We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short, cheap, sightseeing holiday”
Review of Poprooms Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poprooms Barcelona
Ranked #319 of 721 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good for a short, cheap, sightseeing holiday”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We chose this accomodation as we wanted a romantic city break, on a rather tight budget. We tended to use the apartment only for sleeping, showering and making dinner. luckily Barcelona has so much to do so we hardly stayed in.
We were on the third floor, which consisted of three rooms (one big dorm and 3 smaller rooms) Though the building itself was rather rickety and retro, the location was fantastic!!
Check in is a bit awkward as you have to call up in advance and meet outside the Hard Rock Cafe, but he was on time so no problems there.

-The Good-
Funky, design decor as we entered and a large, well equipt kitchen that catered to my culinary experiments! Gas stove AND oven meant I could make a variety of dishes.
Free internet between 10am-10pm
Fantastic location. Pretty cosy overall but we were lucky that it was not peak season and we more or less had the place to ourselves. On the first night there was a large group next door, that were loud and disruptive. Perhaps not a very romantic place to stay in peak time. Probably better for backpackers in peak.
As there is no reception and you rarely see any staff except upon arrival, it almost feels like this is your own little apartment. However, this is probably as we were lucky enough not to have to share it with others most of the trip.

-The Bad-
Our double room was very cramped, consisting of a rather small double bed, a wardrobe and not much space to move around in between. Though on the plus side it motivated us to get out of there and make the most of Barcelona.
The bathroom was clean, however the toilet seemed to be leaking and the floor was always wet despite the lack of guests using it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bittersw33t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    39
    18
    9
    15
See reviews for
5
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Very good and clean hostel, in the city centre!The staff is very friendly and there are no time, because they let us the key!There are many kinds of room, but all of them are beautiful and colorful!

Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GazeGaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Great appartment. Very clean, friendly staff, super location (5 mins from placa de catalunya). The only thing that bugged us was the smell in the appartment. They put a scent in every room and we thought it was a discusting smell. So we took them out of the outlets :)

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StephanieE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We went to Barcelona in December and got a room at the Ramcat for a song.
Bearing this in mind, this hostel was excellent. The room was lovely, spacious, the decor was funky (and very RED!), the service was great, the shared toilet/communal area was clean and we had no problems regarding noise, too hot/cold etc.
I've recommended this place to people since and they've come back at me with crazy prices but that wasn't for December. I can't remember the exact price they came back with but it made me think..."hmmm, not sure if it'd be worth paying that much"... but for the price we got it, you couldn't ask for more.
The hostel chap (Alex, I think) was very friendly, met us at an agreed spot in the town and showed us to the hostel, whereupon he took all our paperwork and gave us a 2-minute verbal guide to Barcelona and an annotated map. Great service I thought, especially for a hostel.
Free sweets were available (tasty!) and it was literally a few seconds walk from Las Ramblas, so extremely central (hence the high prices in peak season I suppose).
It was one of the real high points in an otherwise average city break. Highly recommended - as long as it's cheap!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_GRINGO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2009

they ask more money as what you previously on hostelsclub.com is asked for. you then get the choice: pay it or search another accomodation! if you go, take toilet paper with you. you have to share the bathroom with the toilet in it with too many people. you always have to wait. room, window en kitchen are very tiny. they give you computer and internet, but most of the time it doesn't work. good is that it is in the centre of the city. bad reviews they take away from their own website. you get no new clean sheets.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hateramcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My friends and I (a group of six) decided to try RamCat, despite many mixed reviews online. Travelling in a large group to Barcelona in August on a tight budget is never an easy task, but this place had a room big enough for us all and wasn't terribly expensive. We were worried it sounded too good to be true and in some ways, it was.

The apartment itself was very nice, modern, and clean. The kitchen was well-equipped and having free internet in a common area was a nice perk. The location was excellent as well-- just off Las Ramblas, and close to public transit as well.

What we weren't prepared for was getting treated like dirt from the staff member, Alex, who met up with us to check us in. Not having a reception area makes check-in a real pain, and the "call the staff and they will meet you" method is definitely tough in a crowded city that we had no problem getting lost in. After calling Alex fro the airport, he told us exactly how long our journey would take and what time he would meet us in one of the main squares (not accounting for late trains, street traffic, and getting a bit lost in a new city!). He then made us wait for another 40 minutes at the meeting spot, until we were magically past the "free check-in" time-- suddenly it was past 9pm and we would have to pay for late check-in, as he conveniently didn't show up until after 9:15pm.

This resulted in an argument-- where also he informed us of extra charges not on our bill (take note of ALL the fine print with this place when booking--- ie. 6 people pay an EXTRA $35 for "cleaning"; and it's all payable in cash, not by credit card) and some verbal abuse towards us-- NOT a very nice welcome to Barcelona. Alex has got a temper on him (watch it) and wouldn't accept that we might not agree to his late check-in scam. He was especially derogatory to the women in our group-- calling us "stupid" and saying we had "a lot to say" when we argued what he was trying to pull on us. We nearly left but were worried about whether we'd find beds for 6 on a Friday, so paid the money grudgingly, after Alex graciously knocked off the late fee (following a long argument).

The room itself had no air-conditioning (though there were fans) so sleeping was a bit hot but it was comfortable enough. There were four rooms (with 4-6 beds each) in our apartment, all meant to share one bathroom-- not ideal or well-thought out at all. We usually brushed our teeth in the kitchen sink.

There were signs everywhere with a dozen or so rules on each-- no smoking, no drinking, no laundry, no friends allowed in, even about how they would like us to clean the kitchen appliances if we were to use them-- everything had an attached "fine" to it. It was all a bit oppressive, and definitely not a fun place to stay. Nonetheless, it's Barcelona, so we spent most of our 4 days/3 nights out of the apartment!

Although the place was decent in some ways, I am sure there are many more establishments in Barcelona where guests who pay hundreds of Euros to stay there would be WELCOMED, rather than abused. Don't support this business.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigquestionmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Definitly no! The person who have this place, is a dishonest. He steal the money in a room...
I have been here after read all of the precedent coment, and I am very disappointed.
If I have an advice to tell : don`t come to this place....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fransh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#457 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#256 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
Barcelona City Ramblas Hostal
#611 of 721 in Barcelona
2.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alternative Creative Youth Hostel
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#146 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#151 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poprooms Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poprooms Barcelona

Property: Poprooms Barcelona
Address: Tallers 18, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Ramcat)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 721 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Poprooms Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramcat Hotel Barcelona
Poprooms Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing