We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good price, clean rooms, awesome location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poprooms Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poprooms Barcelona
Ranked #349 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good price, clean rooms, awesome location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I was so glad to be recommended to stay in Ramcat by friends. It is just slightly off the exciting and colourful street of La Rambla and very close to other places of interest and transport links. It is very clean for hostel standards. The common areas are cleaned everyday; and rooms cleaned and towels/linen changed once in 2-3 days. The kitchen is well-equipped with basic cooking utensils and a large fridge. Bathroom is also clean considering it is shared between so many guests, but my one complaint is that the toilet, sink and shower are all in one bathroom, which isn't the best idea especially when people take ages in the shower and you have to desperately use the toilet! Some people have complained about noise at night from their rooms, but we were fortunate enough to get a room facing a quiet area, so we had no problems sleeping. The person who greeted us - Phil - was so friendly and helpful, gave us a complimentary map of Barcelona and suggested places to go to. Also there is free internet on a computer which guests can use. If I were to be nitpicky, I'd say, perhaps place a mirror in the living room because the only mirror is in the bathroom (this is especially for girls!)

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get your own private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rswizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    17
    9
    15
See reviews for
5
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

On my spectacular tour through Europe I have only one thing to complain about, and that´s RamCat in Barcelona. It all started when we came to La Rambla in Barcelona, where we met a staffmember of RamCat, a short man with curly hair and glasses. I didn´t have time to catch his name as he rushed us to the hostel because he had other guests that were coming aswell, and we weren´t even late! He demanded payment right away and didn´t even give us the an opportunity to put down our luggage, considering that we had just travelled for 30 hours straight. Anyway, we had reserved a room for two, which actually was a room for four. The extra beds took a lot of space since we didn´t need them. Our reserved private bathroom was a locked bathroom across the hall, which wasn´t at all what it said in our reservation. Overall the pictures on RamCat´s website are awfully misleading, since we didn´t see any room that looked like one of the fotographed ones. When we said to the staffmember that we were dissapointed that our reservation didn´t match the reality, he simply said: " You can check in another hostel, take it or leave it". We didn´t have the strenght or time to go search after another hostel at the time. The kitchen was quite small with one refridgerator, two chairs and a small table. It was a good kitchen for two people, but you have to consider that there may be max. 15 people using it on one evening. The whole hostel was filled with rules and small threats of different fees, witch was a clear message of how nice the whole staff was. Quiet time started between 22-23 pm, but on several evenings there was the staff´s laundry-mashines tumbling at midnight and I sometimes couldn´t sleep of the noise, as the mashines were right nextdoor. RamCat was a terrifying dissapointment and I wouldn´t recommend it to anyone. I can safely say that there are plenty of other good hostels in Barcelona which you can go to. I can insure you that RamCat isin´t worth your time or money.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europeenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed in the Ramcat for a long weekend and had a great weekend. This is more like a shared apartment than a hostel and is great value for money.

We met Marcel at the agreed time outside the Hard Rock Cafe. We stayed in a double room in the apartment which is situated just off Las Ramblas. There's a well equipped kitchen and a computer. The bathroom is pretty small, but has everything you need - shower, toilet, sink and is cleaned daily. Our room was comfortable and the decor was cool and funky. All the rooms are lockable and you get your own shelf in the fridge.

The only thing I would say about Ramcat is that the lighting in the communal living area is pretty dark. We were lucky enough to be there when it wasn't too busy, however we did share with a group of three and another couple. I can appreciate how the others must've felt like it was quite noisy, but it isn't a problem we encountered.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrazJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

We had the most expensive reservation - a double room with twin beds and private bathroom - for 6 nights, and payed for it! On arrival we were offered a very narrow and dark room with a huge bed for 3 + a bed for 1 - really no space to move or handle our luggage - and a window out to the elevator shaft (no proper ventilation)! The bathroom
was lockable, but on the other side of the corridor from the room, so not really very private! When we remarked about these things, the attitude was: "you can get another
room, but you have to pay moore!! - what do you expect, you are in the center of Barcelona, close to la Rambla?!" To us that sounded as extortion, and very insolent!
The behaviour of the representative of the staff that met us at Placa Catalunya and
handled the situation was arrogant, restless, sarcastic, selfcentered and unfriendly, unproper, even taking advantage of our situation being a little exhausted after travelling problems with not working trainconnections from Paris. No signs of flexibility and understanding, considering our views and rights, what we usually call customer service! Just keen to get the money ( EUR 306/6 nights/2 people)! The place was also so full of regulations and rules, small threats of fees for this and that, which made you feel uncomfortable and seemed totally overdimensioned! We don´t wish anybody to get this kind of experience and treatment, and with the property´s own words: " there are plenty of other places in Barcelona that could fulfill your needs." We wouldn´t recommend this place to anybody, ever!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcaPuyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I came to this hotel, because the advertising of their ofwebside is very abtractive. However, when I came here, turn out most of them are lies!
For example: very noisy, what they promised is quite.
Most of time there is no internet here, not the same as they promised!
Very bad service, however, they decorate all room with rose pattern make me
feel false romantic.
Ps: there is a cat pattern on the wall with gleamy eye in the night that is very ghosty!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orange1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Actually, this hostel is very noisy! And when them recieve your money, their attitudes become quite unpatience and unfriendly. Please image, if you can't sleep well, how can you enjoy a good time in barcelona!
Ps: there is no internet as they promised, since the password and the name of WiFi does not match and they are not willing to solve this problem. Besides, the strange smell here make you hardly for breathing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kela99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We booked two double rooms with bathrooms. They gave us one six bed room buth with one bathroom, The room smell bad. One cleaning during 6 days. We paied 180 Euro per night. For the same average person rate of 45 Euro you can find a 3 or 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbtassara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#454 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#242 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
#638 of 760 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#151 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Eixample
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poprooms Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poprooms Barcelona

Property: Poprooms Barcelona
Address: Tallers 18, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Ramcat)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Poprooms Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramcat Hotel Barcelona
Poprooms Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing