We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paella and Sangria by the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnabier

Barnabier
Reserve with
Barnabier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,398 of 9,315 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Description: En junio de 1993, a raiz de la construccion de la Villa Olimpica de los juegos de 1992 en Barcelona, Barnabier abrio sus puertas al publico en el corazon del Port Olimpic. Disponemos de una gran terraza climatizada tanto para verano como para invierno, que junto a nuestros salones nos permite ofrecerles nuestra especualidad las tapas, arroces, paellas y cocina mediterranea, todo ello atendido por un eficiente equipo de profesionales dispuestos a ofrecerles el maximo servicio y atencion.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paella and Sangria by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We both had a lovely meal here: A couple of glasses of Cava to start, followed by the fisherman's Mussels and then the Chicken Paella - all washed down with a jug of Sangria for only £40 (which I thought was very reasonable).The waitress was lovely, the view was brilliant - helped by the gorgeous sunny day - and the ambiance was great. It's a shame some of the other reviewers caught them on a bad day as I haven't got a bad word to utter about this lovely place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy-Shyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnabier, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barnabier, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your comment.

In Barnabier work hard to achieve full customer satisfaction. So your opinion makes us very happy.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    203
    92
    39
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tapas with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited Barnabier during the 7th edition (from 2 until 20 october 2013) of the “De Tapes Per Barcelona” Tapas Festival.
The basic idea of the Tapas Festival is that you get a tapa and a quinto or canya of sponsors Estrella Damm beer for the sum of €2.40
Each bar offers a particular tapa as part of a competition and you can vote for your favourites by filling in the forms that you'll find in each bar.
It's a great way to get an idea of some of Barcelona's best upcoming tapas bars very cheaply.
The tapa at Barnabier was called Langostino Crujente con Galleta de Parmesano: Langostino Rebozado en Pan de Coco y un Toque de Salsa Barnabier.
The tapa was very tasty (top 5 of the 22 places we visited) so was the service. After we visited the Port Olimpic we went back to share a pint (bottle) of mangers cider.
The tapas displayed looked inviting, we will be back for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonetslsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnabier, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barnabier, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear client:

Thank you very much for your stay at Barnabier and your explanatory feedback. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our clients.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Had a lunch here when hopping off the Tourist bus between the red and green route.
Very nice lunch menu and good location. Not as memorable as some in Barcelona but still very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnabier, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barnabier, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear client:

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and especially your meal with us at Barnabier. We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your trip in the city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGC England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The worse dining experience of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It really goes against the grain to leave downbeat messages about companies that our doing their best but my group of 6 (celebrating an “important” birthday on Barcelona have just experienced what was unquestionably the worse meal I have ever experienced. The catalogue of horror is too lengthy to fully list but to give as flavour: -

• Drinks were not received – when the wine arrived it was simply left on the table unopened
• The starters were served in dribs and drabs – tepid at best. One starter – after a colleague had started to eat it – was whisked away and we saw it then delivered to another table
• The fish (sole meuniere, monkfish etc) was overcooked (I suspect pre-cooked), served in congealed sauce and utterly ruined
• The biggest single mis-deed was the presentation of the Bass cooked in salt. After “de-casing” the fish, the manager himself proceeded to simply butcher it. It was delivered as a large pile of mashed fish.

I am not excessively demanding – I know you get what you pay for. There was not a single redeeming feature that I can share. The food was shocking, the service was worse and the couldn’t care less attitude of the manager said it all. We had some wonderful experiences in Barcelona but with so many tapas restaurants around, heaven knows why we chose to go to this establishment. I can only hope that I have managed to deter enough of you from having the same perfectly awful experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnabier, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barnabier, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear client:

We are terribly sorry to learn about your latest experience at Barnabier. We take customer experience very seriously so we took appropriate measures to investigate this particular incident.
In the process we interviewed the staff involved and were able to recollect their version of the story to compare and contrast it and reach the fairest outcome.
Once again we are sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience with us, but since we also noticed that some of the dishes you describe in you review are not available in our restaurant, we are keen to assume there must have been some sort of unintentional missunderstanding.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tapas and dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the Tapas and dessert at Barnabier Restaurant on 3 separate lunch occasions,as it was located close to our hotel.The waiters were very friendly, attentive and professional.We especially liked the Tapas and dessert(chocolate cream profitroles,ice cream) and expresso coffee.
Its situated in a nice location close to the Marina.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariffin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnabier also viewed

 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Barnabier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing