We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poprooms Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poprooms Barcelona
Ranked #339 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location, great staff all at a great price!

I can't recommend this hostel enough, it's my favourite in Barcelona.
The rooms are so comfy and despite the noise that is to be expected from this amazing central location, the rooms are so quite allowing for a great sleep.

Love Barcelona and love this hostel, favourite place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talktolaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    17
    9
    15
See reviews for
5
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Hi All,

I just wanted to let you all know that I booked this place last moinute as I leave everything until the last minute. I was very sceptical as everywhere else was at least €100-200 euro more expensive. Another strange thing was that you had to ring some1 and meet them to take you to the hostel (again I thought it must be in the middle of nowhere)

I was shocked when we were greeted by a lovely man that took us onto the main strip. Mapped out all the destinations and things we should see. Took us to the hostel which was a huge apartment with internet access a kitchen and a gorgeous private room with a balcony. The place was kept spotless at all times and the shared bathroom was only between a few so you were never waiting. It was in the best loaction for everything and we didnt spend anything on transport at all.

I would definitely recommend this to couples and groups of friends as it woukld suit all whether your on a budget or not.

Thankyou to all the lovely staff here that I met :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sivousplayful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

My friend kindly organised out a contagion for our long weekend, and I don't think I could have chosen a better location!
The hostel is a few paces from Las Ramblas, and is a great place for commuting as it's situated close to several metro stops. The front of the hostel was very discrete, there is no indication that it's a hostel, which meant no one odd was hanging about!
It was great to have kitchen facilities, but my biggest complaint would be the shared bathroom. Though we were only a party of three, our room could have accommodated six, and the room next door was a four bed, so you do the maths! One bathroom between ten people. It was a nightmare in the mornings, and we were set back by a couple of hours due to queuing. If you were to stay here, bear in mind that you'll have to get up quite early to avoid waiting.
Apart from the bathroom situation, the hostel was clean, and towels are provided and changed every few days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alice_kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

If there's a better price/performance ratio for an accommodation so centrally located, please let me know about it!

After a few days on my own in Barcelona, some friends were joining me, so after some research, we chose to stay @ Apt RamCat.

The communication when booking was prompt, and as several reviewers have mentioned, we were met in front of Hard Rock Café and then walked perhaps less than five minutes away to the property.

Great location: not directly on Las Ramblas, but less than 3 minutes walk from the room to the main street.

We got a 5-bed room allocated for the 3 of us, but with a shared bathroom. This is one of the downsides: there's just this one shower/toilet being shared between several rooms, which leads to tailbacks in the morning to use the shower. i think there are some rooms with ensuite facilities, and that's what i would choose the next time.

The other minus for me was there was no wifi, or if there was it didn't work at least while we were there. There is a PC there that is on from 1000-2200, which was useful.

My friends and i spent quite a bit of time in the kitchen for breakfast and dinner. You get allocated your own fridge & cabinet space. There are leftover items from previous visitors that can be used: salt, sugar, etc. (we thought we scored some oil, but it turned out to be vinegar when we tried to make our omelettes!)

Even though the place is centrally located, the hostel itself was quiet, and at least our room wasn't too bothered with outside street noises. My friends decided to extended their stay here another night, keeping the same room we had.

When coming back to Barcelona with a group of friends, i wouldn't look elsewhere very much for a place to stay in central Barcelona — but i would try to get the ensuite rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tipu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here two years ago (during the Volcanic ash fiasco). We were fortunate to be allocated a large room with a shared bathroom. There weren't quite enough blankets for a cooler time of year BUT the cost was so cheap and the location so good that it more than made up for it. One small issue was that one other apartment resident tended to hog the bathroom which was awkward, since their were 4 rooms in our apartment.

When the ash thing hit, Ramcat were more than happy to let us stay for longer and since it was cheap, we were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed in a triple room for 3 nights during April/May 2012. I was met by the hostess infront of hardrock cafe and taken to the hostel. She kindly answered any questions that I had. Advised which areas to visit and avoid. The room was clean and contained lockable units. It was facing the street (which is just off the La Ramblas) so it was noisy outside well into the early hours of the morning, but thankfully the hostel was relatively quiet.
Main pluses are: friendly, clean, central location, reasonably priced
Main minuses are: noisy outside, only one toilet if you cant get ensuite room. This meant queing up, which wasnt ideal
Overall, good stay and if I was travelling alone, I wouldnt mind staying at Ramcat again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahhiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I waited and waited, and waited and waited and the host never showed up. This is not an honest place apparently because they don't give out their address. They say they will meet you and they don't! They are running an illegal "hostel" so they don't want authorities to tax them for running a hoste. THATS why they don't give out their address. Its NOT the address on the website. The woman who answered the phone was very rude, yelling at me for not meeting her at the Hard Rock Cafe. Avoid these [--].

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#454 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#243 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
#638 of 760 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#150 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Eixample
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poprooms Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poprooms Barcelona

Property: Poprooms Barcelona
Address: Tallers 18, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Ramcat)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Poprooms Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramcat Hotel Barcelona
Poprooms Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing