We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious, intimate & above all excellent Italian restaurant”

Le Cucine Mandarosso
Ranked #597 of 9,771 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Serious, intimate & above all excellent Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a great little Italian restaurant - really cosy & intimate & without any of that 'square plate' formality that sometimes accompanies fine Italian dining. The pumpkin lasagna was excellent as were the Lumacone - stuffed with ricotta and mushrooms .... really divine! The interior is really fun, original and quirky - our table was an old wooden office desk with a marble slab on top & lit with an ancient angle poise lamp. It's clear that as much love has gone into the interior as goes into the cooking . Well done Pietro - we will be back soon !
NB: Word of warning : make a reservation - particularly on a Friday night & at the weekend as it is usually full & you will see expectant impulse diners being turned away while you're at your table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theterminator65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    147
    48
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Italian cuisine”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal in cosy friendly restaurant.

Delicious starters followed by very good pasta mains and good dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 909nickc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My friends and I loved the restaurant, it's Italian rustic interior and great service. Our entrees were amazing, the mains good, and wine is great with a good selection. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julz-T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little corner of Italy near Palau de la Musica”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Le Cucine Mandarosso is reknown for its italian pasta dishes, made with dry pasta. Portions are a little small for me, and the prices aren't the cheapest (13€ for the pasta) but the dishes are very good. The desserts are top notch (5€ a piece if I remember well), they are the same ones you can get at Mandarosso Pastis (which is a wonderful cafe/bar/pastry shop in the neighborhood). The decoration at Cucine Mandarosso is also very tasteful, the cosy atmosphere is suitable for a date, and occasionally they organize concerts with Italian bands. It's recommended to book ahead of time, especially in the weekend. This is a good place to go to if you're willing to spend about 30€ a head, then you can have a great dinner with some delicious antipasti, pasta, dessert and wine... or you can go at lunchtime and enjoy their 10€ menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeromeD_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best pasta dish we have ever tasted!! Mmmm mmmm”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My boyfriend and I had read really good reviews about this Resturant in our lonely planet book however we wanted to check it out for ourselves being big lovers of Italian food. We have to admit we thought the food tasted amazing it really was the best pasta we had ever tasted. I couldn't finish my whole portion but my boyfriend managed to eat his and my own with a whole ball of mozzarella each as starters! We would definitely recommend it to Italian lovers.

The location of the Resturant was tricky to locate and it was closed on the Monday when we first decided to check it out. Also the menu had no English translations. Luckily for us my boyfriend speaks Spanish and the staff have good English so we managed to work out what to order easily enough although the waitress serving us was quite moody and seemed frustrated with our questions, however we did not let it ruin our night everyone has a bad day at work .

Now we are home we are still reminiscing about how lovely the meal was and how we want to go back there and taste their lovely food! It was truely authentic to Italy with a Spanish twist, perfection!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cucine Mandarosso also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Le Cucine Mandarosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing