We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor”
Review of Hostal La Palmera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal La Palmera
Ranked #100 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hostel is only good with location. everything else are all bad. first, the room is so noisy, it is construction outside, and you can hear the noisy from street, i need earplug to get to sleep. the most thing made me mad is one night i came back, i found out they knock down my very expensive serum without saying anything, so i went to recption the guy said i need speak to the owner next morning, so next moring i went to owner who speaks really poor english, aind said to me they didn't knock it down, and i did by myself,,, that is nonsence,,,, i said to him that bottle syrum costs more than £150, he said no no no no......i told him i am not asking any money... they should told me what they have done, and at least do apologize,,, but all they done to me just try hide...so discusting .....highly recomend not to stay there, i met some people who live the hostel just cross the road, it is so nice according what they said...i am still mad,,,,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    70
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
68
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is really good location, in the city centre and the staff was polite and helpful. The bad thing is it is very noisy because of the construction site right in front of it so we had hard time sleeping :(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a basic, clean hotel, slightly noisy at night and in the early mornings, but we found the same at the next place so Barcelona is just a lively city. The staff were friendly and recommended an excellent restaurant. We were both happy with our stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed there for 1 night, the staff was very friendly and helped me to find nice places arround barcelona, the room was very basic but clean i had all things i need there.
There were construction works in front of my balcony but i didnt get disturbed of this.
its located next to las ramblas and the catelonia square.
I can recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erkan201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hostal was clean and had everything we wanted. Bed, shower, friendly staff who were very helpful when we wanted directions. Unfortunately we had a corner room, one side was the market - which begun setting up at about 3am, on the other side was a construction site - very noisy.
I'm sure that the hostal isn't always this noisy, it was just really, really bad timing on our part. It was cheap and clean. We spent most of the time not in it anyway. Just for sleeping. I would recommend it as the staff are very helpful and do everything they can to please. One last thing - the breakfast was awful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the market side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamadhiLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Now lets be honest here, this is a budget hotel and as someone who normally does 4/5 star there was an initial sharp intake of breath when I arrived at La Palmera.

We stayed for two nights on an impromptu visit from the South of Spain and once we got past our initial impressions were pleasantly surprised by the place, the rooms whilst small and basic, had crisp, clean white sheets with the room and ensuite being spotlessly clean. The toilet was across the landing but this posed no major issue. The rooms are noisy with thin walls but being a seasoned traveller I always have ear plugs so this wasn't an issue for me.

The staff were cheerful and friendly and having free wifi and an ample continental breakfast were a bonus.

The location of this place is second to none being a 100m or so from La Rambla giving easy access to the gothic quarter, port and tourist busses.

All in all it was a good base to lay one's head at night, and to keep you belongings whilst out exploring this great city, I'd definitely use it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattJOsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My elderly mother and I stayed at La Palmera for 4 nights in July 2013 and we can't recommend it highly enough.

We had a twin room with en-suite shower and toilet. The room (and everywhere else on the premises) were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. A continental breakfast was included with bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, cakes, jam, honey, etc and tea & coffee made to order. Another reviewer has called this 'limited, but I can't imagine what he was expecting.

I am also baffled by the suggestion that the Hostal is in a red light district. What rubbish! It is in a narrow lane that we usually empty when we came and went, and was very quiet at night (our balcony was over the lane). Itis only 50m or so to Carrer de Carme which is a pretty street of restaurants, shops and bars.

It's worth noting that this is not a 'hostel' (ie for backpackers) but a 'Hostal' which is a Spanish term for a category of hotel with limited services ie no bar, concierge, etc. You get simple facilities at a economical price.

The Reception desk is manned 24 hours and the staff were great. They all spoke good English and were helpful and friendly.

We loved the location. It is right next to the Boqueria Market and only a 1 minute walk to Las Ramblas. There are lots of restaurants around but we particularly loved La Palmera restaurant (no relation) next-door where we had a warm welcome and excellent paella and seafood at a good price.

The only drawback was the construction work in the Placa de Gardunya. This is a major project and currently expected to continue until April 2014. They start work about 7.30am and continue until 7pm. We had earplugs so it didn't disturb our siesta and it was a quiet area at night. If, however, you want to go clubbing and sleep til lunchtime, then this isn't the place for you!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having an en-suite room, but the shared bathroom and toilets looked clean and well looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHoneyBee-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Ramos
Hostal Ramos
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
276 reviews
El Raval
Operaramblas
Operaramblas
#52 of 308 in Barcelona
602 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#80 of 308 in Barcelona
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 308 in Barcelona
339 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#31 of 308 in Barcelona
346 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Arosa
Pension Arosa
#95 of 308 in Barcelona
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Palmera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Palmera

Property: Hostal La Palmera
Address: Jerusalem 30, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Palmera 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal La Palmera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Palmera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing