We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Functional + Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BCNGotic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BCNGotic
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Functional + Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family of four (4 adults - parents & 2 young adults aged 18 and 20) stayed at BCNGotic in December 2013.

Room:
We had a 3-bedroom apartment, with a living room area + tv, and a kitchenette, but only 1 toilet to be shared by the 4 of us. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Kitchenette was fully furnished, and there was a washing machine near the cooking area. However, the washing machine could not function well during our stay.

Location:
Good location; 10 minutes walk to the shopping street of La Ramblas; 10 min walk to Placa de Catalunya (where you can board the Bus Turistic (hop on hop off tourist bus)); 5 minutes walk to the heart of the Gothic district of Barcelona; 5 min to the relatively up and coming district of El Born. - to get to most of the common tourist attractions, you don't actually have to take the Metro (although the station Jaume I is very close to BCNGotic). You could just get some tickets for the Bus Turistic - covers most of the Barcelona city!

All in all, a comfortable stay, and in an ideal location. We enjoyed walking the Barcelona district within 5-10min radius of our apartment - Ciutat Vella; La Ramblas; El Born, along the cobbled streets and alleys of Barcelona, past the many small shops and interesting cafés.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jilnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    74
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
225
108
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is our 3rd rental in Barcelona since 2008 & first time with BCNGotic. Third time's a charm!
The apartment location in El Born is perfect! It's the one & only apt. located on the building's top floor. We enjoyed the church view, access to a terrace area as well as no sounds from the noisy street below. The apartment managers are located in the building and were very helpful with answering questions or resolving problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cOOper882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The flat is small. There are 2 bathrooms out of which 1 has a standing shower. The one with the standing shower is v tiny.
The flat looks dated. We have blankets and not duvets. I found a cockroach in 1 of the pans in the kitchen.
On the first day, the safe and the heater in the master bedroom was not working but it was fixed on the next day.
We had clean towels and bins were cleared everyday.
The walls are rather thin: I could hear the lady next door coughing through the night but I didn't hear much noise from the streets as only 1 part of the master bedroom faces the street. The master bedroom was cold as it has full length windows on every wall and the heating was inadequate.
I must say Mar was very helpful and responsive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Lo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great apartment, three of us stayed for a short break and the location of the apartment was what attracted me to it! El born is a great district, loads of bars and restaurants. It's close to the gothic quarter, the port/beach and plaza cataluyna!

The service we got when we arrived was great as it was throughout our stay! Would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

chose this unit from recommendations on trip advisor - was not disappointed. this was our first time to Barcelona - very glad we stayed at an apartment. very handy to have a kitchen for tea and snacks. the unit was clean and comfortable and in a great location with cafes and restaurants right outside. we were able to walk to most sights, otherwise metro was also nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clipper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

For the second time I have experienced Barcelona staying in a BCNGotic-apartment. Different in sizes, but both comfortable, clean, spacious and well-equipped. The location is perfect in the lovely Born with all the funny shops, good restaurants, lovely bars and close to the Beach and the Rambla, I can't think of a better place to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisbeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Ideal location, quiet apartments, spacious. Some of the nearby restaurants (within 50 feet) are out of this world. The Nou Camp and Mt Tibidabo are the only major attractions I can think of that aren't within a reasonable walking distance. It's hard to come up with a fault.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187dashizzle187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BCNGotic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCNGotic

Property: BCNGotic
Address: Argenteria 6, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 754 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a group of apartments located in the same building, built in the first quarter of the last century, and that have been carefully renovated respecting the original structure of the building to the maximum. They are situated right in the historic centre of Barcelona, where you can enjoy a dynamic, cheerful, bohemian neighbourhood, 150 metres from the sea, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BCNGotic Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing