We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel. Faultless Service”
Review of ABaC Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABaC Barcelona
Ranked #7 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel. Faultless Service”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a weekend in Barcelona having been recommended to stay at the ABaC Hotel.

On arrival, the staff could not have been more polite and could not have been more helpful. After a brief check in, and a quick tour of the hotel, including the kitchen, we were taken to our 'Deluxe' room which was perfect for our 2 night stay. The facilities in the room included high speed wi-fi, a B&O TV, and Nespresso machine. The bed as other reviewer's have also said, was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

The hotel has a luxury spa with complimentary refreshments. Needless to say, we used the spa every day during our stay and found that we were in fact the only guests to use the facility.

The hotel is situated across the road from the subway which is the headstop for the L7 (Brown line). Within 10 minutes you are walking down La Rambla.

We didn't dine in the restaurant so can't comment, but if you want to stay in a small luxury hotel away from the hustle and bustle of central Barcelona, stay here. You can't go wrong.

We can't wait to return to the ABaC.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsMeAgain007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    58
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
345
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a place to take someone you really want to treat and enjoy a great dining night out. Ambience and atmosphere are very nice and create a warm, modern feeling. The chef prepares a couple of small welcome surprises for everyone to taste followed y in house baked bread. Wine list is extensive (especially in Spanish wines as one would have expected) and sommelier has done an excellent job in combining wines with food. We went for the degustation menu which involved several small plates. Highlights of these were the beef tartare done in 2 separate ways and the egg. These are ABAC signature dishes and i would go back again and again to taste these. Main dishes and deserts also at similar gastronomic levels with the starters. Service was very attentive by extremely profesional people. It is a joy and pleasure to see people like ABAC staff that take great joy and pride in what they do, this feeling is passed to the client in the utmost professional/friendly/discreet sort of manner, my deepest congratulations on the service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotsopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel was a bit away from the centre of Barcelona, but it was in a nice and lovely neighborhood. We had a suite and even though we were next to the road, we couldnt hear any noises from the roads outside. The Subway is just a cross the street and takes you straight down to La Rambla. The bed was very big and With the best cushions I have ever had in a hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We celebrated our proposal there and while we ate at the restaurant the staff made a very romantic setting in our room With candles and flowers in the bath.
The restaurant itself is worth the stay. The placement of our room made us walk through the Kitchen and what an experience. Wathcing twenty cooks create dinner was an Incredible sight. We went for the Grande menu with sixteen tastings. This sounds much, but is well worth it. Explosions of great taste in our mouth for every bite. The staff at the restaurant were very helpful and knew exactly when to serve and how to do it. Well worth a two star Michelin rating!!! If you are going for a romantic trip to Barcelona and want to celebrate something special, this is the place for you !
All in all, I couldnt get more satisfied With ABaV and their staff :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Quite a taxi journey from the port to the gates of food mecca ABaC at the foot of the mountains, but well worth it. Buzz the door at the gate, which swings open to a revel beautiful gardens and discreet luxury palisander architecture. This elegant two star restaurant also houses a hotel with 15 rooms. We were set for lunch, and had three starters. Large round tables generously spaced in a kool dining room on the minimalistic side, Zalto champagne glasses taking care of texture and bouquet. The sommelier were informed of our lacking competence on white Spanish wine, and with a hint of preference pointing to the Ramonet chassagne at €140, he recommended priorat wine Mas d´en compte 2008 from Cal Pla. Lovely elegant wine, mineral and rich almost without oak. The kitchen impressed from beginning to end, the servuce was considerate, friendly and as loose as possible at this level of fine dining - but never stiff. It seemed they took their pride in knowledge and presentation, and we felt immensely taken care of in a friendly and relaxed way by our Argentinian maitre and his MMA-looking sommelier. They and their staff of waiters did their best to secure not our luxurious lunch, but also were helpful making reservations and recommendations at similar restaurants for the rest of our stay. Mixed crowd, relaxed dressed catalan intellectual couple, the omnipresent plastically surgery of Americans discussing their favorite topic (themselves) and local beauties from the Catalan capitol, elegantly dressed. The dining hours are quite a challenge, having 7-12 course lunch at 4 and then dinner at...11? 12? But this food and wine temple is a must when visiting Barcelona for the food experiences. Nitro cocktails, gazpacho as sorbet, tiny gnocchi filled with liquid (!) parmesan, yuzu desserts, the meal is a gem from start to finish, well worth the bill just short of €380 including a well deserved although generous tip. The compositions are a delight for the eye, fun to eat, impressively considerate and intelligently manufactured. With the horribly stressed frenetic dishes fast-food delivered at well reputed Dos Palillos the night before, the perfect timing of each dish at ABaC was an academic pleasure of epic fine dining in our new favorite fine dining country. ABaC, we salute you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klodrik190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the ABAC hotel in Barcelona for 4 nights. The location was away from the main touristy part of town which made it very quiet pleasant. However, It was close to an easy to use metro so we had no problem getting to the main attractions.The service was wonderful; the staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were very modern and comfortable. Our only complaint was the bathrooms were a little too modern - the shower was unusual - one room for both the shower and tub even though they were separate.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed two nights in September, and the stay was a disaster from start to finish. To be honest, I just want to forget the experience, but I’m going to put it up here anyways. While there were several issues – the main one involved a “he said, she said” situation. When I left the room one night, I returned to find my IPAD on the bedside table, with the screen smashed in. I went down, met with management, and was advised that the cleaning lady left a report that she had found it that way when she entered the room. I didn’t take this news particularly well, given that I know the IPAD was fine when I left the room. I was promised another meeting the next day after the manager had talked to the cleaning lady.

The next day the manager tried to avoid me, despite repeated attempts to talk to her. Finally I got her at reception. She gave me every excuse in the book – “perhaps it fell off the table when I left the room.” I’m told I should have left it in the safe. I’m given a story about cameras. I’m told that the cleaning lady is a valued employee, who has been at the hotel since it opened, and they believe her. The bill for my two night stay ended up being close to 2000 Euros – and I’m being told fairly rudely, that I’m a liar.

I’m not somebody that deals with confrontation, I avoid it all costs – and the last place I expect it is at a five star hotel, when I’m paying almost 2000 Euros for a two day escape. Anyways – despite telling me she is the manager, eventually she sends me up the food chain to Hector – who I guess is the real manager. Hector’s not at the hotel, so I send him an email, explaining the situation, and tell him, that I’m not particularly thrilled to be charged 1,958 Euro’s for two nights, a lunch, and two massages – and then be told by the manager that they believe the cleaning lady over the customer.

The response from Hector only makes thing worse. He tells me that the previous person I dealt with handled the situation exactly the way she should, claims she never called me a liar, and tells me that while the price I paid for their services was considerable, I should consider the quality of the services.

Well Hector, in considering both the quality of the services, and the fact that your employee effectively called me a liar – I believe your hotel is lousy.

Your spa is terrible. It’s tiny – there’s one small change room for both sexes – without a shower in it. The reception/sitting area is in the same room as the Jacuzzi – so it’s about 85 degrees and humid in there. The air conditioning was broken the day I was there. I was told by the masseuse that they were supposed to fix it, but hadn’t gotten around to it. You have two massage rooms – only one of them has a tatami mat – so when my wife and I both requested Thai Massages – we were told we’d start off in one room, then half way thru, we’d switch rooms. In other words, half way thru the massage, we have to leave the room, wait ten minutes for them to clean the rooms, then we switch rooms and finish the massage. Not exactly relaxing – especially when we’re paying 135 Euros for the massage.

At lunch at your hotel, I told the server I didn’t like mushrooms, and asked if he could substitute a dish – I was told no, I couldn’t – and in addition to that dish, three other dishes came with a mushroom broth. At the same lunch, I said I’d like to try a local white wine, and was rudely given three choices by a hurried waiter – oaky, not oaky, or a little oaky – as if they were the only considerations in white wine.

And management is appalling. If you have any kind of issue, expect a poor response.

I’ve got a couple of young kids – I don’t get away as much as I’d like, or as much as I used to. The point of staying at expensive five-star hotels, is the notion that you will be taken care. Instead, I had my ipad smashed, dealt with confrontation, lost sleep, and had, what should have been a nice two day vacation ruined.

Anybody staying at this hotel should reconsider – there are plenty of other nice places, with much better locations, that I’m sure take care of their guests. Avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: Lots of great rooms at other hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Five-star-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked two Thai fusion massages at th Abac spa. When we arrived at the spa, you re told to change outside in a washroom. There is a tiny pool with two chairs in it, but they are right beside reception. Not exactly relaxing, and we didn't bring swimsuits. The steam room, which is a larger version of the personal shower ones, is also right beside reception with no walls in the extremely tiny place. The air conditioning was broken when we were there, so the room was extremely hot. nothing better than being covered in sweat for a massage. Then the masseuse, who was also the person at reception, told us there is only one room they can do Thai fusion in, so they made us have half the massage, get dressed, sit outside in the steamy hot room, and then finish the massage. Not an enjoyable or relaxing experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Brummell
Hotel Brummell
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABaC Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABaC Barcelona

Property: ABaC Barcelona
Address: Av. Del Tibidabo, 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — ABaC Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GASTRONOMY, ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN... A UNIQUE GOURMET EXPERIENCE ABaC Restaurant Hotel Monument 5* GL is located in Sarria-Sant Gervasi, the upper zone of Barcelona, with views to the Kennedy square and surrounded with the vegetation of La Tamarita gardens. Close to the most important points of the city. Work of the architect Antoni de Moragas, consists of two buildings integrated in a garden. The centennial building was refurbished due to its historical value and it was the old residence of Dona Madronita, an intellectual of the born Catalan bourgeoisie at the end of XIX century. She was the daughter of the famous pharmacist Dr. Andreu, and she was the wife of the North American Max Klein (president of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and one of the introducers of the basketball in Spain). On the other hand, the new crystal pavilion is covered of lattices of wood and joined the garden. Landscape and architecture give themselves the hand in a space of pure lines. ROOMS The hotel offers 15 luxurious rooms completely soundproof, with a vanguardist decoration, the greater comfort and technical advances. Room facilities: • Totally soundproof. • Parquet flooring and exotic wood. • Independent air conditioning & heating. • Wireless high Speed internet connection. • Bang & Olufsen telephon • Bang & Olufsen 32", 42" & 50" television. • DVD. • Direct telephone line. • "Merten" remote control for lights and blinds. • "Nespresso" coffee machine. • Mini-bar. • Safety box. • 2X2 Mattress "Treca de Paris" • Linen yarn. • Gaston & Daniela textiles. • Working desk. • Jacuzzi with chromo therapy. • 40X40, Rain effect shower. • Welcome amenities: Hermes • Hairdryer. DINING In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 P.M. And where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin. MEETING-ROOMS Conference and events meeting rooms, from 2 to 60 people, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience for all present and successful outcome to your meeting. SPA - ELEMIS Located in a private area of the ABaC Hotel, this is the place to find the most personalised gift for our customers: Their Wellbeing. • Jacuzzi with underwater sunbeds • Cold pool • Hammam • Two treatment cabins Room 1: Water bed with sea waves effect and adjustable temperature. Chromo therapy Room 2: Double room. (Bed and tatami) • Cleopatras (Heated sunbeds) • Manual therapies. • Facial treatments. • Asiatic therapies. OTHER SERVICES: • 24 hrs. Room service. • 24 Hrs. Concierge service. • Laundry and valet service. • Multilingual personnel. • Closed Circuit TV. • Fire extinguishing system. • Wireless high speed internet connection. • Parking. • Valet. • Limousine service and luxury car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABaC Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abac Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
ABaC Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing