We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool”
Review of Sport Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sport Barcelona
Ranked #493 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hesperia Sport Barcelona in July 2009...We were just talking about how nice our trip to Barcelona was...how perfect the hotel was and we realized that we never wrote a review. So here it is...The location of the hotel is just perfect! We loved the room! Cool decor, comfortable, clean, right size, nice balcony (no view to the Sagrada Familia but it was nice to sit down, have a beer and catch some evening breeze after a full day sightseeing). The best part of the room was definitely the bathroom! Great shower with body jets. I have to say that we did not use the pool or the gym. We didn’t even have time to go check them out. Last thing; I remembered that we paid a very reasonable rate for the hotel – Great deal! Totally happy! We recommend! Anyway, thanks for reading my note and good luck during your visit to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catapaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

This is a very good, clean, ultra modern, quiet hotel situated at a good location of the metropool Barcelona. Rooms are quite big and the dark wooden floor and the red wall really gives u a luxurious feeling. The bed is also very big and there a plenty of pillows to choose from. We had a good deal for 4 nights, inlcuding visiting the spa once, wich is located in the hotel as well.

Tip: Ask for a room at the 4th floor. It can get noisy at 11.00 am when the gym starts ginving there lesson (something like spinning) so theru can hear loud music. At the 4th floor u can hear it as well, but very little compared to other floors.

We will definitely come back again, when there's an offer again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roosjemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Nice touch with pillow menu. The bed is comfortable. The room design is so stylish which reflects the spirit of the hotel. However, if you need to sleep early or wake up late, try not to choose this hotel. Even at fourth floor, we can still hear the noise coming from its gym. Gym is started as early as 7am and ends late around 1030pm. So beware if your noise tolerance is low

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dear_nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

stayed at the hotel for three nights last summer and were very pleased; room was a good size, nice bathroom with a lovely walk-in shower; good interior of the hotel, all very clean. There was a gym right next door but we didn't have the time to use it. location is pretty good- right next to la sagrada familia, and within walking distance (like pretty much anything in Barca) to the shops and the town center.

oh, and there is a supermarket across the road if you fancied getting some of your own food, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The hotel was very clean, nice and modern. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. They give you a one day pass to the spa, which is incredible. The area that the hotel is in, there's not much going on. The subway is very close to get to main attractions. The Sagrada Familia Church is beautiful and is a must see. It's not even a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluefish1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Booked a superior room through hotels.com for 360 EUR for 4 nights. E-mailed the hotel in advance and requested a room on 5th floor to avoid noise. Was told none of the superior rooms are facing Sagrada Familia.

Taxi from BCN T1 was approximately 30 EUR/30 minutes from the airport (Sunday afternoon) and 40 EUR opposite direction (Thursday morning).

Receptionist informed us that due to low occupancy breakfast (14 EUR, I think) should be ordered the night before. We were allocated room 501 which was very large with 3 floor-to-ceiling windows looking down on the streets and were not asked to present a membership card to a sports club. Nice bathroom with toiletries, slippers, robes, shower and bath tub. However, the water pressure was very unreliable, especially the hot water. Two small flat screens, one facing the bed, the other facing the sofa. Large mini bar. Room was nice and spacious but there seems to be a general lack of attention to details such as no mini bar pricelist, no telephone list, coffee machine was not refilled and no overview of facilities. Free and fast wireless internet. Good location 5 mins walk from Sagrada Familia and sub-way station.

Was given one day access to spa/gym per person. The gym/spa is nice but very busy and could be any other health club outside the hotel and is not really targeting hotel guests. Apart from access to the independent gym next door, the hotel has no facilities such as restaurant, room service, concierge, bar, etc. so do consider avoiding this property if you like to spend some time in your hotel and enjoy its facilities. Due to lack of facilities the property has no real atmosphere to it and should be seen more as an apartment hotel than a proper hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_DK_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This hotel is a block from Sagrada Familia in a very safe neighborhood; cabs are cheap in Barcelona & you can get anywhere quickly from this hotel, on foot or by cab. We booked a superior room; it was very large, as was the bathroom. (There is no carpeting, so bring your slippers.) The shower was fabulous. Safe-in-room was very convenient, and there was room in the mini-bar for one's own supplies. The free wi-fi worked very well. The breakfast included in the rate was terrific. Now for the downside: everyday, Monday-Friday, there are spinning or pilates classes in the gym/spa which occupies the entire 2nd floor of the building. The music is skull-numbingly repetitive & deafening: if you are on the 3rd floor as we were, it's as if the exercisers are in the room with you. The floors & walls vibrate. The spa/gym belongs to a different company & the hotel staff (for whom I felt very sorry) have *no control* over what goes on in the gym: they begged the gym staff to turn down the music and they were ignored. I begged them too, in both Spanish & English, & I was ignored. Perhaps if you stayed on the top floor (5) or on the weekend (when there were no classes) you would not hear the music which on some days started at 11:00 AM and finished at 11:00 PM (it never finished earlier than 9:00 PM). If you read other reviews, this is a known problem & the hotel has to find a way to address it. (At first we were told there was a broken door in the spa/gym, but the music went on and on and on.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cottagehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#23 of 739 in Barcelona
1,619 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#64 of 739 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 518 in Barcelona
3,905 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#203 of 518 in Barcelona
3,146 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Barcelona

Address: C/ Provenza 408, 08025 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Hotel Class:4 star — Sport Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Sport Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Sagrada Familia Hotel
Sport Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing