We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, seriously - don't stay here.”
Review of Citytrip Ramblas

Citytrip Ramblas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citytrip Ramblas
Ranked #482 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Beijing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No, seriously - don't stay here.”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Once you read the fine print on booking.com indicating that "[t]here is a departure cleaning fee of EUR 50 that is not included in the reservation price" (which we didn't, unfortunately - live and learn!), any 'special deals' lose all specialness. The area is noisy all night, the walls are paper-thin and while the apartments are reasonably clean, the furniture and appliances are worn. When we expressed concern over the neighbourhood at check-in, we were told that we could call the owners any time from one of the local shops because there are no phones in the flats. If you're travelling without a mobile phone, you've got problems. We left the apartment after the first night of our 2-night booking and found a quiet, good-quality hotel right on La Rambla for 30 euros more than just the room price - actually cheaper once the cleaning fee is added. You can do better than this place, folks.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tivah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The apartment itself wasn't too bad, except for poor maintenance of the kitchen, but the neighbourhood was scary and noisy at night. Put something in your ears and something calming in your stomack if you want to sleep. A positive thing (?) about the neighbourhood is that it was frequently visited by the police (along with prostitutes and burglars). The reception was rarely staffed, and not during check-out. No adequate information was given. This is not a hotel, just a number of flats that are rented out. The roof terrace was OK, but the view was no reason to go there. The internet connection was unavailable in our apartment, but OK elsewhere (e.g. at the terrace). Located very close to La Rambla and the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norseman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

from checking in we were told in no uncertain terms we must respect our neighbours, thats fair enough, but when you are harangued by druggies and have water poured on your head from residents of your apartment block and knocked up at 2 am 2 party, then told you will be evicted by the police for noise you havent made or even been in to make it's a bit much.
Also a 35 euro charge to take your rubish out is a bit steep.
On the plus side, when reporting shower door and sofa bed broken they were repaired within the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I and five friends have just returned from a ‘short’ stay at the Mb27 Apartments. On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist, where we paid the remaining balance in cash, plus a credit card for a security deposit. Although the apartments are down a small dark side street, which is riddled with prostitutes and drug dealers who are constantly hassling you at the apartment door, the apartments themselves are aesthetically pleasing once inside. All was fine for the first night, until the day after where we we’re aggressively confronted by the owner, who claimed we had had a party the previous night (The apartment wasn’t even big enough to have a party). We all looked at each other bemused, and obviously pleaded our innocence. He said we had one option, and that was to go. He claimed that there had been 4 complaints, but when we asked him which room’s had complained, at what time, and whether we could speak to them, he didn’t have an answer. He said that we had to find alternative accommodation ourselves and we had 20 minutes to get off his premises. At this point we said he had no reason to ‘kick us out’, and he became aggressive and threatening.

We decided that the best thing to do was to phone the British consulate in Barcelona, who provided us with some really useful advice. They provided us with English speaking lawyers in Barcelona, and told us to contact the police if the owner became physical. We politely informed the owner that we would seek legal advice as he was effectively stealing 700 euro’s, and after telling him the British consulate were looking into it for us, he became anxious. He then decided to offer us alternative accommodation, in one of his other apartments, which confirmed our theory that he needed our room for someone else or it had been double booked. If you were concerned that people were partying and disturbing guests, you would hardly invite them into another property where other customers were staying would you?!

After looking at the new apartment on the internet, we reluctantly decided to cut our losses and accept this sub-standard apartment, before we found ourselves on the streets. The new place had shutters and bars on the windows and was located down a dark alley way across from an area where the locals seem to dispose of their rubbish, so imagine the smell in the 30 degree heat. He would not refund us any money at all, and on leaving, the receptionist sheepishly apologised, and admitted that in no uncertain terms that we had been falsely accused. We have since contacted Laterooms (who we booked with), to express our concern, as a man like this should not be able to make a living from stealing.

Barcelona is a beautiful city, but please don’t ruin your break by using the Mb27 apartments

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perico_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

The apartment itself was great - clean, bright, modern with everything you could need - dishwasher, towels, plenty of extra sheets. Location was also brilliant - only 1 min (max) walk off the middle of Las Ramblas. The apartments themselves were very secure - you needed a code to get in, then a card key and a normal key to get into your apartment. Staff friendly and helpfull.
However a couple of negatives - firstly we originally booked the apartment for 4 people, luckily only 3 of us went in the end as there would not have been enough room for 4 to sleep (2 single beds and a sofa). Also the street itself was located in the red light district and was extremely noisy at night - also quite scary if you are a small group of girls. Reception is also closed over the weekend which can be a problem if you need anything (for example we ran out of toilet roll and had to buy some, and we had nowhere to keep our baggage on our last day after check out).
I would stay in these apartments again - although the street we were on was a bit dodgy we came to find that a lot of the side streets off Las Rambles were similar so if that is where you want to stay then you have no choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2009

A couple of friends and I decided to spend New Years in Barcelona and booked MB27 Apartments. On arrival we noticed that the street was very quiet and was told by the driver to watch out bags. The rooms did not have enough lighting and the heaters/air condition did not work properly.

On New Years day we were walking back from a night out to our apartment when two men attempted to steal my bag. As it was a shoulder bag I fell as a result of their pull. There was not very many people on the street considering we were near Las Ramblas. The guys ran off.
At the corner of this street we there was a few dodgy bars with perverts in them and prostitutes on the corner.

Every night we dreaded coming out of the Apartment as we did not want anyone to harass us.
If you want to go to Barcelona I strongly suggest staying at a hotel or a busier street.

I wouldnt recommend these apartments if you are just girls or have a young family.

Overall we did all have a good time but I have been put off somewhat with the city.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — Safety aspect. location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dee26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Onix Liceo Hotel
Onix Liceo Hotel
#315 of 513 in Barcelona
635 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
843 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
1,528 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
#182 of 513 in Barcelona
965 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citytrip Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citytrip Ramblas

Property: Citytrip Ramblas
Address: Calle Marques de Barbera 27, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly MB27 Apartments)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Citytrip Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citytrip Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mb27 Apartments Hotel Barcelona
Citytrip Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing