We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificient small luxury hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ABaC Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABaC Barcelona
Ranked #11 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
madrid
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Magnificient small luxury hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Abac for a long weekend, and we were very fortunate to be upgraded to a suite room.
The room was more than fantastic, very modern, very fashionable, all-white, with an understated luxury all around. The best thing, by far, is the bed. Absolutely unforgetteable.
Breakfast is also very special, with all sorts of different possbilities, all very personalized. Abolutely brilliant.
Couple of not-so-possitive comments: entrance to the rooms is made through the kitchen, not a good idea for a 5star hotel (even if different from any other hotel, but...). The other thing is that the hotel is far away from the city center, which is good for relax but it takes some long trip in a taxi to get into downtown.

Room Tip: Enjoy the best beds in the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy61Madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    57
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
342
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Loved: Stayed for my honeymoon for 2 nights. Service was fantastic, felt very welcomed from the start to the end, the romantic getaway package came with a rose petal drawn bath with a bottle of cava, Michelin restaurant was fabulous (I took a picture of each dish) and i was pleasantly surprised by the presentation of each dish. Definitely worth the splurge. A stone's throw from the train station and yet in a nice quiet spot (good neighbourhood - no safety concerns even when we came back past 11pm), tram to Tibidablo is just the street next the hotel. Do spend sometime in the spa area for some R&R (steam bath and jacuzzi). Quality furnishing and bright room when blinds are drawn up. Luxurious Hermes toiletries (they are not stingy with providing). Beautiful bath and separate shower area. Definitely recommend

Dislikes: None.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jubejubebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The service is unbelievable, the rooms large and confortable. We had a great time.

Note: It's not far from the touristic areas, but you have to get a transportation to get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I was in my anniversary when I spent a night in ABAC. The restaurant was closed (as it was Sunday). So we wanted to go to a romantic restaurant. I asked the concierge to get us a booking in a Michelin star restaurant, they got me in the worst restaurants in Barcelona (thanks to my knowledge of the city's restaurants). so we decided to order room service. The menu was too limited to 10-15 dishes and when i called to order they ran out of food, so I only had 2 choices!
summary, the rooms are great but the service sucks!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank khalid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABaCBarcelona, Director Comercial at ABaC Barcelona, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for chosen ABaC Restaurant & Hotel during your stay in Barcelona city. I regret your stay wasn't as successful. In Barcelona most of the restaurants are closed on Sunday night, specially Michelin star restaurants, so it’s very difficult to find a really good restaurant opened. Thanks to your suggestion, we have now open a great data base of good restaurants opened on Sunday and also on Monday (most difficult days to find good restaurants) so every member of the staff could look at it in order to give information to our guests.

Regarding room service menu, our Chef Jordi Cruz is now developing a new Room Service Menu, so by the end of this week we will have it ready for our guests. Also, we have changed procedures and have been immediately applied to avoid those situations.

We will be very pleased to welcoming you again at ABaC in the future, I will appreciate if you could contact directly to Hotel Manager or to myself.

Receive our best regards

Eva de Aurora
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Our room at the ABaC was spectacular. The design was gorgeous, the bed linens incredible and the shower was fabulous. The room also had a lovely window seat that could be enclosed by curtains and looked out into the garden. The room was incredibly quiet and we looked out on a wall of green (we were concerned when we arrived because the street is quite busy). It was like having our own private apartment in Barcelona. The staff was wonderful and recommended fabulous restaurants and tapas bars. Our only issue was that it is a bit far from the Gothic quarter--we would have liked to be in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The ABaC Hotel is an oasis of luxury, calm, hospitality and perfection in one of the prettiest areas of Barcelona. An incredible and beautiful hotel that delivers on every level. We were met by a team of staff that are there to meet every one of your needs and more...nothing is too much trouble for Maria and her staff. We stayed in the penthouse suite with an outdoor hot-tub overlooking Mount Tibidabo. What an absolutely beautiful and romantic setting. We had this room booked for half our stay and to make it even more perfect, Maria offered us an upgrade to this room as it was simply available for the rest of our visit. You feel simply relaxed and spoilt here. After a day of shopping, sight-seeing, eating and drinking there is a tranquil thermal spa to return to and unwind at no extra cost...you feel a million miles from the hustle of the city. The hotel, rooms and bathrooms are a design success and part of the city's architectural genius.

The Michelin starred restaurant at the ABaC was a master piece and definitely worth a visit if staying here or not. Some of the best food we have experienced and reminiscent of Ramsays Royal Hospital Road in London.

If looking for a luxury hotel... the ABaC is a must!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at ABaC for 4 nights in March 2011 and had an amazing experience. We booked the hotel based upon the fabulous reviews that we read here on TripAdvisor.com and were not disappointed. We appreciated that the hotel was conveniently located to the metro and bus lines, making sight-seeing very easy! We also appreciated that the hotel was outside the busy city center and we did not have to contend with the busy city traffic and noise -- yet found restaurants, transporation and markets within easy walking distance.

We booked our Penthouse Suite room through SLH.com and were able to take advantage of a off-peak rate + a 4th night free. Our accomodation surpassed all of our expectations and the staff of the ABaC was absolutely excellent!!!! We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay -- from the comfortable king size bed, to the lovely roof-top deck and jaccuzi, as well as the sun-deck chairs, outdoor table/chairs, waterfall shower and spa tub. We also enjoyed a room service meal -- delivered promptly to our room for our enjoyment on the roof-top deck/patio by moonlight. Our only regret, was that we had not allowed more days to stay at the ABaC and enjoy the spa + roof-top breakfast. The staff made wonderful recommendations for dinner, like Dos Palillos, and were able to book events, such as a Spanish Guitar concert, with ease. We also enjoyed dinner in the ABaC restaurant on our final night of our stay -- which exceeded all of our expectations and was a wonderful gastronomic experience ... service, food and wine were all absolutely fabulous!! Thank you ABaC for making our stay in Barcelona one that we will never forget. We hope to return in the very near future!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEMD_1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
1,616 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 521 in Barcelona
319 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 521 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 521 in Barcelona
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABaC Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABaC Barcelona

Property: ABaC Barcelona
Address: Av. Del Tibidabo, 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — ABaC Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GASTRONOMY, ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN... A UNIQUE GOURMET EXPERIENCE ABaC Restaurant Hotel Monument 5* GL is located in Sarria-Sant Gervasi, the upper zone of Barcelona, with views to the Kennedy square and surrounded with the vegetation of La Tamarita gardens. Close to the most important points of the city. Work of the architect Antoni de Moragas, consists of two buildings integrated in a garden. The centennial building was refurbished due to its historical value and it was the old residence of Dona Madronita, an intellectual of the born Catalan bourgeoisie at the end of XIX century. She was the daughter of the famous pharmacist Dr. Andreu, and she was the wife of the North American Max Klein (president of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and one of the introducers of the basketball in Spain). On the other hand, the new crystal pavilion is covered of lattices of wood and joined the garden. Landscape and architecture give themselves the hand in a space of pure lines. ROOMS The hotel offers 15 luxurious rooms completely soundproof, with a vanguardist decoration, the greater comfort and technical advances. Room facilities: • Totally soundproof. • Parquet flooring and exotic wood. • Independent air conditioning & heating. • Wireless high Speed internet connection. • Bang & Olufsen telephon • Bang & Olufsen 32", 42" & 50" television. • DVD. • Direct telephone line. • "Merten" remote control for lights and blinds. • "Nespresso" coffee machine. • Mini-bar. • Safety box. • 2X2 Mattress "Treca de Paris" • Linen yarn. • Gaston & Daniela textiles. • Working desk. • Jacuzzi with chromo therapy. • 40X40, Rain effect shower. • Welcome amenities: Hermes • Hairdryer. DINING In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 P.M. And where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin. MEETING-ROOMS Conference and events meeting rooms, from 2 to 60 people, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience for all present and successful outcome to your meeting. SPA - ELEMIS Located in a private area of the ABaC Hotel, this is the place to find the most personalised gift for our customers: Their Wellbeing. • Jacuzzi with underwater sunbeds • Cold pool • Hammam • Two treatment cabins Room 1: Water bed with sea waves effect and adjustable temperature. Chromo therapy Room 2: Double room. (Bed and tatami) • Cleopatras (Heated sunbeds) • Manual therapies. • Facial treatments. • Asiatic therapies. OTHER SERVICES: • 24 hrs. Room service. • 24 Hrs. Concierge service. • Laundry and valet service. • Multilingual personnel. • Closed Circuit TV. • Fire extinguishing system. • Wireless high speed internet connection. • Parking. • Valet. • Limousine service and luxury car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABaC Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abac Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
ABaC Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing