Served with a tonkatsu sauce? All the veges sliced thin so no variety there. Ugh.

Best dish was the shrimp gyoza. Was really actually a fantastic interpretation on the humble gyoza. Again let down by serving it with the wrong sauce but forgivable here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sewid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haarlem
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Good fresh fish. Good service. Friendly atmosfere in a cellar downstairs or outside on the street. Japanese or spanish style food. A place we want to go back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corretje C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“making fool out of customers”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We went there encouraged by very decent prices at the restaurant entrance. We were quite surpriced to receive completly different menu inside given by the waiter. Prices varied even up to 5 Euros for some dishes. We pointed out this to the person working there. They were claiming that the prices we can see at the entry door are in fact TAKE-AWAY prices. All would be ok, if it was at least written. It was not. I found this very bad practise trying to attract tourists and in the end of the day leaving the place paying horrendous amounts.

The food was good but VERY SMALL portions for the VERY HIGH prices. Additionally trying to make a fool of the customers is unacceptable and leaves very bad taste.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishop also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing