We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Travelled with a group of 20. Rooms are compact but have private bathrooms and are clean and modern. There is a small bar with a large terrace and the hostel is close to the Metro making everything in Barca within easy reach. They provide meals for group bookings and packed lunches and evening meal were very good. Breakfast more basic. The main downside was the very drunk football fans (there was Champions League game on) but to their credit the hostel ejected them after one night. Wating for the lift can be a pain (hostel is on 12 floors) and walls are thin so a bit noisy but staff very freindly and helpful.
I would stay their again with friends looking for a cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room at end the end of the corridor (away from the noisy lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thinktoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

I made a reservation at this hostel back in September. When I arrived, I was surprised to discover that this hostel charges for every single thing on their premises: lockers, towels, Internet, etc. And they do not provide even the basics, like soap! Worst of all, they wanted me to pay an extra fee for paying with a credit card. After I made a comment regarding this, the front desk guy--who did not really understand what I was saying (in English)--got offended and upset and started cursing, as he was trying to make me understand that this place is a hostel and not a hotel. I got that! What I don't get is why the staff/owners of this hostel think that means it's acceptable to be stingy and cheap. They seem to think that since most of their guests are young and inexperienced travelers they can rip people off. Finally, this place is not as accessible as other reviewers suggest. It is cheap, yes. But you must take the metro everywhere, and the cost of this offsets what you may save by staying here. There are many better and well-located places in Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Yorg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We came to Urbany Hostel in Barcelona after a friend recommended it. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, the beds were very big and comfortable with clean sheets and the rooms had an ensuite bathroom which was great! it was also just across the road from the metro station which takes you to the heart of barcelona in about 10-15 minutes. There was free access to the gym and pool and also they provide free club entries which is a bonus! The neighbourhood itself didn't have a lot going on but the hostel was great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibchilled12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Great location if you need to be near transport. We booked double room, got 4 bed room but sented as twin room with private bathroom.
Ecxellent rooftop bar! Staff is very kind, free wifi in the bar, cheap drinks, good vibe!
Place has spa, but we didn't have time to try it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here while looking for an apartment in Barcelona. I stayed seven nights in a room for six girls, the rooms were small for six persons, but it had lockers so my things were safe, it was also very clean and nice. The breakfast area and bar was also great, and a nice place to hang out to meet people. The staff were so great and helpful with everything, it is a little bit far from the city center, but close to the metro so it was not a problem. I had a great stay and will definately recomend this hostel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I liked this hostel a lot, one of the best ones I've ever stayed! Very modern and clean, lots of space and great facilities. We stayed in a female dorm - very clean bathroom, working ac, quiet location... Breakfast was very simple but at least it was something. I'd totally recommend!

Room Tip: Female dorms have hair dryers and -straighteners ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miiau47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here on a fieldtrip and can recommend it for large groups. The location not central but is near to the underground so easy to access places. The rooms themselves are basic, but lockers are great to keep things safe. The beer is cheap and the terrace is brilliant for socialising with friends at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WishingforParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 739 in Barcelona
1,619 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#123 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
INOUT Hostel
#418 of 739 in Barcelona
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
1,380 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#66 of 739 in Barcelona
938 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urbany Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbany Barcelona Hostel

Address: Avinguda Meridiana 97, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £17 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Urbany Barcelona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Urbany Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Urbany Hotel Barcelona
Urbany Barcelona Hostel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing