We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home...”
Review of Poprooms Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poprooms Barcelona
Ranked #297 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A home away from home...”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed in the Ramcat for a long weekend and had a great weekend. This is more like a shared apartment than a hostel and is great value for money.

We met Marcel at the agreed time outside the Hard Rock Cafe. We stayed in a double room in the apartment which is situated just off Las Ramblas. There's a well equipped kitchen and a computer. The bathroom is pretty small, but has everything you need - shower, toilet, sink and is cleaned daily. Our room was comfortable and the decor was cool and funky. All the rooms are lockable and you get your own shelf in the fridge.

The only thing I would say about Ramcat is that the lighting in the communal living area is pretty dark. We were lucky enough to be there when it wasn't too busy, however we did share with a group of three and another couple. I can appreciate how the others must've felt like it was quite noisy, but it isn't a problem we encountered.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrazJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    42
    18
    10
    15
See reviews for
5
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We had the most expensive reservation - a double room with twin beds and private bathroom - for 6 nights, and payed for it! On arrival we were offered a very narrow and dark room with a huge bed for 3 + a bed for 1 - really no space to move or handle our luggage - and a window out to the elevator shaft (no proper ventilation)! The bathroom
was lockable, but on the other side of the corridor from the room, so not really very private! When we remarked about these things, the attitude was: "you can get another
room, but you have to pay moore!! - what do you expect, you are in the center of Barcelona, close to la Rambla?!" To us that sounded as extortion, and very insolent!
The behaviour of the representative of the staff that met us at Placa Catalunya and
handled the situation was arrogant, restless, sarcastic, selfcentered and unfriendly, unproper, even taking advantage of our situation being a little exhausted after travelling problems with not working trainconnections from Paris. No signs of flexibility and understanding, considering our views and rights, what we usually call customer service! Just keen to get the money ( EUR 306/6 nights/2 people)! The place was also so full of regulations and rules, small threats of fees for this and that, which made you feel uncomfortable and seemed totally overdimensioned! We don´t wish anybody to get this kind of experience and treatment, and with the property´s own words: " there are plenty of other places in Barcelona that could fulfill your needs." We wouldn´t recommend this place to anybody, ever!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcaPuyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I came to this hotel, because the advertising of their ofwebside is very abtractive. However, when I came here, turn out most of them are lies!
For example: very noisy, what they promised is quite.
Most of time there is no internet here, not the same as they promised!
Very bad service, however, they decorate all room with rose pattern make me
feel false romantic.
Ps: there is a cat pattern on the wall with gleamy eye in the night that is very ghosty!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orange1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Actually, this hostel is very noisy! And when them recieve your money, their attitudes become quite unpatience and unfriendly. Please image, if you can't sleep well, how can you enjoy a good time in barcelona!
Ps: there is no internet as they promised, since the password and the name of WiFi does not match and they are not willing to solve this problem. Besides, the strange smell here make you hardly for breathing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kela99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We booked two double rooms with bathrooms. They gave us one six bed room buth with one bathroom, The room smell bad. One cleaning during 6 days. We paied 180 Euro per night. For the same average person rate of 45 Euro you can find a 3 or 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbtassara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Hello,

I stayed at ramcat this summer for 10 days and was really really impressed. I was very worried when i read some of the reviews on the internet, but the place turned out exceptionally good. the location is with no doubt perfect, you will find yourself at the center of the center of barcelona. Security was my first worry, the building is very secure, it has cameras on the stairs and you will be given 3 sets of keys (building, apt, and room). Cleaning is provided and the place is always very very clean. The kitchen has everything you might need and more and on top of that, there is a PC with internet connection from 10 am to 10 pm. It is very close to the supermarket.

Everytime i go back to barcelona, i plan on staying at the ramcat hostel, especially for the price they charge.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aymane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Ramcat is a series of apartments in an extremely well located building. It is just off La Rambla in a secure building. It was extremely clean, and had good facilities - great kitchen, free internet, and hot shower. It was also about €20 pppn for a (very small) private double, which is good value.

HOWEVER, be warned of the following:
- It was ridiculously noisy. Not because of the streets outside, but the people inside! Maybe we were just unlucky in that we had some shouty Germans and inconsiderate Spaniards staying there during our stay, but the walls are paper thin and every slammed door reverberates through your body. It's not very relaxing - bring your earplugs!
- there was only 1 bathroom between 2 big dorms and 1 private room. If these were all full, that would mean 12 people sharing one shower and toilet! Even though it wasn't full, there were long queues!

On balance, I wouldn't stay at Ramcat again. However, if you simply want a clean and very central place to lay your head for a weekend, it's not a bad shout and it's good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey_holloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Art City Hostel
Art City Hostel
#379 of 728 in Barcelona
68 reviews
El Raval
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
#479 of 728 in Barcelona
144 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#157 of 728 in Barcelona
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
#550 of 728 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
#213 of 728 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#150 of 728 in Barcelona
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poprooms Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poprooms Barcelona

Property: Poprooms Barcelona
Address: Tallers 18, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Ramcat)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Poprooms Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramcat Hotel Barcelona
Poprooms Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing