We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Ranked #95 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from this hotel. We found the rooms very clean, spacious with all the things we needed for a great stay. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday. Staff at reception were so helpful and friendly. Although the area isn't the prettiest Barcelona has to offer, it's so easy to get to all the sights quickly, either walking or using local transport. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

PROS:
Reasonably priced.
All necessary amenities available.
Free and STABLE WiFi in rooms.
Non-electronic minibar that can be used as a regular (though small) fridge.
Large room (actually two rooms).
Flat TV Great location - walking distance to the beaches, Barcelonetta, several universities, Bus Touristic and CitySightseeing bus stops, shoppong centers, etc.
Cleaning 1-2 times a day, linens change once a week.
Two PCs and a printer free of charge in the lobby.
Comfortable lobby.
Weighting machine for baggage coins-operated (fee: 1 euro).

CONS:
A bit far from the city center (Rambla) but we didn't care being there on a business trip.
And it can easily be accessed by bus which go frequently enough.
The shower tap didn't fix properly on its stand. It was very annoying. However we didn't compain, simply didn't have time to fuss about with such a minor issue.
Breakfasts are very moderate and all the same all time. No fresh (unprocessed) mueslis - bad for people with special dietary needs.
Location is in an industrial area. Not bad (mostly garages, offices and warehouses) and even "athmospheric" but not beautiful in an ordinary way.
Having a kitchen why not adding there a washing machine??
No tasty dineries in the neighbourhood. At all! Just sume junkfood cafes, cheep chinese bars and students' self-service free-flows...oooof.

Room Tip: Better on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EsteeEstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was the first time in a while that I had booked a hotel purely on location instead of price so it was a bit more money than I would normally spend. Having said that, it was worth spending the money as the hotel was very good. The receptionist was a bit vague, not too friendly and he forgot to give us the wifi code but that only bothers me if I have a problem or a complaint, which I didn't. The hotel was nice, modern (it is new after all) and the wifi worked great. The room was large, clean, modern and very spacious. The bathroom was also large and even had a retractable clothes line so I could have my underwear hanging in my face while I sat on the toilet. The air conditioning in the room was the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. Cool, powerful and quiet. I would recommend a stay in this hotel, and I would also recommend going for a drink and a bite to eat in the sports bar around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevspinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Easy to get to via metro; shops and cafes ( we didn't eat in hotel) within a few minutes walk, room was a one bed suite, immaculately clean, very helpful staff. Beach within a 15 min walk. Room is exactly like pictures. Would not even bother to look for another hotel for next visit.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bethwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location, easy to get around from and only a 10 min walk or a short taxi ride from the port area.
The room was excellent, very modern and immaculately clean, the bathroom was particularly good and it was pretty reasonable for a city hotel.
All in all a good place to stay if you ignore the building site over the road (it wasn't noisy, just not a great view!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice hotel and new hotel with very good reception ,silent nights,close to 2 metro stations. good acclimatisation , the breakfast is expensive so it is better to take without breakfast . The bed was from very good quality and the room was spacefull

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The room we stayed in had a huge ante room that had a dining table, kitchen facilities, and its own sofa bed, although we could not use the cooking facilities because we were not booked long enough. The microwave was the exception. So, given the expensive food in Europe, we bought supplies from the local El Corte Ingles and chose to just have some of our meals at the hotel. The location is a bit odd, with a funeral parlor nearby, which we mistook for a flower shop. LOL. There are some nice coffee shops and lunch holes nearby. This was perfect for us, with all the chaos and noise in the Ramblas/Placa area. The neighborhood is quiet, the MRT is a short walk away (2 stations, in fact), which takes us to the Placa Catalina in no time. Perfect. I think there are a lot of dorms nearby, so I was quite amazed with all the drunk teenage ladies walking by the hotel, asking for cigarettes. These Catalans, them and their alcohol, they're like jolly and all.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The weather when we were there was just right. DOn't expect service de luxe though, this isn't a 5-star hotel. The reception guy is the doorman and everything else as well at night. Breakfast is good, not great, but good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#173 of 516 in Barcelona
3,697 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#63 of 516 in Barcelona
1,118 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 516 in Barcelona
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#65 of 516 in Barcelona
3,232 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Address: Sancho de Avila 32-34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Capri by Fraser offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Capri by Fraser offers spacious air-conditioned studios and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels, a living room with sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a kitchenette, desk, digital safe, and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and a business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing