We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and funky...eating out expensive!!”
Review of Barcelo Raval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Raval
Ranked #105 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hip and funky...eating out expensive!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a hip hotel for couples and friends who like a chilled out vibe in cool contemporary surroundings. If you are from an inner city area the location will not phase you, it is perfectly safe and overlooks a tree lined pedestrian area where there is a market for tourists selling handmade bag etc. Yes you will see small groups of men talking outside some of the small shops, the same as you see groups of men smoking and talking in Morocco, Turkey and Tunisia etc., nothing to be alarmed about. We walked down any of the three streets to get to the Ramblas, and found no hostility at all...the streets are packed with tourists! If you want a 10minute walk to the Port Vell, turn left outside the hotel and avoid the jostling down the Ramblas.The Boqueria market is great for a fresh juice or just to look at the impressive fish and ham stalls.It is just off the Ramblas.
We took the bus tour but were not impressed as we were in a leisurely mood, my partner planned to get off at the football stadium but there were a lot of crowds and it cost 22 euros for entry. Overall we were suprised and somewhat unprepared for the cost of eating out.....on average 60 euros for lunch or dinner in a mid range restaurant, no starter or dessert and one drink each!

We headed down to Port Olypmic and had a fab seafood meal at "Salamanca" which included free olives and breads and free cake and liquors afterwards....huge portions, monkfish and prawns to die for! Definitely good value compared to the restaurants on and around the Ramblas. Even the Tapas bars are expensive compared to London!?
Another great restaurant is "Marmalade" for handmade steak burgers and cava cocktails, they also do a nice" recovery brunch".

Make sure you take a drink(buy a bottle form one of the little ethnic shops outside the hotel and down Hospital street ) up to the roof terrace late afternoon and catch some rays, listening to the jazzy Motown music playing up there.

Sagrada Familial is under a lot of construction, but we enjoyed Guell Park...take the metro for 3 euros(6 stops) to Vallcarca for amazing views and we also liked the Guell Place, just off the Ramblas.

Great brekkie at the hotel and reception staff are super friendly and helpful, no complaints.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are from floor 1 to 5,roooms above floor 5 are more expensive but have better views.2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaybugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    1,187
    321
    83
    49
See reviews for
349
1,744
91
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from a week in Barcelona staying in two Barcelo hotels. This was the second hotel and we were very doubtful about staying there after reading some of the reviews. However we had a great stay and would recommend it highly. We found the hotel staff absolutely excellent. Superb command of English, helpful and willing to do their utmost to make us feel special. They presented us with a voucher for a free glass of Cava as a welcome gesture. We departed late afternoon and our luggage was stored efficiently and loaded into a taxi for us. The hotel is decorated in an unusual way however the rooms are very clean, well equipped and the view from our 10th floor room was only slightly spoiled by the mesh on the window. The views from the 360 rooftop terrace were amazing.
Breakfast is very good again. Wide choice of bread, pastries and cakes. continental meats and cheeses. Excellent selection of fruit, juices and milkshakes. Good pork sausages and roasted vegetables.The coffee was very good. The only drawback was on the 2nd morning when we were later down to breakfast and it was quite crowded - but it was Easter! Evening Tapas in the restaurant was very good. Not the cheapest but beautifully presented and delicious. On the negative, yes the hotel is in a dodgy area (although very close to La Rambla- so convenient) however we didn't feel terribly unsafe at any time during our visit while walking around during the days. One eve we returned late and chose to take a taxi that dropped us to the door where the very pleasant security man was waiting to greet guests. The area is reflected in the room prices as this is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest rooms as the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Sad to have to write such a review but need to warn future tourists about staying here. We have stayed twice in this hotel and have found it comfortable and welcoming. The trouble is, it is a top end hotel in a very bad area. Glad to return home yesterday, having been mugged on the way back from restaurant one evening this week. The adjacent streets have definitely worsened. A gang of about seven or eight surrounded us, pushing and shoving, asking us "friendly" questions. Our son, the most threatening for them I suppose, was surrounded while they took my husband's wallet. He had been walking at the back of the group. The wallet had been in a secure pocket but they still took it and he had no sensation of them doing so. I have always been an Hispanophile, loving the country, culture, language and specifically the city of Barcelona but now feel disillusioned and vulnerable. It was not just a chance pickpocketing. This group had obviously singled us out. Yes, we will learn from it but, even so, we are seasoned travellers and had deliberately avoided the smaller alleyways. However, they were very slick. Just a few minutes after it happened, my son was approached again in a similar way! Got the feeling this time that the people in this area definitely did not like us and did not want us there. I spoke to police who drove by and again the next day at the police station but they did not really want to know. So, if you are staying at this hotel, pay extra for a taxi to and from when you go out at night. Despite putting a brave face on it, this type of incident really does spoil your stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Big black statues, over-sized lampshades and funky decor. Not really my style but bed was large and comfortable and room very clean. Semi-open plan layout. Great view from 10th floor. Small gym but no pool (weird bit of water on roof terrace labelled as pool but more like small water feature!). Breakfast ok but nothing special. Central location easy to walk to Ramblas, Montjuic and Barceloneta from. Slightly dodgy area so take care. We paid 2 nights with tesco vouchers and for a third ourselves so good value but wouldn't have booked it at full price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlittergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My son and I were visiting Barcelona to see the local heroes at Camp Nou. The stay at Barcelo Raval was fun and a little different from what we are used to. The Rooms are brigtly collered red and white with the bathroom integrated into the rest of the room - but still seperate. We enjoyed the small pool at the roof, the fantastic 360 view and the roof bar in the afternoons. the breakfast was good and the location is excelent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joakim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Can't fault the service at this hotel, albeit a little slow in the bar. Rooms are nice, well equipped but decor is very dark everywhere which doesn't really help the overall feeling being a little claustrophobic. The entire hotel is encased in metal gridding, so all views from windows are restricted by this as you look out through a mesh. There are however, good all round views from the roof terrace, but this in reality, is much smaller than photos would suggest (they must have had them taken by a good estate agent!). The roof "pool" is nothing more than a large hot tub that isn't hot, there are tables and chairs to sit and admire the view, but these obstruct the way round when people are sat at them, and to be honest, you can't see much sitting down anyhow as the sides to the roof terrace are about 4 feet high.
Stairwells are very dark indeed, so use with caution or wait for the slow lifts to arrive (only 1 of 3 go to the roof so it can be quite a wait), corridors very dark and the room lighting too. There is no privacy in the open plan shower, particularly with the mirrored doors too, so only share with someone you know well! Happy to report there is a sliding door to the loo! Not a great deal of wardrobe space if you're staying more than a couple of days but the beds are very comfortable indeed.
Overall a decent contemporary hotel, a little bit weird in it's choice of dark decor everywhere, and more than a little bit odd given the location. The best way to describe this hotel is it's like being inside an alien spaceship that has crash landed in a ghetto. I know others say the area is no so bad, but the appearance is dreadful, grafitti everywhere and washing hanging over every balcony, lots of dodgy looking characters hanging around and doesn't feel safe - regardless of whether it actually is safe or not, it doesn't look safe or feel safe. An odd experience indeed!

Room Tip: Higher up gives a better view but you can't see much anyway cause of the metal grids
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nics169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The rooms were dark with inadequate lighting. There were no windows and it felt like being in a cage.
The rooms were small and had no privacy for the shower, they are also badly designed.
Maybe ok for one person.
Oh and the "swimming pool" is a puddle and they should advertise it as such.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmcdonnaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 513 in Barcelona
3,829 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
1,614 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Raval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Raval

Property: Barcelo Raval
Address: Rambla del Raval 17-21, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Raval 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Barcelo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Raval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Raval Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Raval
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Raval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing