We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive is worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #191 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Executive is worth every penny”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a surprise trip to Barcelona for my partner’s birthday and panicked when I saw some of the bad reviews of this hotel.

The bad reviews caused me unnecessary stress before arriving at the hotel but once we had arrived all that stress was relieved.

We were dealt with by Sergio a welcoming and friendly member of staff in the level lounge check in. You get private check in when you book an executive room. My partner sat down with some free drink and food whilst I checked us in.

Our room was gorgeous! Views of the sea and floor to ceiling windows to get the full benefit. There was a beautiful message written to my partner on our bathroom mirror which really made my partner smile.

We went to the level lounge in the evening where we drank and ate for free - this is also part of the executive experience. Lovely tapas and any alcohol you can think of including champagne.

When we returned to our room a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us. What a lovely end to a beautiful day.

Thank you Melia for such a wonderful stay and making my partners birthday extra special.

A note to add is that the breakfast buffet could do with improving as the food doesn't match the standards of the hotel. There should be a better system in place for teas and coffees as we didn't get our drinks until after our breakfast. To any future guests please know that the breakfast is still lovely (maybe 3 star) and you can grab orange juice whilst you wait for tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Book executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank directinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear directing...,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that specially Sergio will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    842
    373
    174
    109
See reviews for
315
1,205
80
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hotel views and service were amazing! We stayed in The Level, and although I am glad we paid extra for it, the rooms were a little tired. not quite what I would expect from 5*. The Level staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly, although the buffet took a little while to be replenished. The Spa was a bit of a disappointment due to staff friendliness and helpfulness, which for us let the experience down. But overall this is a lovely hotel and should definately be an option, if for the views alone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank 12KMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive review 12KMS!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If you want to stay in a sky scraper this is your chance. Not high by Asian or American standards it is still one of the highest buildings in Barcelona but it is not for everyone. It is not exactly a luxury hotel and not as modern as it looks. It is geared towards business travelers.
We arrived early and did not expect to be able to check in. The receptionist told us that the system was down but could she have our credit card anyway. We refused especially as we had heard of skimming stories. See one the earlier reviews. The porter was very helpful though and kept our bags for us and gave us directions. When we returned the afternoon reception staff knew nothing about a system down, and gave us our room forthright. We had been upgraded. Fantastic. And our room was almost on the top floor with an amazing view of Barcelona.
The room was boutique style, well designed with a small bathroom which you look into through glass from the room. There is a big sliding door that opens on one side to the shower and another side to the clothes cupboard. Dangerous if one of you is exiting the shower as the other is getting something from the cupboard. There is a big Tv which we did not use and a very comfortable bed and a small lounge chair. The room is lit by a complicated electronic control panel which we could not figure out. Like wise the air conditioning could not be turned down . Eventually a technician came to clean the filters and it immediately worked better. The fittings are all quite cheap for a 5 star hotel but they work and the room looked good. What makes it special is the incredible building itself and the view and all that glass.
Breakfast was good but the design restaurant where it was served was not to my taste. The gym was adequate if a little small. The small Yhi spa was very refreshing and relaxing at the same time. The pool looked clean and inviting but we did not use it. The hotel is away from the tourist area but if you do not mind walking to the nearest metro it is in a good position for anywhere in the city.
When we checked out we had the original receptionist again. This time the computer was not down and we paid by credit card. She took the card quickly into the back. We checked with our credit card company and apparently two attempts were made to withdraw money. Of course we cannot prove anything but apparently card skimming at hotels is becoming quite common.
But don't let it spoil your stay in the sky scraper. We certainly did not. The highlight of our stay was treating ourselves to the culinary delights of the Dos Cielos restaurant, a gourmet restaurant of exceptional standing situated in the hotel.

Room Tip: The best view s are on the top. You can also upgrade to The Level and have exclusive entrance to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive review Chris P!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel a little run down, could do with freshening up! Staff don't listen and are very slow. We had a young baby with us and our room was over an hour late on check in, they used a number of excuses why it wasn't ready

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Catherine B:

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very nice hotel for sure but with some flaws that need to be solved.
The hotel is so much focused on conference guests but forget about leisure guests.
Swimming pool was nice but so difficult to get some snacks, drink or lunch.
My first room was without WIFI, or better to say the WIFI isn’t working well. And no bath, If I can remember I must have a bath with the room I booked. Doesn’t matter about the bath but WIFI is essential for me.
It was solved, we got another room now with bath and working WIFI. And we also got a free breakfast! Thank you for that Melia

xoxo

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiangertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive review Fashiongentrix!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is just top! The staff is very friendly and guest orientated. Every morning we had been greeted and escorted to our table for breakfast by a very lovely restaurant host and the guest experience coordinator Mr Simone De Sisti is one of the best we ever came around. He was recommending the spots to visit at Barcelona and even helped us reserving online a visit of the Sagrada Familia in order to avoid a long waiting line. Just perfect.
The rooms are spacious and clean. International TV chains and a beautiful bathroom and a superb view from the top floors are truly a perfect memory add on for this stay.
The gym on the 5th floor is great and as well friendly staff here.
The hotel itself is just 2km away from the beach and two blocks from the next Metro station bringing you downtown.
So, all in all you see that this hotel should be your first choice visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room, upper floor over viewing the beach...and take the LEVEL access. The plus is rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Mario K,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that specially Simone will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The view of the city was wonderful, as was the service and the people. The only issue I did have was that the concierge couldn't help us get tickets to a local show. Otherwise, they took great care of our room and of us. They printed our tickets to the Segrada Familia, so we didn't have to wait in line. They let us extend our stay by 2 days, so we didn't have to find a new hotel and the reception desk people were so nice!!! Also, very conveniently located near the L4 train station.

I highly recommend staying here for those who want "W" quality at a reasonable price! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillicanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Gillicanty,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that they will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#146 of 513 in Barcelona
2,334 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#197 of 513 in Barcelona
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#175 of 513 in Barcelona
3,572 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Property: Melia Barcelona Sky
Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing