We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Ranked #98 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

You booked a family room, 2 adults 2 children. The room was spacious, clean, it has free wifi, a small kitchenette (sync, fridge, microwave) but without tools, u should bring ur own. The staff are super friendly. The hotel is near Marina metro station. It's also 15 mins walking distance from the Zoo and the beach. Walking distance also from the old city and Plaça de Catalunya. We will definitely come back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidamourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We expected a great deal from all the reviews we read and the low price, high star ratio, and also because we saw it had it's own fridge and cooking plate to buy groceries and prepair food. So we booked the three person room and when we checked in and entered the room it was pretty much what we expected, but no plates, silverware or pots and pans. Apparently those are only for people who stay longer (5 nights isnt long enough?)

The facilities were terrible, when we asked for some actual blankets instead of sheets they gave us unsanitairy blankets that smelled terrible.

So no, cant say I agree with all these great reviews

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank 723basv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The rooms on the suite floor are very roomy and well designed. Beds are made every day and towels changed as well. Certainly not the nicest part of Barcelona, but everything you want is all within 15 minute cab ride, which suited us. All in all very good vale for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Two well spaced rooms that accommodated my wife and I along with my two teenage sons which were clean. Situated just outside the town centre which was about 15mins walk the same for the beach. Nearby were reasonably priced cafes and restaurants. Metro and tram stop were on the doorstep which are cheap to use. Reception staff helpful. Would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from this hotel. We found the rooms very clean, spacious with all the things we needed for a great stay. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday. Staff at reception were so helpful and friendly. Although the area isn't the prettiest Barcelona has to offer, it's so easy to get to all the sights quickly, either walking or using local transport. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

PROS:
Reasonably priced.
All necessary amenities available.
Free and STABLE WiFi in rooms.
Non-electronic minibar that can be used as a regular (though small) fridge.
Large room (actually two rooms).
Flat TV Great location - walking distance to the beaches, Barcelonetta, several universities, Bus Touristic and CitySightseeing bus stops, shoppong centers, etc.
Cleaning 1-2 times a day, linens change once a week.
Two PCs and a printer free of charge in the lobby.
Comfortable lobby.
Weighting machine for baggage coins-operated (fee: 1 euro).

CONS:
A bit far from the city center (Rambla) but we didn't care being there on a business trip.
And it can easily be accessed by bus which go frequently enough.
The shower tap didn't fix properly on its stand. It was very annoying. However we didn't compain, simply didn't have time to fuss about with such a minor issue.
Breakfasts are very moderate and all the same all time. No fresh (unprocessed) mueslis - bad for people with special dietary needs.
Location is in an industrial area. Not bad (mostly garages, offices and warehouses) and even "athmospheric" but not beautiful in an ordinary way.
Having a kitchen why not adding there a washing machine??
No tasty dineries in the neighbourhood. At all! Just sume junkfood cafes, cheep chinese bars and students' self-service free-flows...oooof.

Room Tip: Better on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EsteeEstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was the first time in a while that I had booked a hotel purely on location instead of price so it was a bit more money than I would normally spend. Having said that, it was worth spending the money as the hotel was very good. The receptionist was a bit vague, not too friendly and he forgot to give us the wifi code but that only bothers me if I have a problem or a complaint, which I didn't. The hotel was nice, modern (it is new after all) and the wifi worked great. The room was large, clean, modern and very spacious. The bathroom was also large and even had a retractable clothes line so I could have my underwear hanging in my face while I sat on the toilet. The air conditioning in the room was the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. Cool, powerful and quiet. I would recommend a stay in this hotel, and I would also recommend going for a drink and a bite to eat in the sports bar around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevspinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#173 of 519 in Barcelona
3,772 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 519 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#66 of 519 in Barcelona
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Address: Sancho de Avila 32-34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £75 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Capri by Fraser offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Capri by Fraser offers spacious air-conditioned studios and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels, a living room with sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a kitchenette, desk, digital safe, and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and a business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing