We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely But Pricey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #187 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely But Pricey!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great hotel with friendly staff who provide genuine, quality customer service. Nicely located in the more modern part of the city, close to the beach and public transport.
Opt for breakfast if you stay, as there is a broad range of food on offer, all good quality.
The only downsides are the cost of services and amenities. For a 5 star hotel, rooms are also a little small. The spa is good and staff are fantastic, but treatments are limited and very expensive. Drinks are excessively overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Beeb A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and location, the breakfast were too you liking. We are sorry to hear that our cost of services and the treatment of the spa are not satisfactory.

After reading your review we are taking steps to manage the situations which this areas and fix them to improve and provide the best quality as Melia give to all of his customers.

We looking for see you again in you next stay in Barcelona with us.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    805
    348
    167
    98
See reviews for
291
1,136
74
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A girl friend and I Booked for a long weekend. We stayed on the 17th Floor. Make sure you book a floor high enough so you can have access to the level bar. This is great it’s all you can eat and drink from 7am until 11pm. The food is only snacky but great for when you are down by the pool and fancy an hour out of the sun. Sadly it all has to be consumed in the lounge but the view is great so that makes up for it. In the bar area you also have your won concierge desk and we spent a lot of time talking to the girls asking were we should go and they told us some great places. The room was a good size and I bed was very comfortable. It is a little way out but there is a metro very close or you can get a taxi into the centre for about 10 euros. The pool is a nice size and breakfast options are incredible. All the staff bend over backwards to help. I would love to go back to Barcelona and I will 100% stay there again. Great hotel!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room that has accsess to the level lough (an extra 15 euros a night but so wort...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great staff, really helpful and will bend over backwards to help us out
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charotte w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear charotte w,

We would like to thank you for your kind words in your review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was satistifactory as the service of the level and from our Melia staff, we really appreciate it.

At Melia Barcelona Sky is one of our primary goals and we are happy that we could have been of assistance.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Guest Regards Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice Hotel close to the beach. Good Metro access. Rooms are comfortable, stylish, nice Pool area. Free wifi with good and stable signal. Forget about Breakfast, as it is 22 Euros and totally overpriced for what is offered. Would stay again if my preference is to be close to the beach, especially in the summer months. Very nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank friendlybadservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear friendlybadservices,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, the style, the pool area and the neighborhood around our hotel.

We would like to thank you again for your time and for this great review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in April. We had a room on the eighth floor, facing away from the ocean. Everything in the room (lights, window curtains) are controlled by a panel next to the bed. So our first morning after arriving, I thought I'd do my wife a favour by opening the curtains while she was having a shower (there is a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom, so I thought she would appreciate the morning sunlight). When I hit the button to open the automated curtains, there was a man washing the windows hanging out in front of our room. I'm lying on the bed naked and he can see my wife in the shower. It was like I was in a Jacques Tati film. I immediately hit the "close" button.
The door to our room wouldn't lock properly, so the manager kindly moved us to the 18th floor, this time on the ocean side with a nice view. We enjoyed great breakfasts at the hotel buffet, which is above-average. We liked the hotel and enjoyed our stay. But each time we took a taxi home at night, the cabbies gave us the runaround and pretended not to know where the hotel was located. One drove in the opposite direction of our hotel and I had to ask him to turn around and go the other way, pointing out on a map where the hotel was located. He even had the nerve to try to charge us the increased fare. We took the Metro after that, which stops two blocks from the hotel, which is only a few blocks from the beach and about a 30 minute walk to La Rambla.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are better, but cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouverguy154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Vancouverguy154943,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We apologize for the inconveniences that the windows cleaning makes during your first morning. We seek that the cleaning of the windows for outside don’t faces with the hours of the guest and we are very sorry for this situation.

After reading your review we are taking steps to manage the situations which this areas and fix them to improve and provide the best quality as Melia give to all of his customers.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with a sea view, the breakfast and overall stay with us. We always try to give the best to our customers, and we are deeply sorry that you don’t achieve if was the case of your first room.

We looking to see you again in our hotel and we will pleasant to served you and take care each detail during your stay.

Best regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I didn't hate this hotel. I just didn't like it much. When we checked in, around midnight (flight delay), we wanted to have a drink/snack, but check in told us that the only bar open was the Dos Cielos restaurant bar. So we went up there, ordered some daiquiris as they didn't have a drinks menu and the waiter had suggested they were good. Yes, they were fine, but upon checkout we realised they were 17 euros each. Obviously this is because the restaurant is michelin starred, but we just wanted a drink. I now realise there were plenty of bars not far from the hotel, but reception didn't suggest that, and the streets looked empty and dead.
The corridors smelt of mouldy carpets. The industrial design thing was trendy about five years ago, although I didn't mind that.
Room: fine. not amazing, but seemed clean, and the beds were really good. Air conditioning fine, worked out the buttons for lights and blinds. Annoying that the bathroom supplies were not replenished, I had to use the shampoo i had brought with me. TV had only Spanish stations, which I found quite odd.
Pool bar service (next day): anytime you order anything, allow half an hour for it to arrive. Even just a coffee or some water. I'm not complaining about the prices, i fully expect hotel bars to be expensive. One day we ordered a club sandwich and a wrap. They took over half an hour to arrive, having clearly been sitting behind the bar as the toasted bread was soft. Ingredients poor quality (reformed chicken slices), all tasted stale and cheap. Still, at least the bar staff were so incompetent that they forgot to charge it to our room. Pool area itself is quite nice, we liked the beanbags.
Breakfast: lovely. That was the favourite part of our stay, good selection of food, constantly replenished. Lovely jamon, fruit, great olive bread, cheese etc.
Gym: tiny. Guess that didn't matter so much, but it's amusing to read that the broken running machine has been broken for many weeks. Makes me wonder if there's something wrong with the hotel's budget.
Somehow the whole thing didn't work. We are two female friends in our early 30s, so we are clearly the target market. But we're hardly going to be wowed by a couple of cool design touches if the basics don't work. I want simple things: my order to be remembered and delivered in a reasonable time. To receive useful advice on where to have a drink late at night. To feel as if anyone in the hotel actually cares whether i had a nice time, rather than just waiting to be able to charge my card. It simply had no charm, but at the time no wow factor.

Room Tip: I guess they're all the same.
See more room tips
Green Features: i don't want to read about Melia sky's environmental friendliness.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Olga1922,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay, referring to the pool service, and the replenishing of bath amenities.

We are sorry to hear that your food and drinks were not served in a timely fashion. In the summer months we have extra employees working at the pool to serve everyone in a timely fashion. Also we are working with the housekeeping department to avoid mistakes when cleaning rooms.

On a positive note we are pleased to read that you liked our breakfast, and that you found our beds comfortable.

Ones again we thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Unfortunately I read some of previous reviews before we went however decided to go with an open mind.
The hotel lived up to some of the negative reviews, we arrived early and were told our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm... Fine... Returned at 3pm to be told our room still wasn't ready and it wasn't ready until 4.30pm with us having to chase the staff up. This was happening to other guests too. No real apology or explanation was given.
The room itself could be updated however as we were planning to spend more time in Barcelona and not in the hotel this didn't really bother us.
The next let down was on our first morning after an early run there was no water supply to our room. I contacted the hotel services and was told that there was no water supply above the 15th floor, I asked if we could shower elsewhere and was told she would ring back in 5mins. An hour later she returned my call saying we could shower in the wellness centre, information I had already gained from the concierge by running down and presenting my sweaty self in full running gear to the front desk. Water supply would be something I would expect from a 1* hotel never mind a 4*hotel and esp when we'd paid for the "level experience".
Good points...
The level was good -complimentary drinks probably did save us money.
Good access to the city with being close to the metro lines.
Brilliant views of the city and beach.

Feel that this hotel could be really good if it's customer service was improved, and ensuring that the basics are in place (rooms ready on time, hot water).
Really enjoyed Barcelona

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLW-D40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear CLW-D40 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay in regard to waiting for you room, and not having water in your room.

We apologize for not explaining why you had to wait longer than usual. Unfortunately we cannot know excatly what happened on that day, however it might have been caused by a late check-out from a previous guest.The reason the water was not working was due to a pipe breaking and needing repair.

On a positive note we are glad that you enjoyed the level lounge with its complementary drinks and snacks.

One again we thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent ages choosing this hotel but was disappointed. Despite check-in being 3.00 our room was not ready and we had to sit and wait ( spending money in the expensive bar whilst we waited) eventually, after chasing the room was ready. Sadly, not the room we thought :( Due to confusing and conflicting descriptions on various websites, our hoped for Premium City View in the Level turned out to be a Pool View Room with no extras at all. This meant no complimentary use of The Level Lounge so horrendously expensive extras in hotel bars eg €5 for luke- warm coffees in the bar (why oh why don't 4* hotels supply complimentary tea and coffee!?) €4.50 for water by the pool! (Not allowed to drink your own and no complimentary bottled water in room which I would expect of this level of hotel.). Consequently bill clocked up €100+ for what we had budgeted to be included. Toiletries were not replaced each day - we ran out of soap and bath gel and they were poor quality compared to some luxury boutique hotels we've stayed in and no bathrobe or slippers in room.
We had a late flight home so able to leave bags after check-out HOWEVER..... nowhere to shower and change after leisurely afternoon by the pool (incidentally, toilets there are disgusting and filthy) before leaving for home. Also told we could not book into the Wellness Centre as we had no room (yes, we'd been there 4 days already! )
Yes, staff were sweet and helpful on desk but I would expect that at any hotel so nothing extraordinarily special there.
All in all, disappointed! Not the standard we'd paid for and expected. No more Melia stays for us :(

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjw667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Jjw667,

First of all we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay in regard to waiting for your room to be ready, the missing toiletries and the wellness center not accepting your booking.

We have reviewed your case with our housekeeping department, to try and avoid this from happening again. Also we have made sure that all guest can book the spa after checking out.

Ones again we thank for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#264 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,330 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#94 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Property: Melia Barcelona Sky
Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing