We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel prices but none of the ammenities!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MH Apartments Family
Ranked #209 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel prices but none of the ammenities!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at this location one week ago. Unfortunately, our experience was not great. We arrived from a long flight, did not call from the airport, as we did not have a european cell phone - when we arrived at the apartment, no one was there and there wasn't anyone on sight to help out. Our taxi driver felt sorry for us and called from his cell phone, the lady who answered was discourteous, at best, and scolded us for not calling ahead. She told me to look around, I was not staying at a hotel, and that no one would be there for another 2 hours. We walked around Barcelona, on Good Friday, a holiday, with children and large suitcases trying to find a cafe or something open to wait out our time. 2 hours later, returned to the apartment where a lady met us, said we needed to take out the garbage before we left, told us we could email requests or concerns to them. Our apartment didn't have working wifi - we were there 4 days, 3 nights and were only able to connect the night before we left. We asked for one more roll of toilet paper, as we had run out, and asked if they could help us secure a ride to the airport. We were told yes to the ride and then told they didn't provide extra toilet paper usually, but they would send someone this time. Keep in mind, you will receive 2 rolls of toilet paper for your stay (we were a family of four saying four days!!) There is no shampoo, conditioner, or even hand soap provided. We had to run out and buy that the day after arrival. You will also only get four medium size towels and there is no room service,etc. therefore, you make your own beds, reuse your towels,and don't forget to take the garbage out!!! As a side note, it was interesting when they emailed back telling us they had secured a taxi for us, they instructed us to wait inside the apartment for the taxi- not in the streets with suitcases- I wonder where this recommendation was when they had us walk around 2 hours for check in.

Room Tip: Don't Stay here unless you are familiar with the area and don't need any guidance from a loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_MH, Director Comercial at MH Apartments Family, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear client,

We are so sorry you didn't experience a great stay in one of our apartments. As you see, we are a company of apartments in Barcelona with 10 buildings of apartments in all areas, as our name says we are apartments and not hotels. Your agency must inform you about that and inform you as well that you must contact us one week before to inform your estimated arrival time and the day of the arrival all the clients must contact us to arrange the meeting time because we don't have reception, we don't have any phone or mail to contact you before your arrival. Check in time is from 2 pm and the earliest time we can meet you at 1.30. We are apartments and we don't have services like room service, amenities, etc. Toilet paper we only give for the first moments, sorry. We always give 1 set of towel per person (1 hand/ 1 bath towel). If you experienced not working wifi you didn't inform us in the time you stayed, so now we couldn't do anything.

About the garbage thing, it's just a recommendation and it's a way of living here in Barcelona, everynight the people leave the garbage in the containers. As well as we don't have maid service every days (just for bookings more than 7 nights), we recommend to take out the garbage.

We don't have cleaning service, but we have other services like washer and dryer/ dishwasher/ complete kitchen, 2 bedroom, characteristics you won't find in a hotel.

About the taxi thing, that we told you to wait inside, it's just to not get another taxi that passes in that time. We order taxis with a company and usually people who wait outside take other taxis, and the taxi company goes and don't find anyone, it's just for that. The area is very safe, the neighbourhood is so secure.

We want to inform you that we have other buildings named "Deluxe" with some more facilities, lockers for the luggages if you arrive before the check in time, welcome amenities, but not in this building MH Gaudi.

We apologise if don't find well the accommodation. We invite you to come again to one of our apartments if you have the chance to come again to Barcelona and contact directly with us, to our website of MH Apartments, we of course we will have a special attention with you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    24
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very good location. Clean and well-equipped apartment. Check-in worked extremely efficiently. Only quibble is that the dishwasher was temperemental

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were met by the representative who arrived within 15 minutes of making the call, so very prompt service, she was very helpful and told us everything we needed to know about the apartment and the location, where to eat etc. The rep also informed us that they could arrange taxi for us to the airport. As we has already pre booked transport through EasyJets resporthoppa we did not need to arrange it, but it's worth knowing if you're thinking of staying here.
We had apartment 32, very clean, everything you need and more than comfortable for 3 of us (all adults). Security was not an issue and we felt very safe.
The location is good, quiet, 5 mins to restaurants and metro. there are plenty of supermarkets and bakeries within the vicinity and there was a deli next door to the apratments. We found a local bar by the Sagrada Familia which sold Cava for 1.80 per glass, and a great Italian restaurant which was full but they fitted us in. We had pizza, 2 glasses of wine for 11 euro each, which seemed very reasonable. Metro is easy to use and on 2 main lines, you have to change to get to the Ramblas but only takes about 15 mins in total. Walking to Ramblas takes about 20 mins.
Would certainly recommend the apartments and the location to anyone who wants more of a location away from the hustle and bustle but still have plenty to do and see in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcangelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This is a great apartment located only a couple of minutes walk from Sagrada Famila and the metro station. The area felt very safe as did the apartment ( No. 51 ) Very tastefully decorated and maintained to a good standard. The apartment had everything you need, hairdryer, washing machine, iron, dishwasher and internet that worked very well. Check in was easy and there was a representative waiting for us with the key and to show us the apartment when we arrived .... no waiting. I would be pleased to recommend this apartment to friends and family visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrenchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_MH, Marketing at MH Apartments Family, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your time in reviewing your stay in MH Apartments Opera Rambla. We are very proud that you had a great stay in Barcelona.

We hope you come back soon to Barcelona again in any of our buildings.

Best regards,

The MH Apartments Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Great budget apartment. Clean, simple, easy. Recommended.

Convenient to La Sagrada Familia, metro & amenities. Well set up. 2nd bedroom was small but rest of apartment was spacious & well-equipped. Good kitchen. Wi-fi worked (had to enter access key in ALL-CAPS). We were concerned about some previous reviews regarding security (access by non-occupant) which is a possible risk whenever the building key & apartment key are the same. This was easily solved whilst in the apartment by leaving the key in a lock, rotated a quarter turn, which prevents a key inserted from the outside from opening the door. There was no problems with anybody attempting to access the apartment either while we were in it nor at any other time throughout our stay.

No problems with pickpockets (but we were taking all sensible precautions: using money belts, being alert, etc & was not peak season)

Only negatives were:
1/- at 6am on the Sunday morning: tenants from one of the other apartments had forgotten their key & banged noisily on building door for 15 mins until let in & this reverberated in the interior space & was hugely noisy

2/- no spare toilet paper provided

Person who met us was punctual & gave reliable information on directions to nearest supermarkets.

Appreciated the chosen decor (Gaudi prints) & presence in dining room of wall-map of city.

Once mastered the metro was very easy to get to other parts of town.

Room Tip: WiFi key ALL-CAPS; leave key in lock, 1/4 turn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jforkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Clean and comfortable. Second bedroom was very small with no room for packing cases. Good if you are on a budget as there are kitchen facilities. Excellent location within walking distance of the Sagrada Familias. The rep who let us into the apartment was very helpful and gave us advice about local restaurants. Watch out for pick pockets on the subway!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed in unit 51 for just an afternoon, but check out after finding that a couple of key features didn't work as promised and that the previous guests experienced the very same problems which had gone unresolved for 8 days.

One of the main selling points of the MH Apartments Gaudi for us was the free wireless Internet, which we required for our work. The Internet was not working when we arrived, and although the maintenance man was working on it with the service company that afternoon, it never worked correctly and MH was unable to tell us when it would be available. Furthermore, we discovered from the comment sheet left by the previous guests that their Internet service wasn't available for the entire 8 days they stayed there.

The shower hose and shower plumbing were both broken: The shower provided only scalding hot water (it was impossible to turn down the hot water and the control for the cold water was not functional), and to make matters worse the shower hose had a leak which sprayed the scalding water all over. The previous guests' comments indicated they had complained about this problem and that it remained unresolved during their 8 day stay.

Furthermore, in a strange feat of plumbing, the hot and cold controls for the shower were almost two meters high (over 6 feet) making it impossible for my wife to ever reach them.

The apartment was very clean and the neighborhood is quiet and pleasant, but we do not recommend MH Apartments Gaudi due to the poor maintenance issues and misleading promises about features such as wireless Internet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinHardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
MH Apartments Tetuan
MH Apartments Tetuan
#360 of 513 in Barcelona
81 reviews
El Raval
MH Apartments Liceo
MH Apartments Liceo
#454 of 513 in Barcelona
95 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments
MH Apartments
#78 of 723 in Barcelona
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MH Apartments S. Familia
#214 of 723 in Barcelona
73 reviews
El Raval
MH Apartments Center
MH Apartments Center
#158 of 723 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments Suites
MH Apartments Suites
#305 of 723 in Barcelona
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Apartments Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Apartments Family

Property: MH Apartments Family
Address: Carrer Rossello, 448, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — MH Apartments Family 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Apartments Gaudi are located at the heart of the Eixample district, 5 minutes walking from one of the most important touristic attraction in Barcelona, the Gaudi's Sagrada Familia.New apartment's building from 2008, really warm and well decorated apartments. Every apartment contains a complete equiped lounge with a independent and modern kitchen and 2 bedrooms with one complete bathroom. Free WIFI and International T.V. Channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MH Apartments Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mh Apartments Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
MH Apartments Family Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing